Friday Fun – Summer Movies

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

As writers, it’s important that we take time and fill our creative well with other artistic forms. Creation is good, but sometimes we just need to consume, to be entertained. I’m pretty sure we ask this question every year, but every year brings a new batch of “SUMMER BLOCKBUSTERS”. What movies are you looking forward to seeing this summer?

Lee Laughlin CU 7-13Lee Laughlin: I’m not always a big movie person, but this year there are three, that I was/am looking forward too. My daughter and I saw Pitch Perfect 2 and thoroughly enjoyed it. I definitely want to see Inside Out although I’m told tissues are a must. The last summer movie I’m looking forward to is The Minion Movie. I don’t know what it is about those little yellow dudes, but they just crack me up. I’m curious to see what others post, maybe I’ll add a few more to my summer bucket list.

LisaJJackson_2014Lisa J. Jackson: No judgments here, right? I’m looking forward to Magic Mike XXL (Channing Tatum is always a nice distraction, and I’m looking forward to seeing Jada Pinkett Smith’s role – I’ve been loving her in the TV series Gotham this past year and am curious to see her in this movie). I also am planning to see the latest Avenger movie — thankfully it’s still in the theaters! And, I do have to check out The Minion Movie. Those little talking Twinkies (my personal description) have been mesmerizing me since they first hit the big screen.

hennrikus-web2Julie Hennrikus: I love the Marvel universe, so I’ve already seen the Avengers movie. (Really liked it.) I have heard great things about Inside Out, and may see it this weekend. I am a wicked wimp, so Jurassic Park isn’t going to happen. Self/Less looks good too. What do folks think about Ant Man? Again, a Marvel fan, but not sure about that one…

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: I haven’t been to the movies since I saw the Planes: Fire and Rescue movie last summer with my sister, my son, and my niece and nephews. I’d love to see Spy, with Melissa McCarthy, but I’ll probably see it after it comes out on video. I am planning on going to the movies this summer. I’m taking my niece to see Inside Out. I saw the Avengers: Age of Ulton movie with my son-in-law while holding my sleeping granddaughter. The movie, and the company, were excellent.

 

SuddenlyJamie AvatarJamie Wallace: I think that being my father’s daughter makes me genetically predisposed to being a movie junkie. Whenever we get together (which is quite frequently), we always wind up talking about movies – the stories and characters, the sets and special effects, the performances and the behind-the-scenes scoop. We both love the way that film creates new worlds that people can experience together. And, we love retelling our favorite scenes from our favorite movies – over and over again.

The movies on my radar for this summer are a seriously mixed bag, just like the books on my summer reading list. Like many of my fellow bloggers here, I’ve also got Inside Out and Minions on my radar. My daughter and I are thinking about catching Pitch Perfect 2 this weekend, and Jurassic World is also on our list. (I mean, it’s Chris Pratt!) I will also admit to wanting to see Melissa McCarthy in Spy. I loved her in Bridesmaids and the recent sleeper, Saint Vincent, with the inimitable Bill Murray. Oh, and I’ll see Lisa’s Magic Mike XXL and raise her Ted 2.

On the other end of the spectrum, I’m really looking forward to seeing Ian McKellen in Holmes, Lily Tomlin in Grandma (OMG – I LOVE her!), and an entire cast of fabulous folks in She’s Funny That Way. And then, just because watching a good guy kick some ass is fun and good for the soul, I’m going to add American Ultra to my list.

Yep. It’s going to be a busy summer! 😉

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Summer Movies

  1. My girlfriend and I went to see Magic Mike XXL last evening…watching 45 minutes of this boring movie was worth it for the “Cheetos” scene and the last dance scene!

  2. My grandkids and I Loved “Inside Out” … My grandson wanted to see “Spy” (he enjoyed it)… and my folks and I were on the edge of our seats watching “San Andreas” in 3-D… I had forgotten how entertaining a movie on the big screen can be, especially in 3-D! 🙂

    • I haven’t tried Gotham, and I gave up watching GoT … the unceasing violence got to be too much for me, which was unfortunate because I really enjoyed other aspects of the show.

      • Yes. It is difficult sometimes to watch without being affected. I can’t watch an entire episode without pauses, recollecting myself in between drinks and trips to the fridge, bundling all my courage to go on.

Leave a Reply

