Friday Fun — Turning the Tables

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: This week, we’re turning the tables on you, our faithful readers. We want to know which burning questions you’d like us to address.

Is there something about the writing process you are struggling with or curious about? Would you like to know more about a specific aspect of the publishing world? Are you interested in hearing some real-life anecdotes about other writers’ experiences with specific writing milestones?

Any question is a good question. It can be serious or silly, super specific or open-ended. Heck, it doesn’t even really need to be a question. Maybe you’d like us to share some literary jokes, favorite reads, pet peeves, links to our work elsewhere around the web, photos of our latest works-in-progress, or something else. We’re open to suggestions.

 

If you’ve got them, we’d love for you to post your questions and ideas in the comment section! We certainly don’t have all the answers, but we’ll give it our best shot and share what we do know.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts. We look forward to seeing where this Friday Fun conversation goes!

 

the NHWN Bloggers: Lisa, Lee, Wendy, Jamie, Diane, Julie, Deborah, and Susan

 

16 thoughts on “Friday Fun — Turning the Tables

  1. Many questions, but I’ll only ask two which are uppermost in my brain. First, where do you find your ideas for your writing? Second, how can I overcome writer’s block? Thank you.

  2. How do you encourage comments on your writing. I’ve asked friends and family for their in-put, good or bad, but get nothing.
    I’ve explained that It will help me to become a better writer if I get others viewpoints.

  3. I’ve got one question: I am in the final stages of editing a book of poems about my experience with prostate cancer and have thought about sending it out to see if a publisher would take it. The question is, how do you decide which publishers to query?

    Seems like a very daunting, time consuming task to search for publishers who might publish the kind of thing I’ve written.

  4. I’ve read many conflicting thoughts on the query letter. One camp says that when sending a query letter, you should just send a book summary of your story. Another camp says send your synopsis. Which one is better? (This would be a query to an Agent most likely). Thanks!

  5. Thanks for this post! I am new to writing and part way through my first attempt at a psychological thriller. I still have a long way to go having just started chapter 8. I am well and truly addicted to writing and the interest in my novel is already becoming a popular topic. What advice can you give me? I am looking to self publish at first. Thanks again. Mark

  6. Pingback: Friday Fun – Where do you get your story ideas? | Live to Write – Write to Live

Leave a Reply

