The First Quarter of 2015

It’s the beginning of the second quarter of 2015, and I took a look back at my goals for the year and at the progress I’ve made. In many areas of my life, I’m plugging away at my goals, on track to accomplish many of them by the end of the year.

Some of my writing goals are not going so well.   Some are.

I’m on track to do two one-day writing retreats this year, which was a big goal of mine. Another goal, submitting to Level Best Books, should have happened by now–but it didn’t. If I’m honest with myself, polishing that short story was not my highest priority.

And that’s okay. Because when I look at my highest priorities, I wouldn’t change them.

I’m not going to waste time beating myself up about it.

I’m looking at the second quarter of 2015 and I’m ready to continue to work on my writing goals, with a little reshuffle in there to reflect where I currently am.

One of the things I realized in the past few months is that it’s important for me to connect with other writers, even when I’m not writing a lot.

Even though I haven’t contributed writing pieces to my critique group as often as I’d like, I’ve continued to be a part of the group, and I’ve critiqued my fellow writers work to the best of my ability.

Being in that group has been such a gift. Two of our members recently submitted rewritten work that we’d already seen in first draft form. The changes were inspiring. Seeing how smooth the writing became with reworking (and reworking) motivated me to get back to my story, which was still in first draft form at the beginning of the year.

Meeting up with other writers randomly and on purpose has also been a gift. I ran into Julie, who also blogs here, last Sunday, at ImprovBoston, the comedy theater where I take classes. We had a short but inspiring conversation about how theater informs our writing and vice versa.

Lisa, another blogger, and I meet regularly about things other than writing, but the conversation turns, inevitably, to our writing. What we’re working on and what we’d like to prioritize in the next little while. Our conversations always energize me.

So my writing goals have shifted a little since the beginning of the year–I’m writing more website copy than I thought I would–but it’s all writing and it’s all good.

Every word counts. Looking forward to the next quarter of 2015.

How did the first quarter of 2015 go for you, fellow writer?

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon, MD, is a writer, blogger, life coach, family physician, mother, and stepmother. I’m in the process of rewriting my website, which is very personal writing, and a good exercise for me as a writer. I’ll let you know when the new website is ready to launch.

14 thoughts on “The First Quarter of 2015

    • Hi EmmaJCarson,
      I agree. Isn’t it nice that we have this blog to visit?

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  1. My first writing quarter went well. Finished the first draft of my poetry book and started the editing process. I started attending a local poetry group and reading my work during their open mic sessions. And I’ve been able to keep up my blog writing. It’s been a good start to the writing year.

    • Hi Andrew,
      That’s an inspiring first quarter! Thanks so much for sharing it with us!

      Happy writing (and reading!) your poetry!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  2. My first quarter could not have gone better. With the decision made in February to start writing my first novel it has come on leaps and bounds ever since. There is still a long way to go but I have been bitten by the writing bug so onwards and upwards for me. I only hope that the second quarter brings even creativity to my writing. Thanks for the post! Mark

    • Hi Mark,
      Yay! So great to hear that you made a decision to start writing a novel and that it’s going well. Just shows what can happen when you stop thinking “Some day I’ll write a novel…” and start thinking, “This year I’m going to write a novel!”

      Thanks for reading and sharing!

      Happy writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  3. Just Yesterday at work, I noticed the julian date and I thought for a minute about how I was doing with my goals I had set for myself this year and when I think about it, with enthusiasm and being very invloved, I’m doing a lot more than I thought I would do. It use to be that I, and writing were one and it consumed my days, months and even years and all I wanted was to be a novelist. Then my writing friends went away and I hardly wrote a thing not having anyone to talk to, developing other intrest and really pushing writing out of my life with self doubt, speaking the loudest. Then, there was this other guy at work, I wasn’t too close to, but we started talking and found we had things in common. Both of us had put our writing on the back burner. We started talking about it and we tried to encourage each other. I believed we both got sick of being down all the time and tired of talking about it, knowing we weren’t truly happy. In 2015 we both set goals and achieving them and hopefully a little payoff. Thanks fot the blog.

    • Hi writingtonight,
      Thanks so much for sharing part of your journey with us. It’s always good to hear what other writers are going through. Good for you for setting goals and making them happen! And it really does help to have someone else to talk to about your writing goals.

      Happy writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  4. I’m glad for this post because it caused me to reflect on my main goal this year, which was to blog once a week. I’m happy to report that I have been able to meet that goal and feel pretty good about it. I am interested in the critique group you mentioned. How does one get involved in something like that?

    • Hi diaryofaragamuffin,
      Congratulations of achieving your goal of blogging once a week! Whoo hoo! That’s wonderful.

      I have written about how to find a critique group before on this blog. One is called Finding or Creating a Critique Group That You Love (If I was writing it now, I’d edit out the “that,” but that’s another blog post!) and the other is called Finding a Critique Group. If you put the titles in the search box at the top of this blog, you can find them. I wrote them because so many people are looking for a critique group. I’d say that, if you can’t find a group that works for you, try to create one. I started with one writer friend and now we are four writers critiquing each other, but it happened over time.

      It’s worth spending some time, in my opinion, trying to find a way to work with another writer to critique each other’s writing. You need another pair of eyes to look at your work, eventually, and I find the group to be so educational, not to mention inspiring!

      Best of luck finding a critique group you love!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  5. I am writing my first novel & so far I’m about halfway done. I started at the end of January & I constantly reassure myself that I’m not wasting my time. I’n amazed that you manage to write with all you have to do!

    • HI storywriter22,
      Wow, congratulations on your novel! Sounds like you are moving right along on it! It doesn’t sound like you are wasting any time to me!

      I write in small pieces these days. I am at peace with my process, although I do look forward to the days when I can spend hours at a time on my writing. I’ve had that kind of time in the past and I will again, so I don’t get too frustrated by the lack of time–although sometimes, when I get a great idea, I really wish I could sit down for hours and just write!

      Happy writing, you novelist, you!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  6. Hi amrich7,
    Thanks for reblogging!

    I could say the same about the first quarter of 2015, but I took a lot more words to say basically the same thing. You are very succinct! (And don’t forget to celebrate what you have accomplished!)

    Happy writing!

    Warmly,
    Diane

Leave a Reply

