I’m Going to Camp!

My son is going to camp this summer, and so am I! Camp NaNoWriMo, that is!

Screen Shot 2015-06-25 at 10.03.00 AMCamp NaNoWriMo is a spin-off from National Novel Writing Month, affectionately known as NaNoWriMo, or even NaNo.

The best part about Camp NaNo, from my perspective, is the ability to choose my own word count. In order to “win” NaNo, you have to write 50,000 words in the month of November. In order to “win” camp NaNo, all you have to do is complete the word count you’ve set for yourself.

And you can change the word count even after July 1st. (At some point you have to let it stand, but I’m not exactly sure what that date is.)

Since I have always found 1,667 words a day to be daunting, no matter how fast I get my fingers to type, I’ve decided to take the attitude that it’s summer, and the living is easy, so why not cut that 50,000 word count in half?

Screen Shot 2015-06-25 at 10.29.15 AMI can do 25,000 words in July, right? There’s even one more day in the month of July than in the month of November, so my daily word count goal is only 807.

If you’ve read some of my other blog posts, you know that I love to set goals. And I love the outside accountability of the (Camp) NaNo community. I’ve signed up, committed to the word count, made a small cash donation to keep it real, and now I’m just waiting for July 1st when I can start watching my word count go up, up, up!

Screen Shot 2015-06-25 at 10.30.00 AMAs an added measure of accountability, I’ve asked to be assigned to a “cabin” with up to 11 other writers who are also writing nonfiction and who have a similar word count. I’ll find out my cabin assignment tomorrow. Can’t wait!

The biggest reason I’ve signed up for Camp NaNo is to put my goal of writing at the forefront of my brain. If I don’t, life will intervene, I’ll do a million other things in July, and I’ll be bummed out at the end of the month when I haven’t done the thing that is most important to me.

Writing is so personal; it’s only for me. It doesn’t benefit my family in any way, so it often gets pushed down the To-Do List until it falls off. Somehow, signing up for something like Camp NaNo helps me keep it at the top of my To Do List, even though it’s still really just for me.

Anyone else out there want to go to camp with me? Camp NaNo, here we come!

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon, MD: is a writer, blogger, life coach, family physician, mother, and grandmother. I’m excited to be coming to a time when I’ll have a little more time to write and I appreciate all the support this community has given me. Happy writing, everyone!

22 thoughts on “I’m Going to Camp!

  1. Enjoy camp! You can do it.
    I won’t be going to that camp as in July, I’ll be one of the counselors at camp Grandma trying ensure that our three grandsons have a good time while ensuring that they don’t do anything that requires transportation to an emergency room.

  2. Camp is really awesome. I’ve only done Camp once, but I won with a goal of 15,000 words. I also TRIED NaNo in November, but let’s not talk about that. 😉 I too am in a cabin, but I’m in a private one with some internet writing buddies of mine.

    Good luck!! 🙂

  3. I’ve really struggled with NaNoWriMo in the last couple of years, but Camp NaNoWriMo sounds like a good idea. I totally agree about putting writing at the front of your life, because it’s so easy for everything else to get in the way. It’s only a month, right? — Famous last words!

  4. Pingback: I’ll Bring The Alcohol: Camping In The Interwebs: CAMP NaNoWriMo 2015! | Welcome To Araboth: There's No Way Out

  5. I find myself wishing it were a real camp, as in cabins and campfires and s’mores and loads of time to think, reflect, and write. Alas! Is there a NaBloPoMo version of the camp? (And I totally relate to your personal writing time being pushed to the end of your “to do” list on a regular basis… sigh.)

  6. I’m coming to Camp! I tend to do better in November, but I like to use Camp to give myself a bit of a push and get on with the writing projects I should be. This time round I’ll be doing some editing. Frankly, even if I don’t end up doing the word count I’ve set for myself, just getting back into the habit of daily writing would be good!

    See you there!

  7. In a fit of creative ambition I signed up for camp…but we are moving into a new house this week, and there is no way. I thought it would be therapeutic, but I’ll just take journal notes so I can write about our “adventure” later. Good luck!

  8. Pingback: JuNoWriMo Day 19 | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  9. Pingback: Inspiration for Non-Fiction | Live to Write – Write to Live

Leave a Reply

