Friday Fun — Why did you start blogging?

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: Why did you start blogging? (Bonus Points: What was different than you expected? Why do you keep blogging?)

LisaJJackson_2014Lisa J. Jackson: I got started several years ago when I heard blogging was “the thing to do” so I figured I’d give it a shot. My personal blog has sputtered and started and is currently lifeless, but I enjoy blogging here immensely and can’t believe how many years it’s been already. This is a great group of ladies and being part of the collaboration and having such great readers as yourselves keeps me inspired, motivated, and blogging.

 

JME5670V2smCROPJamie Wallace: I started blogging by accident. It was 2007, and I was “journaling” on a parenting site called Maya’s Mom. My posts about my in-process divorce earned a bit of a following, and the editors of the site invited me to be a paid contributor. Suddenly, I was not only “blogging,” (a term I’d only recently learned), but getting paid to do it. It seems a lifetime ago now, but I think I had been blogging at Maya’s Mom for a little less than a year when they were bought out by Johnson & Johnson. Our little indie site became part of J&J’s industry-leading BabyCenter brand, and – happily – after a brief pause in my blogging “career,” the editors at J&J invited me to join their team. I was a proud BabyCenter blogger until the end of 2011, at which point my copywriting and content marketing business had grown and needed to take priority.

So, to answer this week’s question more directly, I started blogging because I wanted to connect with other women over a shared experience. I didn’t have any expectations because I didn’t even really know what I was getting into. I was just sharing my thoughts and having conversations. Later, I launched my own blog as part of a content marketing strategy for my Suddenly Marketing business; collaborated with my five, fabulous “Savvy Sisters” on the Savvy B2B Marketing blog; and  joined the lovely and talented group of writers here at Live to Write – Write to Live.

I have continued blogging, usually on several blogs at once, since that first adventure in 2007 because I love the chance to practice my writing craft, explore new ideas, share what I’m learning, and connect with other people, be they prospective clients or fellow writers or just other curious seekers like me. Thanks to each of YOU for being part of this journey and never-ending experiment. I’m so grateful that you choose to spend some of your time here with us.

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: I started blogging on life coaching topics in 2011 as a way to get over my fear of showing other people my writing (see my blog post from yesterday) and also as a way to share my passion for the work I was doing. I’d been doing a lot of writing, but I hadn’t shown it to anyone. I also had an idea for a nonfiction book so I thought blogging would be a good way to expand on my thoughts for the book. I joined this blog at the end of 2011 also, which I didn’t realize until I just looked back at my drafts. I love writing for this blog because of the topic (all things writing!) and because there is such a collaboration between me, my fellow bloggers, and the amazing community of readers that we have here. I rarely get comments on my blog, so it’s nice to be able to interact with all the active readers here at Write to Live–Live to Write.

M. Shafer, Photo

M. Shafer, Photo

Deborah Lee Luskin: I started blogging when my novel, Into the Wilderness, first came out. The deal I had with my publisher was that they’d do all the work to design and produce the physical book, including ISBN, Library of Congress and Ingram (the distributor) and I’d do all the marketing. So I started writing guest posts for a several different blogs. In January, 2011, Wendy invited me to write one here, and I did: A Reasonable Approach to Internet Marketing posted on for Live t0 Write – Write to Live. She also talked me through the actual posting of the piece, I was that clueless. And she invited me to join the gang; I’ve been posting every other week ever since.

I love being part of this group, both because it’s great to be able to spread the work, but also because my colleagues here are so generous about sharing what they know. I’ve put that knowledge to good use, finally starting two blogs of my own, Living In Place, about my rural life in Vermont, and The Middle Ages, about – well, middle age! I like the discipline of meeting my weekly Wednesday deadline – and how it keeps me thinking all the time, makes me more attentive to what I’m doing in my daily life and how it can translate into a 500-word post that will have meaning to my readers all over the world.

And really, that’s why I blog – to connect with my readers. It’s been five years since Into the Wilderness came out. I’ve finished another novel, now with my agent, and I’m rewriting another, one that I thought was finished but turns out to have been only a rough draft. Since novels take me so long, I use my blogs to keep and build audience. Hopefully, everyone will stay healthy and live long enough to see my books into print!

 

35 thoughts on “Friday Fun — Why did you start blogging?

  1. Love how different all of your journeys into blogging have been – and the motivations too, initially… But what made you stay was the connection with like-minded others across borders, timezones, cultures…

  2. I started blogging because the words inside of me kept calling to be put down on paper (some still actually do come out with real ink). I realised that while the aspiration to be published in literary magazine (poems I mean) is very honourable I also see it as futile as it depends solely on the personal taste of individual editors who have a hard job to do and a multitude of poets to choose from. And so I started putting poems up on wordpress because hey they had been written so why not put them out in the world for even one other person to see.

  3. I started blogging as an escape from reality, a personal online diary. I did not expect that I would be addicted to it to the point that I would learn everything that revolves around “Blogging” and that it can be an online community where you can call your online friends. I keep blogging because I love to write/blog, because I want my voice to be heard, though I know it’s weird..but that’s the point of it all.

  4. I’ve started and stopped a couple of blogs – mainly directed at Christian Apologetics (since that is what I have my degree in) and Christian living. I never really put much effort into it, and then I realized I wanted to focus more on writing and storytelling (since that is what I am most passionate about). I’ve been serious about this only a little while now, but I’m enjoying the experience and the community as I get to know other bloggers and writers. I love hearing their stories as well as sharing my own. We’ll see where things go from here.

  5. I started as a part of an effort to be more disciplined about my writing habits. I made a commitment to post something once week. Worked for awhile, then I got a bit of prostate cancer and my mind kind of exploded and I’ve maintained a once to twice a week schedule on the blog as well as a session or two each week on other writing projects.

  6. The first thing I would like for the writers at Live to Write – Write to Live to know is that I appreciate the knowledge that you give to the public at no charge.

    I’ve always known that God had a mission for me. That mission is to share all of the rough life experiences I’ve gone through and the terrible ways I handled them, so others who have the same problems can avoid the trouble I brought on myself. At the age of 46 1/2, (I want credit for all of my age) I’ve been through trials that called for my undivided attention, and were extremely difficult on me emotionally. The way I handled all of my trials, brought more trouble. After much counseling, I’ve learned what I should have done. I’ve also learned who I am in Christ, and what He wants me to do. If you know those two things, nothing or no one can steal your joy. I feel an urgency to share my experiences with fellow bloggers. I also feel that same urgency to share them with the world.

    I published a book in January of 2013 entitled, “A Time to Keep and a Time to Throw Away.” This book entails the shameful ways I dealt with my mom’s death. I’ve gotten some good responses from people who have read it. All responses are from a different part of the book, and they all have been helped/enlightened in totally different ways. I am currently working on my second book, “The Process for Learning to Love Yourself.” It’s about helping others to become their best selves, and bring out all the good qualities they didn’t even know they had. And to find out before they reach my age, who they are, their worth in God, and what their missions are.

    All of the above are the reasons I started blogging. I’ve developed a following of 133 on my, “Inspiration for Today” blog. I don’t consider them following me; but following God. It does make me feel good to see people like my blog, though. 🙂

  7. I feel like I can connect more with Diane because I started to blog to get over the fear of showing people what I wrote. My dad was an exceptional writer, winning lots of awards for his pieces (even though he was a USAF-turned-civilian engineer most of his life). I was not. I know he was trying to help when he said “You should take some extra writing courses”. But, deep down, I felt like those words were daggers to my self esteem.

    I started to blog once again this year because I wanted to get better at writing but also public speaking and expressing myself. Most important, I want to have fun sharing the things I experienced and love.

    • Hi aisasami,
      I love your reasons for blogging–and for starting to blog again this year. People don’t realize how their words can wound, but once we are adults we get to choose what we want to take to heart and what we don’t. I’m glad you kept writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  8. I started blogging because I wanted to get my story out there. I felt that there might be people who needed to know they weren’t alone. This is also the reason I continue to blog. I also love blogging and am actually disappointed when I don’t have something to say. If one person can be inspired by my story, then it is all worth it.

    ~Devin

  9. I started blogging to share ideas and pick up writing tips. In February this year I started writing my first novel. A psychological thriller. So far I have picked up some amazing tips and have made great progress with my book. I have been lucky enough to acquire a sizeable amount of followers which I can only thank blogging for. It has set up the perfect platform for me and only made this new addiction of writing worse. What a great addiction to have! Thanks for the post! Mark

  10. I started blogging because I felt like I needed to immerse myself in some form of social media in order to make sense of this whole part of the world about which I’d been ignorant. I have kept blogging because it just feels good to write things down and then set them free into the world.

  11. I’ve started blogging because I finally feel brave enough to share my writing, thoughts and ramblings with the world.
    I have a great novel idea and have begun writing it, but have hit a wall. I wanted to ask here, is it a good idea do you think, to share ideas, or excerpts from a novel on here? I really would love to know what others think, but again, don’t feel brave enough. I guess I don’t have much confidence with my writing yet. I’ve been doing it a while but haven’t shared with many.
    It is nice to get feedback, and helpful too. I guess I should just be brave eh?

    • @jengojango I too started blogging related to floating book ideas. However, generating little interest. First, “everyone” seems to be doing it, second (in my case) my posts don’t attract much attention. If you wanted to toss an excerpt up on your blog or even send it my way since you seem a bit shy about it, I’d comment. You would not be getting an expert opinion, but you would get the opinion of an avid, eclectic reader.

      • Hey JengoJango, if you’re too shy, just shoot it to me in email. You can find my contact info on my site. I read your blog, you can string sentences together just fine. Let’s see a little bit or two of your novel! Or be brave and post it up. You’ve got lots of sympathetic friends here.

  12. I started blogging because I wanted to connect and get my stories out there. I’ve recently seen moderate success with my work (an audio-drama written by me is currently being produced) and I wanted to share my insight, connect with other writers, and essentially tell my stories and have fun writing. It’s been fun ever since I started!

  13. Lovely post which I have thoroughly enjoyed reading. I think it’s something synonymous with women that we like to share and help our sisters along the journey of life. I’ve been blogging for a while now – stopped and started as work got in my way – but since I made the made the bold decision to step away from my high pressure CEO job and concentrate more on what I wanted, I’ve become more frequent as a way to share my adventures AND it’s led to an increased number of paid writing projects.

  14. Psalm 81:10 …Open wide your mouth, and I will fill it

    Taking the journey before the people!

    Deuteronomy 10:11-“And the LORD said unto me, Arise, take thy journey before the people…”

    In the words of Eric Liddell, Chariots of Fire, “I feel God’s pleasure” when I write. (although his said run:)

    I have always loved to write. I did not say that I was a good writer. To say that I have an intense love for words, reading and journaling is still a ridiculous understatement. I kept “diaries” on and off my whole life but beginning in 2007 those “diaries” became journals that document my journey with Christ. They are extremely personal and priceless to me. They record my conversations with my Creator, Father, Savior, Healer, Counselor, and Best Friend. HE is the God Who sees me and STILL loves me. There are pages stained in tears and coffee rings, riddled with lots of exclamation and question marks and run on sentences. Sometimes I would just plagiarize verse after verse from Psalms in an attempt to give words to the overwhelming worship and gratitude in my heart. I have a feeling that My Jesus kind of likes it when we plagiarize HIS WORD! Needless to say, these records have always been just between me and Jesus.

    I knew God was asking something new of me and I was not quite sure I liked it. I covet my ALONE time with HIM, coffee, Bible, journal, sharp pencils and felt tip markers. I expect HIM to meet me and speak and HE always does, sometimes in outrageous supernatural ways but most often through whispers in HIS WORD and prayer promptings. I look back through my journals and am utterly amazed that the GOD OF THE UNIVERSE actually loves to just sit and visit awhile with us and I have many journals to document those gab sessions! All this to say, HE specifically asked me to Arise and share the journey with HIS people! I was certain HE didn’t mean I was to publish my journals but I was also certain that the “new thing” meant journaling in public, hence the BLOG!

    I will always have my old fashion journal with real pages, pencils and felt tips but the BLOG is now a step of obedience for me to share this journey before the people with HIS people. God tells us repeatedly to “tell the next generation” about HIM.

    Psalm 78:4-“We will not hide them from our children. We will tell the next generation about the LORD’s power and great deeds and the miraculous things HE has done.”

    So, I was obedient to God’s request of me and in an attempt to be relevant, I began this BLOG. Psalm 81:10 says,”Open your mouth wide and I will fill it.” and that is why this BLOG is called Psalm8110. I am relying on the Holy Spirit to fill my mouth. I am holding GOD to HIS promises and I know that makes HIM smile. “Because YOUR lovingkindness is better than life, my lips (blog, tweets, face book statuses, etc…) will praise you!” Ps 63:3

    I pray this BLOG will encourage you. But most of all, I pray that it draws you to a personal relationship with Jesus. I pray it makes you hungry for the WORD and that you stop reading right this very minute to pick up your BIBLE and your own journal and begin recording the most fantastic, exciting, amazing, wonderful, peaceful, joyful, wild, consistent, etc…(almost pulled out my thesaurus for more excellent words but figured you got the point:) journey with “That Jesus”. You will never regret the time you spend with the Lord and having a journal simply reminds you of HIS faithfulness!

    Thank YOU Lord for YOUR faithfulness. “For it is GOD who is faithful and calls us into fellowship with HIMSELF” (1 Cor 1:9) I love YOU and thank YOU for helping me step out in obedience! To GOD be all the glory and praise from this BLOG and my entire life!

    2 Corinthians 4:13 (MSG) We’re not keeping this quiet, not on your life. Just like the psalmist who wrote, “I believed it, so I said it,” we say what we believe.

    I blog it, tweet it, post it etc… Any chance I get!

  15. I reconnected with my passion for writing, so I started to blog for the reason that I wanted to share, inspire, learn, evolve and connect with other writers. So far, the journey has been rewarding!

  16. I started blogging just a couple of days ago. I love reading, writing and learning. What I love most is getting to know people from different countries and walks of life. So i figured, what better way to do everything that I like than to start blogging.

    So far, my experience has been really good. However, I’ll need all the help that I can get to get better at this. I don’t have a clue about a lot of things here. If anyone is willing to help, please let me know. I would really appreciate it. Cheers.

  17. It makes me laugh when I think how clueless I was three years ago when I started blogging. I didn’t read blogs, knew nothing about blogs or blogging. I had learned about blogging in a social media class I was doing, and on the spur of the moment, knew that I wanted one of my own :). Now, well, I love it more than ever. I don’t know what I like the best – the social interaction or the writing platform!

  18. i started blogging because i wanted to share things with people and you can express yourself however you want to.
    The difference about is that i dont have any worries and now that ive found something to do i have a reason to live.

  19. Pingback: Weekend Edition – Truth in Blogging Plus Good Reads and Writing Tips | Live to Write – Write to Live

  20. Pingback: Friday Fun — Pseudonyms – Yes? No? | Live to Write – Write to Live

  21. Pingback: Weekend Edition – Why I Blog, One Writer’s Convoluted Tale | Live to Write – Write to Live

Leave a Reply

