Friday Fun – Proudest Moment as a Writer

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: What – so far – has been your proudest moment as a writer. Or, if that’s too tough to narrow down, what’s your proudest “kind” of moment?

JME5670V2smCROPJamie Wallace: There are few moments that make me feel what I would define as “proud.” Most of the time when someone compliments my work or tells me how much it’s appreciated, I feel a mixture of gratitude and relief. I am grateful that someone understood what I was saying, enjoyed reading it, and appreciated the effort it took to get whatever it was down on the page. I am relieved that I didn’t screw up. I often feel a sense of accomplishment (and the corresponding contentment) when I complete a project, but it’s not exactly pride.

I feel pride related to my writing not so much because of what I’ve written, but because I’ve written at all. I feel a certain sense of pride in the fact that I have found ways to incorporate writing into my crazy life consistently and creatively since I was seven years old. It makes me proud when I manage to carve out a few hours each week to attend a writing class or work on a personal writing project. And, yes, I feel proud that I have built a writing-based business that has allowed me to earn my living for the better part of the last decade.

So, I guess the pride is in the process, not the product. And that’s just fine with me.

LisaJJackson_2014Lisa J. Jackson: I have two particular moments that stick in my mind. The first is an article I wrote about my passion for candlepin bowling for the high school newsletter. Loved seeing my writing ‘officially’ in print for the first time and knowing it was being read by more than my teacher and a handful of classmates. Part of what makes it leap to mind is the anxiety I felt when the newsletter was distributed. I was extremely quiet/shy and this moment made me feel as though I were standing on a stage, spotlight blinding me, and nowhere to turn. Terrifying yet thrilling at the same time. I’d been published!

The second moment was a lot less scary and about a decade later. It was when I say my first byline on an article in a local newspaper.

I still have both articles and each gives me a large sense of satisfaction. Actually, each new project I complete, whether my name appears on it now or not, makes me quite proud. And knowing the client is satisfied (or more than satisfied) with my work definitely keeps me smiling and striving for more similar moments!

 

14 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Proudest Moment as a Writer

  1. What Jamie says about the feeling not necessarily being “pride” but a kind of gratitude is what I experience when someone tells me that a post I wrote helped or inspired them. That means the most. A moment of real pride: the day the issue of Ladybug magazine with my story in it was sitting on the magazine shelf at Border’s bookstore. I kept walking back and forth past it and smiling. I’m such a weirdo.

  2. My proudest moment? Hmmm, I really need to divide the honor into two moments. The first is when, as a doctoral student, I read a story to a small audience at a lit gathering. My dissertation advisor, Karen Dandurand–a top rank Emily Dickenson scholar–was in attendance. She sat in the front row. She showed absolutely no emotion, no movement. She sat there with serious expression as I read on and on. After I finished, and everyone clapped and stood–it was the end of the program. She turned to me and said, “that was perfect.”
    Number two is when some years later “The Sun Magazine” sent me an email that stated they wanted to publish that same story. As with my advisor’s wonderful remark, I didn’t breath for a full minute. How satisfied I was with this activity called “writing.” And I love it still.

  3. I don’t have a single moment, but anytime I get a response something like, “Your words touched me,” or “That’s what I needed to hear today.” Knowing that my words and stories can make a difference keep my fingers on the keys and writing.

  4. My proudest moment as a writer was when I received a copy of my first book entitled “There’s a War Going On and You’re In It”. I just couldn’t believe that I had accomplished so much. Since that time I have had two more books published. It just makes me smile to be able to sit back, relax and read one of my books. I often try to think of how it started. I mean to literally put the pen to the paper and the words begin to form. Before you know it, you have a manuscript that you hope someone will read.

    • I thought my proudest moment came when opening the first box of books with my debut novel, Pandu. It was thrilling to see the fiction come to life. But an even greater thrill came when I received my first review from an unsolicited reader who gave my book an “all thumbs up.” I keep that review on top of my pile of rejections from literary agents.

  5. Proudest would have to be when my essay was published in a local paper and I saw my name on it.I was 12. Now as the years go by I never cease to marvel when I see something I have written in book form Beyond the Ashes – It was not about the writing and my name on it. It was the sheer joy of knowing it had been finished in my lifetime. So it is with Marranga-Limga to be published later this year. It’s no longer about my name or anything about the writing or whether anyone even likes it or them. It now about finishing a project. Life is fleeting now I write for the sheer joy of it and finishing is the icing on the cake. Getting it ‘out there’ is great but finishing is the greatest. If anyone values or appreciates them……that’s worth more than anything else..Most of my life I have written with no monetary consideration at all. I write because I write. Just as I breathe because its a necessity.

  6. This is such a great thing to talk about, to discuss with others, because it both shows us what we can look forward to and gives us a space to showoff a bit. My earliest moment to date was when my first article was published by my local newspaper after interning with them for a little while and my most recent moment was having my novel – Finding Hekate – picked up by a publisher.

  7. Pingback: Friday Fun – Proudest Moment as a Writer | justice948

Leave a Reply

