Friday Fun–Three Questions

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: These are actually three questions, but they go together!

  1. How do you feel about your writing (and/or your writing life) right now?
  2. How do you want to feel about your writing (and/or writing life) right now?
  3. What do you need to think in order to feel the way you want to feel about your writing (and/or your writing life) right now?

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon, MD:

  1. How do you feel about your writing (and/or your writing life) right now? I feel excited and frustrated about my writing right now. 
  2. How do you want to feel about your writing (and/or writing life) right now? I want to feel excited and satisfied about my writing right now.
  3. What do you need to think in order to feel the way you want to feel about your writing (and/or your writing life) right now? I need to think: I’m doing exactly what I’m supposed to be doing right now. Every word written is a step toward my goals. 

I’m going to write these words on a Post-It note and stick them to my computer. I am doing exactly what I’m supposed to be doing right now, and every word written is a step toward my goals.

 

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: 

  1. How I feel about my writing right now: Open-minded, optimistic, curious, committed
  2. How I want to feel about my writing: I am actually pretty happy with how I’m feeling, but I would like to feel more productive and more profitable.
  3. What I need to think to feel the way I want: I have time to write, and people are willing to pay for my creative writing.

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Friday Fun–Three Questions

  1. These are great questions and I think it’d be useful to ask them on a regular basis, you know? To sort of check in with yourself about how you’re feeling about your current situation and how those feelings might affect your goals.

    Here are my answers:
    1. I’m excited about what I’m writing and plotting right now. I’m a little anxious about a couple of projects.
    2. Being optimistic, I’m going to count that little thread of anxiety as a good thing. It helps me focus. 😀
    3. I need to take more time out. Relax a little more.

  2. 1. How I feel about my writing right now: I’m feeling excited, a little anxious, and ready to commit. I’m also feeling slightly doubtful and self-critical.
    2.How I want to feel about my writing: I want to feel productive and comfortable.
    3.What I need to think to feel the way I want: I need to think “Write from the heart and for yourself first.” and I also need to think “Have fun!”

    Great questions!

  3. This is the first time I have really thought about my writing life so thank you for making me do so! I am relatively happy with how my first attempt at writing a novel is panning out so far. The one thing I would love to change is the amount of time I spend writing. I am sure we all share this goal to be able to dedicate more time to our writing. Apart from that, so far so good. Thanks again! Mark

  4. 1. At this moment life practically shove my writing on the back burner as it always happen during the good weather months. I rather take long walks, putter in the garden, and go vacation somewhere far than write.

    2. I don’t want to feel obliged or guilty not prioritizing my writing. And really I don’t.

    3. I need to think: There is time for that later on in winter time when I have no choice but to be cooped up and there is nothing better to do than write. Of course I will continue to make little notes whenever ideas come in my mind to be consulted later on if needed.

    For now I’m enjoying the sunshine and fauna and flora coming to life.

  5. I am not going to label this 1-2-3. They all mean the same to me since I have found a way to express myself openly and lovingly which has offered me opportunities I never dreamed possible before. However much better I do or don’t get in the future matters nothing to me,it’s the fact that I care to do it and shall continue to do so with a grand feeling of expression and personal worth.

  6. I am currently frustrated with my writing life right now, but optimistic I can find the way to feeling positively exhilarated about it, once I find more time to actually do it!

  7. I get better everyday. I find new techniques, approaches, insights and inspiration everyday. I am in awe of how I am able to have written what I writr yesterday and make it better today.

    For tomorrow I’d like to feel the same way only more.

  8. Thanks for these thoughtful questions. Here are my answers. I feel kind of discouraged about my writing today. I wonder if the work I am doing is going to have any sort of pay off. I would like to have more wisdom and understanding of how the process of writing is enriching my life as a member of the planet. What I need to think about in order to have an improved perspective– I need to stop being so hard on myself, spend a few minutes writing anything I want and not place undue pressure on myself, and I need to eat something chocolate. Now.

  9. How do you feel about your writing (and/or your writing life) right now? I feel like it has taken a backseat in my busy life, but I’m hopeful for an upcoming season of writing freedom.
    How do you want to feel about your writing (and/or writing life) right now? Excited and motivated.
    What do you need to think in order to feel the way you want to feel about your writing (and/or your writing life) right now? I need to stay positive and work on spending more time each day doing what I love to do which is write.
    Thanks for some motivating thoughts to ponder.

Leave a Reply

