Weekend Edition – Writing and Money Plus Good Reads and Writing Tips

Let’s get down to brass tacks: Writing and Money

Art by Hugh MacLeod of Gaping Void

Art by Hugh MacLeod of Gaping Void

I realize that this little blog post is to the topic of writing and money as one ice cube is to the 200,000-ton bulk of your average iceberg. Nevertheless, the topic has been on my mind lately so I’m going to go ahead and share my ice cube’s worth of random thoughts.

I have been self-employed since my divorce in 2007 – first as a web development project manager, but since about 2009 as a copywriter and content marketer. I may still be driving my 2002 Pathfinder and wearing many of the clothes that I packed for my move out of the “marital home,” but I have also managed to successfully maintain an income that’s kept me and my daughter well housed, well fed, and – while not exactly living in the lap of luxury – happily enjoying life’s little pleasures.

It hasn’t always been a clear or easy path, but I wouldn’t trade a single day of it for a “secure” job as a full-time employee.

··• )o( •··

Most of us drag around some kind of emotional baggage related to money. It might be guilt or fear or a lifetime of feeling undeserving. Throw a creative pursuit like writing into the mix, and you have the added “fun” of doing battle with the “starving artist” stereotype (unheated garret, anyone?).

I’m sure I have yet to plumb the depths of my own money-related hang-ups, but the one that consistently surfaces each time I get brave enough to sit down across the table from this particular demon is the unfounded belief that I can only make “real” money (aka, the kind of money that pays the rent and utility bills) doing work that is a) difficult, b) business-related, and c) let’s just say not all that close to my heart.

Because I’ve bought into this belief, I’ve allowed my fear to keep me from even experimenting with different kinds of writing business models. Despite the fact that ten years ago I would not have believed I could support myself doing what I’m doing today, I seem unable to take a similar leap of faith to the next step in my writer’s journey. The crisis of divorce (and the prospect of being unable to stay home with my then three year-old daughter) pushed me to jump into the wild world of freelancing without a shred of experience or much of a safety net. You would think that after all these years (and learning first hand that I can do this) I would have developed the courage to jump again, but – no. I have replaced my former doubts about my ability to become a freelance writer with a new set of equally limiting doubts about being able to make a freelance living doing anything other than the kind of work I do today.

··• )o( •··

I try not to beat myself up about these doubts. After all, they seem to be a natural and hard-to-shake part of the freelancer feast-or-famine mentality. After nearly twenty years of working jobs with steady paychecks, my transition to a freelance lifestyle included its share of sleepless nights wondering where the hell the next gig (and infusion of cash) would come from. I had to work hard to learn to believe and trust that the “next thing” would show up when I needed it.

So far  (knock on wood), it always has; but that doesn’t put my anxiety to rest. On the worst days, I can even use my past good fortune to convince myself that my luck is due to run out. (Talk about self-sabotage.)

The ebb-and-flow nature of the freelance world means that – like most self-employed folks I know – I tend to say “yes” to almost every job that comes my way. Most of the time this works out fine. Sometimes, I wind up regretting it. (There are some jobs that aren’t worth any amount of money.)

When I’m suspended in limbo between gigs, coming off a particularly hellatious project, or just feeling a little insecure, I reopen my ongoing investigation into the different ways writers make money. You know – just for “fun.” I look for writers who have crafted an even more flexible, consistent and fulfilling writing life than I have. (Because, at these low points I figure there has got to be a better way.) I look for alternative business models, interesting product launches, and unique publishing strategies.

··• )o( •··

Very few writers make a full-time living writing fiction. There are many complex reasons for for this sad-but-true reality,  including (in no particular order) the labyrinthine mess that is the traditional publishing industry, the equally confusing sprawl of the burgeoning self-publishing trend, the post-Kindle challenges of convincing the average person to pay more than $.99 (or, in some cases, anything at all) for a book, the Herculean effort required to get noticed in the saturated book market, and so on.

The fact that we can’t all be J.K. Rowling or Stephen King does not, however, mean that there aren’t many writers who make a good living with a variety of writing-related jobs and projects. The “entrepreneurial writer,” a creature of the Internet age, typically builds his or her writing business around multiple streams of diversified revenue that may include fiction and nonfiction book sales, blogging, copywriting, speaking, teaching, etc.

Joanna Penn of The Creative Penn is a champion of the “author entrepreneur” and very generous about sharing what she’s learned on her own journey from business consultant to full-time author/speaker.  She even periodically shares detailed information about how her overall revenue breaks down across the different parts of her writing business. Joanna’s content is helpful – informative and inspiring in a step-by-step, “real world” way.

Of course, there are the anomalies of the self-publishing world – the Kindle Millionaires like Amanda Hocking, John Locke, and J.A. Konrath – who have cracked the code to making a very nice living selling fiction via Amazon’s Kindle platform. The stories of these self-published stars offer inspiration of a different sort – more Cinderella story than Penn’s nuts-and-bolts breakdown.

When the Internet begins to lure me farther and farther down the rabbit hole and away from any relevance to my current life (I mean, let’s be honest, I’m not going to become a superstar Kindle author any time super soon). I forcefully guide myself back to articles that are more directly related to my current earning potential as a content marketer. Alexandra Franzen’s 50+ ways to make money as a writer is one interesting take on the topic. Peter Bowerman’s down-to-earth, no-nonsense voice at The Well-Fed Writer is always a comfort. And there are others out there who share their stories and advice freely on their blogs: James Chartrand, Ed Gandia, etc.

And then I suddenly realize that my investigation has brought me back to where I started. Though I struck out in search of the new, the bold, and the creative, I have come full circle and am once again focusing my attention on what is instead of what might be – what I have already achieved instead of the things that would push me outside my comfort zone and into the next part of my adventure.

··• )o( •··

It’s at this point in my well-worn routine that I come face to face with the real question: Why not me?

My inner critic is practically salivating to answer this one. That insidious voice hisses eagerly in my ear, mocking me for daring to think I might succeed without experience, training, or a massive audience. Who am I, the voice asks earnestly, compared to these obviously more qualified individuals about whom I’ve been reading?

I am momentarily cowed by this line of questioning, but then I counter with a question of my own: who were they when they started?

Everyone has to start somewhere. Who’s to say that these superstars and role models didn’t come from beginnings as modest as my own? Who’s to say they didn’t face the very same demons jeering me today? In fact, is there any other way for them to have embarked on their writer’s journeys than as a nobody, a newbie, a wannabe? My guess is that there is no more fertile soil for success.

It’s cliche, but it’s also true that the people who succeed are the ones who show up. Stellar talent, unique concepts, and connections in high places are nice, but optional. The one non-negotiable is showing up. You have to be brave, be bold, and do the work. You have to leap into the gap even though you’re not sure you have wings. That’s how we learn to fly.

··• )o( •··

In the end, the thing about writing and money is that the writing has to come first. I don’t just mean that you must deliver the work before you can get paid; but also – and more importantly – that your choices must be driven first by creative impulses, not money. As a single mom, I know only too well the real-life necessity of including financial factors when deciding how to spend my precious time. However, I also know that consistently putting financial considerations before artistic ones is like building your own prison – each time you choose money over passion placing another brick in the wall.

Though I am deeply grateful for the writing life I have created so far, I do feel like I need to create some windows and maybe even a door or two in the walls of this structure. It’s scary to  think about removing pieces of what I’ve already built, but I know that unless I start blowing out some walls, the view will never change and I’ll never find the openings that lead to new and exciting spaces in my writer’s world. It will take a both intentional plotting and opportunistic pantsing to craft the next iteration of my writing life, and I’m excited about both parts of the adventure.

How about you?

.

What I’m Writing:

hello strangerI’m happy to report that I’m gently easing back into my morning journaling practice. It felt strange, after all those long weeks of absence, to return to the page. I felt like I was having coffee with a friend I hadn’t seen in a while. I was happy to be there, but felt slightly awkward and even a little guilty for the long time apart. I didn’t know what to say at first, but once I settled in, the rhythm of the words began to flow the way it used to. The comforting familiarity returned and I lost my inhibitions.

Since getting back to this routine, I have noticed that my other writing  – blog posts, columns, even client work – seems a little easier. It’s like the free-form nature of the morning pages has begun to untangle what was becoming a bit of creative gridlock in my head. The experience reminds me that we cannot work all the time. We must sometimes come to the page simply to play – to dabble and meander and muse aimlessly about everything and nothing. Otherwise, our minds become rigid and unyielding. Everything about our work tightens and closes up. This is not a good place to be, no matter what you are writing.

Do you have a warm-up or letting-loose routine that helps you clear your head and get the juices flowing? Have you ever fallen out of sync with that routine and started to feel the effects of the loss?

.

What I’m Reading:

book nightbirdI bought Alice Hoffman’s middle-grade novel Nightbird for my mom as part of her Mother’s Day gift. The film adaptation of Hoffman’s Practical Magic is one of my family’s favorite movies, so I thought that we might enjoy this contemporary fairytale set in a fictitious Massachusetts town not that different from the one we live in.

The tale had many of my favorite elements – magic, spells, a good witch, a small community, and even owls. There was a bit of mystery, a bit of history, and the touch of several romances strung out over the centuries.

This wasn’t a story that had me sitting on the edge of my seat, but I enjoyed it nevertheless. It was the comforting kind of read where you know that everything is going to turn out alright in the end, so you aren’t troubled if you have to set it aside for a few days. Things were, in fact, tied up a little too neatly at the end. Though I’m all for happy endings, the perfection of the way things worked out felt a little contrived. Though one might argue that this is appropriate for the intended reader (middle grade, not adult), I would counter that there are many middle grade books that handle difficult situations in a more realistic manner.

Despite the Hollywood ending, I enjoyed Nightbird.  It was a quick read that let me escape for a few hours to an idyllic town in rural Massachusetts – a place with pink apples, black owls, and a magical history.

.

.

A break from the blogs …

silent treatmentI took an unintentional break from blog reading this week. The pockets of time usually reserved for reading blog posts were spent on other things, mostly “real life” things. But, perhaps the pause in my blog consumption was well timed since it dovetails with the start of my friend Shanna Trenholm’s annual social media sabbatical – The Silent Treatment.

She hasn’t yet posted about this year’s time away from the Internet, but here is last year’s Silent Treatment announcement post, and here is her wrap-up of what she learned after last year’s second annual sabbatical.

I don’t know that I’m ready to unplug from social media completely, even if it’s only for a month, but I love the concept behind her time away from the noise of social media. Learning to not only exist, but to work amidst all that chaos and distraction is a serious challenge for writers. Maybe I could start small with a week or even just a few days away.

Have you ever taken a leave of absence from the digital life? How did you make it work? What differences did it make in your creative life? 

Finally, a quote for the week:

pin price of anything thoreau

Here’s to facing your (money) demons, getting to know yourself (again), and finding pockets of quiet amidst the (Internet) chaos.
.
Jamie Lee Wallace Hi. I’m Jamie. I am a content marketer and branding consultant, columnist, sometime feature writer, prolific blogger, and aspiring fiction writer. I’m a mom, a student of equestrian and aerial arts (not at the same time), and a nature lover. I believe in small kindnesses, daily chocolate, and happy endings. Introduce yourself on Facebooktwitter, Instagram, or Pinterest. I don’t bite … usually.
.

53 thoughts on “Weekend Edition – Writing and Money Plus Good Reads and Writing Tips

    • Thank you. I’m so glad you enjoyed it. 🙂
      Looking forward to the week ahead & hope you are, too!

  1. Some sound advice and nice to read how other writers manage. I’v just retired from my full time job though I’ve been writing for fifteen years so am just at the beginning of that transition. One way I feel refreshed is I meet with a fellow writer once a week in a coffee shop with our laptops. I can’t say enough about how this energizes my writing.

    • Congrats on your retirement & hooray for exciting new transitions. 🙂

      I would love to find the time and opportunity for a weekly meeting with a fellow writer – both to work in tandem and also to enjoy some conversation about the many facets of the writing life. The few times I have managed to enjoy such real world company (sometimes a personal friend, other times in a class setting), it has both energized and balanced me. I love how that kind of encounter reminds us in a very tangible way that we are not alone in our pursuits, but part of a great, “invisible army.” (Something I wrote about here: https://nhwn.wordpress.com/2015/05/23/weekend-edition-you-are-not-alone-plus-good-reads-and-writing-tips/)

      Thanks for that excellent add and for being part of my digital coffee date here on the blog.

      • Jamie, You might check out Nanowrimo in your local area. They often have in person write ins in the month of November which are a great way to meet writers you can then hook up with all year round. That’s how I found my current writing group.

      • Thanks, tahenryauthoress. 🙂

        I have participated in a few Nanowrimo events in my area. They were great fun, but I didn’t end up cultivating any long-term relationships. Great idea, though. I should also consider classmates from previous (and future!) classes at Grub Street Writers in Boston.

        Thanks for inspiring me!

  2. Thank you, Jamie, for a post that really spoke straight to my heart (and my own anxieties). And well done for creating a secure financial base for yourself and your daughter. But I also hear you about the danger that ‘consistently putting financial considerations before artistic ones is like building your own prison’. I hope you find the time and space to build a few windows and doors for your own favourite kind of writing projects.

    I have been working freelance since 2009. Some years I’ve had very little income, some years a very comfortable one. I do corporate training though, and that requires me to travel a lot, which has quite an impact on my writing (or lack thereof) as well as on my family. Although I do like the flexibility that my self-employed status gives me, as I look towards a future as a single mum I will (reluctantly) have to opt for the security of a full-time job. I dread to think what impact this will have upon my writing.

    Have fun with the morning pages and hope that your writing flows easily and freely!

    • The transition to being a single mum is fraught with decisions, big and small. I’m sorry you have to go through all of that, but I hope that you come out on the other side a stronger, happier person. I would not worry too much about a full-time job having a negative affect on your writing or ability to find time to write. I have often read, in fact, that people with more traditional jobs sometimes tend to have more time to dedicate to non-work writing. The sad truth for the self-employed is (as I’m sure you’ve experienced) that the work is never (ever) done. And, because we live with the constant threat of a dearth of work, we rarely (if ever) feel able to take time away from either getting the work done, or hustling to land the next gig. When you have a “regular” job, you have a better shot at actually “clocking out,” and giving yourself the gift of time that is truly separate from your work responsibilities.

      Thank you for being here, for your kind words, and for good wishes to build myself some doors and windows. Working on it!
      😉

  3. Pingback: Back to blogging… | amber amulets

  4. Your column spoke to my heart. I have worked a combination of part-time (teaching) and freelance (newsletter writing and editing and meeting minute taking) jobs for the last three years. The flexibility has allowed me to go to school meetings and take my son to tutoring and doctor appointments and fly to Florida every two months to assist my 92-year-old father. On the flip side, I worry about money and look forward to reading the resources outlined in your column. Thank you.

    • Balancing freedom, flexibility, and financial stability is a tricky task. I find courage in the realization that the “security” of traditional, 9 – 5 jobs is mostly an illusion. I figure that I may as well take the risk of the freelance lifestyle in order to earn the flexibility I crave, because I’m not really any “safer” in a full-time job.

      Sounds like you have a very busy life. I hope you find the right solution for your situation. Good luck!

  5. Loved this post Jamie! I’ve been thinking about freelance (casual/part-time- I need my safety blanket a bit longer) and before I dive, I’m trying to read and learn as much as I can and I thank you for the sources you cited and letting me in to those real life fears; and how you just keep moving forward.
    I can relate to your old-friend-you-haven’t-seen-in-a-while feelings about your journal. I have had a journal since I was seven and written with very little consistency. What I have found is, like you, after a bit, the familiarity settles in and you just go. I enjoy coming across an old journal and reading the sporadic entries. My own memories fill in the blanks and sometimes I learn a bit more of myself from the parts I didn’t write down.

    • So glad you found the post helpful, and happy to know I’m not the only long-time journal writer who sometimes falls off the wagon. 😉 I also love reading through old journal entries randomly. It’s always interesting what pops up unbidden from the past to guide us in the present.

  6. This has been an interesting read. For me the journey has been long and it sounds trite but the love of writing has always been more important than any income generated. It is my life but not my source of income. That in essence is why I could not accept a Journalism cadetship 1/2 a lifetime ago. I write for love of the craft. Hope you achieve your goals. A Great read!!!!

    • It doesn’t sound trite at all. Faye. 🙂
      Your comment actually raises a question that pops into my head every once in a while about whether a writer is better off to do work that has nothing to do with writing, in order to keep some division between work and art. It’s always a quandary that’s intrigued me. I suppose it’ll be a conversation for another time.

  7. Hi Jamie, I enjoyed reading your post and I agree the road is a tricky one which requires self conviction, persistence and some luck. I believe we can help the luck along by being persistent, but sometimes the self conviction can be a hard one so it always helps to know that others have self doubt too. As for life’s little pleasures too many people underrate their value, and in my experience the more money people have the less satisfied they seem to be and life ceases to be a delight in itself.

    • Conviction, persistence, and luck – that just about perfectly describes what a writer needs to succeed. 🙂

      And, I agree that most people do not fully appreciate life’s little pleasures. The older I get, the more I realize how little I actually need to be happy. It’s a good thing.

      Thanks for coming by.

  8. Terrific read. Thank you so much. I am a young writer who happens to be an older (old enough to be retired) human. I’ve made exactly $750.00 in the past two years from my writing. Like fellow blogger, Mallee Stanley, I finished a career and now have the pension cushion. Still, I find myself getting caught up in a kind of looking-backwards-guilt-trip. I ask myself, “why didn’t I write more when I was working?” It’s a useless question, and now, a ridiculous question. I’m writing. Now, I’m writing. And the upside is, for me at any rate, I don’t have to struggle financially. It’s an incredible weight off one’s shoulders. Thank you for a really thoughtful post.

    • Thank you, Paul, for bringing your perspective to the conversation. I know I’m late in responding, but I’m curious about why you have regrets about not writing more when you were working. Do they stem from a wish that you had developed your writing into a career, or that you would have liked to get more practice under your belt for your retirement writing, or something else? Though you’re right that it’s not a terribly useful thing to ponder things we might have done, but can’t do now, it’s still interesting.

      Your comment about the fact that you don’t have to struggle financially and how that’s an “incredible weight off one’s shoulders” is also something that could spin off into another whole conversation. I often wonder, as I have pondered about a bit in this post, how pressure affects the creative process.

      Lots to think about here. Thanks so much for sharing!

      • And thank you for your thoughtful response! I look back and wonder, I suppose “wonder” is the best word, why didn’t I use my time better regarding my development as a writer?
        I was an English prof in a small HBCU, Alcorn State U. I was a young white boy when I showed up in ’72, and a older white man when I left in 2010.
        I wrote plays in the 70s some of which were produced at Alcorn. It was fun! I went to a writing camp in Bennington Vt. in 78, I think.
        There I met Frederick Busch and Nicholas Delbanco, both of whom were wonderful teachers. I also got a chance to meet John Gardner, Bernard Malamud, and historian David McCullough. It was the best two weeks of my young life. But, I got caught up in my teaching career and always allowed the writing to slide. When I went back to school for my terminal degree in 93, I truly started my fiction writing career. I wrote story after story (I always hated critical writing.) and read many of them in coffee houses surrounded by undergraduates and young faculty. I was at Indiana University of Pennsylvania. I earned the PhD in lit and theory and hauled on back to Mississippi. I have written steadily from that point on, but I’ve often felt that I had wasted so much time. I don’t lose sleep over it, but when I read current articles exhorting young people to “follow their passion.” I think perhaps I didn’t do that.
        Now I also wonder if the advice is skewed. “Following one’s passion” doesn’t necessarily mean quitting the career that pays benefits and earns one a pension. Wallace Stevens is my hero in this case. He was VP of Hartford Insurance while writing some of the greatest poetry of the US. So I stand a bit conflicted, but again what’s the point? Maybe one point is to think about what we as writers “mean” when we say things to young writers such as “Follow your passion!”
        Again, thank you so much for listening!

  9. As a college student with no idea how she plans on making a living, this article is really comforting to me. I’ve always known that I wanted to make a living writing, but I’ve never really had to think about how that was suppose to happen until now. If it’s okay with you, I’d really love to share this article as a part of my next weekly link round-up!

    • Hi, Nicole. Very nice to have you here.
      Though I am many years out of college and didn’t study writing when I was there, I have sometimes wondered about how colleges and universities prepare writing students for the “real world.” Are there classes on how to make a living commercially while working on your art? Are there coordinated tracks that help new writers learn how to balance freelance life with writing, or when to take a full-time job? There are so many variations on the theme.

      I’m late responding to everyone’s comments, but please feel free to share any of my posts with your readers. I’m flattered.

      Thanks!

      • Thank you, Jamie!
        As a junior transferring in from a Community College, I’m actually a bit behind on my major-related classes. I’ll be starting at the end of this month.
        I know that my major-related classes all seem to be focused on improving my writing and expanding my job skills with classes like Consulting with Writers, Document Production, and Writing for the Web. There’s also an internship required for graduation, which I’m excited/nervous about, even though I have to wait till next year to do it. Overall, I am really optimistic about the opportunities and resources I’ve seen offered, and I’m just really excited to be finally going to my dream school.

  10. It’s good to sound….
    If anyone interested in short story please visit gtmdbr.wordpress.com there is my #passion #love ❤ and #your_heart ….
    😊 it’s beautiful WordPress world 😊

  11. Good stuff. I like the idea of journaling in the morning. Ever since I became a paid writer I find myself not writing for myself much anymore, despite all these “projects” I hope to one day accomplish. It somehow seems selfish to write for myself, and I always think, “I should be spending my time working on improving my paid craft.”

    But it’s true, spreading out writing in other forms does help get everything else going.

    • Yeah. I know that guilt well. 😉

      Taking the long-term view helps me get past the guilt so I can invest some precious time in writing that maybe isn’t generating income right now. For instance, even though I’m not making money as an essayist right now, the time I spend is an investment in my future capabilities. Without the time invested now, I won’t be ready later – so I have to take the long view and proactively plan ahead.

      Thanks for coming by & I hope you try (and enjoy!) morning page journaling.

  12. Great post, this really hit home for me. I often have many of the same feelings as you conveyed. It can be quite tiresome working a full time job and trying to break out in the edit get world. I ahsnt thought of pursuing copy blogging or other forms of writing and perhaps this is something I should look into. Thanks again

    • Thanks, Elizabeth.
      The Internet has opened up so many new avenues for writers. It’s really a great time to be a word nerd. 😉
      I’m glad if my post inspired you to expand your idea of the writing world. Good luck & have fun exploring!

  13. Wonderful and quite an inspiring read. I quit my job an year back, to take a plunge into something that my heart enjoys! Your write-up really lifted me up… 🙂

    • That’s fabulous. Congrats on taking the plunge. I hope your heart is still enjoying it, and am tickled to hear that this post lifted you up.

      🙂

  14. Thank you so much for bringing up the difficult parts of what many are trying to do and handling them so gracefully. I suppose what they say is true, you have to write because you love it. Then, everything else is just a bonus. I hope you get all of the bonuses, financial ones included!

    • Thank you for your well wishes. I’m happy to bring up the difficult parts. They need discussing and exploring so that they won’t be so difficult in the future.

      And, yes, we write because we love it, but it’s nice when we get those bonuses, too!
      😉

  15. Jamie, you are turning out to be true and honest source (with all due respect) of inspiration. I count you to be one of those who have inspired me in my life to do various good things in life. My love for my writing has deepen further more. I read a lot, but rarely came across a write-up which gives one an opportunity to live through the moments to what we call it as, writer’s whim and your blog truly ignites that spark.

    • Thank you for your kind and generous words. I am always touched to hear that something I’ve written has inspired someone, though I always remember that I am just sharing my own experience as I make my way on my own journey. The fun thing is the way our paths intersect, and each of us can learn from the others.

      Many thanks for your time to read and comment here.

  16. Showing up is a critical part.
    You are brave and will find a way to hang on to what you currently have and still look for additional possibilities. You never know if you don’t look. Be like the shark: constantly on the move looking for food or they decline.
    Chaos is also order. What is flexible and can adapt survives.
    Cheers for you!

    • So many juicy tidbits in your comment: “You never know if you don’t look” and “Be like the shark” and “Chaos is also order.” I feel all revved up now! 🙂

      I agree that each of us needs to be brave and flexible in order to adapt and survive. Uncertainty is scary, but is also teaches us to be resourceful. At the moment, I am mostly itching to start laying the groundwork for some new projects so that I’m not panicking at the last minute.

      Thanks, as always, for being here. Always a pleasure to “see” you.

  17. Pingback: Weekend Edition – Just Be Yourself. Yeah, Right. Plus Good Reads and Writing Tips | Live to Write – Write to Live

  18. An inspirational post! You tackle questions that I’m currently struggling with. Thanks for encouraging me to be the writer I want to be, regardless of the financial worries and strain. For too long, I’ve held back because of the uncertainty, but now I’m just tired of not moving forward. We all come to this place in our own time, usually when we’re ready deep down. It’s a matter of our hearts convincing our heads.

  19. Pingback: Weekend Edition – Getting Paid to Write, Part 1 [NSFW] | Live to Write – Write to Live

  20. Pingback: Friday Fun – What situations do you like to place your characters in? | Live to Write – Write to Live

Leave a Reply

