Weekend Edition – An Infinity of Stories

Our Bodies May Be Made of Stardust, But Our Souls Are Made of Stories

made of starsWhen you look into the space between the stars it may at first appear empty, just a void of darkness between bright points of light. But you keep staring, and you realize that the space is actually filled with a subtle, cosmic light that vibrates and shivers at the edge of perception. And then, staring down the barrel of infinity, you catch a moment of clarity that allows you to see – if only for a fraction of a second – that this pale luminescence is actually made up of innumerable, individual pin pricks of light.

Life is kind of like that.

It’s easy to see the stars. Whether they are twinkling joyously, or flaring across the sky in the death spiral of a meteor or comet, they are clear markers in the vast possibility of the universe – bold as day, in plain sight. They form the constellations of our lives – the shapes that tell our stories. These are the parts of our personal universe that are easy to identify and name. There is Virgo and Ursa Major and Artemis/Diana. You are a woman and a mother and a writer.

But what about the spaces between these visible aspects of your life? What about the countless moments, experiences, and thoughts that span the gaps between the stars? Perhaps it is here, in these gently glowing shadows, that you will find the stories only you can tell.

··• )o( •··

Writing helps us feel our way into the undefined place where there are no recognizable signposts to illuminate our way. At first, we may leap from star to star, as if they were stepping stones across the sky. “Safe” above the depths, our words and stories only skim the surface of the sparkling darkness that lies beneath us. And then, one day – either intentionally, or because we lose our balance – we dip our toes into the unknown, and it changes us.

··• )o( •··

Although, on close examination, the celestial landscape appears to be a continuous expanse of wall-to-wall stars, there are actually vast expanses of space between even the most intimate of cosmic neighbors. Proxima Centauri, the star nearest to us, is 4.22 light years (39,900,000,000,000 km) away. Distances can be deceiving.

As it is with the stars, so it is with us. Though we exist side-by-side physically, emotional and intellectual distances lie between us that are as real and immense as the interstellar spaces between stars. But, in the same way that light travels across the darkness to connect one star to another, so stories travel through emotional space and across time to connect one human being to another.

··• )o( •··

Darkness is scary. The uncertain and unfamiliar are scary. But we have the steadfast stars to guide us, friendly points of light that shine out, an invitation to connect with someone else’s world. Stars and stories both serve to remind us that we are not alone in the Universe. We see the light, and we make contact. Eventually, we might find the courage to hold hands and jump together into the seemingly blank spaces, only to discover that we emerge covered in stardust, glittering in the night.

That is the magic of stories. They are beacons in space and time, in hearts and minds, reaching out across indefinable distances to create unique worlds that bring us together in moments of connection and recognition. I am here. I see you. We are alike. We are different. This is my light. This is my darkness. This is my experience. Tell me yours.

··• )o( •··

Look up into the heavens. Marvel at the beauty and majesty of the ancient lights that dwell there, some only memories – long gone, still burning in the night sky. Look harder. Look closer. Look between and beyond and see how much more there is to witness. Sense the infinity of stars and the infinity of stories. Be humbled before the vastness of the distance between the cosmic once upon a time and this moment. Feel small and vulnerable and insignificant. And then remember that you are made of stars and stories. You are made of magic.

universe stories

∞ ♥ ∞

.

To my regular weekend edition readers, I apologize that I’m posting so late and that I’m not sharing anything about what I’m reading, writing, or discovering on the web this week. This past month has been particularly busy for me (for which I’m grateful), and then last night I was confronted with an unfortunate bit of drama in my personal life. We are all fine, but I find that today this is all I have in me.  Real writers. Real life. That’s what this blog is about. Sending hugs out to each of you – from my star to yours. Thank you for always being such caring, creative, and fun people. You make all that we do here so worthwhile.
.
Jamie Lee Wallace Hi. I’m Jamie. I am a content marketer and branding consultant, columnist, sometime feature writer, prolific blogger, and aspiring fiction writer. I’m a mom, a student of equestrian and aerial arts (not at the same time), and a nature lover. I believe in small kindnesses, daily chocolate, and happy endings. Introduce yourself on Facebooktwitter, Instagram, or Pinterest. I don’t bite … usually.
.

44 thoughts on “Weekend Edition – An Infinity of Stories

  1. Jamie, you write so elegantly, I feel as if we are holding hands, flying effortlessly in the celestial realm together. How is it that unfortunate drama can bring such eloquence in your writing? May you personal troubles be short-lived, or at least manageable. It is but an infinitesimal moment which, too, shall pass.

    • Hi, Sammy. Thank you so much for such a poetic comment. Sometimes the darkness and drama do bring out something different in our writing. I suppose that must be the silver lining.

      Thank you for the wishes for short-lived and manageable troubles. I have high hopes for both.
      And – yes – this, too, shall pass. My mantra always – for the good and the bad. 😉

      Thanks!

  2. Oh hun – please take care of yourself! #HUGS

    What’s impressive is that you showed up DESPITE your woes. And – as I am being reminded every day – the most important thing any of us can ever do is to SHOW UP! PROUD OF YOU!

    As always, you humble me with your expressiveness and eloquence. Doffing my hat at you 🙂

    OODLES of love
    Kitto

    • Hello, Kitto!
      You are always such a ray of sunshine. 🙂

      Yes – showing up is half the battle, isn’t it. Get to the gym. Sit in front of the blank screen. Walk into the room. Much of the work we need to do is internal – simply working up the courage/gumption/inspiration to make a move. So, so true.

      Thanks for the virtual hugs and the compassionate recognition that even just being in a space is sometimes enough.

      xo

      PS – Definitely taking care. About to launch into an 80s movie marathon with my daughter. Perfection.

  3. I love this description of what it feels like to share and experience one another’s stories. One of my joys in sharing my writing is that others will relate to, better understand, or feel emotion from something I’ve shared. Words have power. Especially yours. Thank you.

    • I so agree, Amelia, that words have power and that much of that power lies in our ability to connect to others (and ourselves) through shared stories. This is something I’ve always known, but that I’m only just beginning to articulate. The cultural cliche of the isolated writer sometimes leads us astray, I think. Though we may work in solitude, our writing connects hearts and minds all across the world. That’s pretty amazing.
      Thanks for being here.

  4. Oh Jamie, I hope you’re okay.
    Did you have this post written for a rainy day? It is absolutely exquisite. Tonight I’m going to gaze up at the stars and think of your words as I do, and how stories bring us together. Be well xo

    • We’re doing much better. The dust is settling, as they say. Thank you.

      I wish I could say that I was organized enough to have “rainy day” posts tucked away for emergencies, but I have never quite achieved that goal. So, no, I didn’t get to pull from an archive. I wrote this on-the-fly, over the course of the day, a half hour here, an hour there, and so on. It took longer than I’d planned, but I didn’t put the pressure on, so that made it easier.

      I love the thought of you looking up at the stars and thinking about how stories bring us together. I’ll wave to you from my star over here. 🙂

    • Thanks, Natacha. We’re doing well. What would life be without a little drama here and there, right? 😉

      Did I see that you had a super productive week – on Facebook maybe? Bravo to you! Lovely when that happens.

      Have a great rest of the weekend & a great week coming up.
      Nice to “see” you.

      • Yes, you saw this right on Facebook! We’ve been having a heat wave so things were a bit slower but I’m learning to take it easy at times (still a big work in progress but going one baby step at a time, especially with my perfectionist/productive trait). I’m working on several projects right now but all are going well. I am very excited at the perspective of releasing some new titles this Fall. I am grateful for the amazing support I have. Have a lovely upcoming week! 🙂

      • That’s so awesome, Natacha. Good for you – both re: getting things done AND the baby steps to learning to take it easy sometimes. Both are equally important! 🙂

    • Thank you.
      (I love your range of story types – academic to silly anecdotes – we do have SO many ways to tell a story, don’t we?)

  5. Reblogged this on Write until you bleed and commented:
    I love the idea of the universe being made up of millions of different stories. If you think about wishing on a star, the dreams we wish with our hearts are just glowing lights that we hope will explode and leave remnants of idea and inspiration for generations to come. The infinite possibilities of the mind that can never be counted, just as the stars in the sky. Beautiful.

  6. Pingback: Weekend Food for Thought | The Practical Mystic

  7. Pingback: Weekend Edition – Place and Writing Plus Good Reads and Writing Tips | Live to Write – Write to Live

Leave a Reply

