Weekend Edition- Not What I Meant to Write Plus Memoir Musings

This isn’t the post I was planning to write.

Make yourself a cup of something hot and tasty and sit back and relax.

Make yourself a cup of something hot and tasty and sit back and relax.

You know that feeling when your life is humming along at a good clip with things falling into place almost as if by plan and then, out of nowhere, you find yourself bumped off the rails by something outside your control, and everything grinds to a halt?

A week ago I naively shared my excitement about a goal setting/productivity app called Balanced. I still love this app, but I should have listened to my superstitious self who told me not to get overly confident about how well I was doing at fitting all my want-to-do’s and should-do’s into my day. I really should have known better. No sooner were the words published than I began to feel a little under the weather. By the time Monday rolled around, I was questioning my ability to make a client meeting in Boston on Wednesday never mind do my “balanced” journaling, yoga, and juicing. I made the meeting, but only just barely. Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday featured involuntary naps that sent project schedules spinning out of orbit, and Friday was mostly a wash as I stumbled through the day on fumes, having slept only four hours the night before.

Fun.

Perhaps ironically (I’ll never feel confident using that word since the world skewered Alanis Morrissette for applying it incorrectly in a song), today’s post was going to be about the beauty and joy of a place for everything and everything in its place. Instead, as I sit here sipping chamomile tea and sucking on a Burt’s Bees cough drop, I’m thinking less about order and organization and more about learning how to cut myself some slack.

··• )o( •··

A few years ago I had the opportunity to work with a personal coach to explore the roadblocks that routinely keep me from moving toward my creative goals. As part of a barter arrangement, she and I met via phone bi-weekly to talk about the circumstances and fears that were holding me back. Again and again, I berated and belittled myself, saying things like, “I just need to get off my ass” and “I don’t know what’s the matter with me.”

The coach called me on this bullshit.

She reminded me that a) there was nothing wrong with me, and b) I was “getting off my ass” each and every day as I juggled parenting, freelancing, housekeeping, writing, and myriad other responsibilities and tasks. I was definitely not sitting around eating bon-bons and watching reality TV all day, so why was I beating myself up?

··• )o( •··

Earlier this week, I read a She Writes post by Emily Lackey who shared similar self-doubt and derision about her need to sign up for a writing class in order to ensure she’d get the writing done:

Is it weird that I feel a tinge of shame about this? About paying hard-earned money to have someone hold me accountable to something I claim to love?

There are other things that I love that don’t take external motivators to keep me dedicated—my dog, my boyfriend, every single iteration of The Real Housewives. Why can’t I—like the real writer I imagine—get my shit together once and for all and write this collection on my own?

I hear you,  Emily.

··• )o( •··

As my energy drained out of me, the  voices in my head took up the all-too-familiar refrain of accusatory disgust. It was as if a big, mean me was kicking a small, sick me while she was down. At one point in my illness-induced exhaustion, my brain trotted out the scene from Black Beauty when the cruel carriage driver repeatedly whips the poor horse, even as it collapses in the mud, pelted by cold rain.

But, perhaps I’m being overly dramatic.

The point is, we tend to be harder on ourselves than we deserve.

I’m all for pushing myself and setting stretch goals and working hard to get things done and make things happen. But, I need to do a better job of knowing when it’s time to take five and give myself a chance to recuperate. I need to learn to feel better about asking for help. And I really need to stop judging myself with the heart of a miser.

Even though I clearly needed to rest this week, I felt guilty and ashamed for “slacking off.” Note to self: it’s not slacking off if you’re sick. Sometimes, life is going to throw you a curve ball. It’s going to upset your precious balance, and you need to just roll with it. Sometimes that means continuing your work despite more difficult or uncomfortable circumstances, and sometimes that means sitting yourself the hell down and putting your feet up for a minute.

··• )o( •··

There are lots of things that went undone this week, but that’s okay. In real life, there are ups and downs; there are super productive times and there are hanging-on-by-the-skin-of-your-teeth times. You need to work with the situation at hand and stop constantly blaming yourself for things that you can’t control. And for the love of all that’s holy, don’t hold yourself up to the same standards even when everything around you (including your own health) falls to pieces. Taking it down a notch now and then doesn’t make you a lazy person or an impostor. And plowing ahead even when what you really need is some TLC does not make you a better writer. It makes you a sicker, more tired writer.

The cold & flu season is coming. The holidays are coming. There are bound to be plenty of days that aren’t going to afford you the time, energy, or head space to do what you hoped to accomplish. Do me a favor and give yourself a break. Instead of berating yourself for lacking the strength, discipline, or dedication to keep on keeping on, remind  yourself that everyone (and I mean everyone) needs a break sometimes. When the Universe sends you a curve ball, think of it as an invitation to step back and indulge in a little self care. Instead of whipping yourself through to the other side of whatever adversity you’re facing, try nursing yourself there. I guarantee the outcome will be better in every way.

.

Shareworthy:

I don’t usually read a lot of memoirs, but this week, I listened to two memoirs on Audible. Both authors are unique, quirky women who carry banners for freedom of self-expression in their own way.

book felicia dayFelicia Day is known as the “queen of the geeks.” Hers is a rags to riches story that begins with an unorthodox home-schooled childhood, includes her rise as a violin protege, and ends with her finding herself and success on the Internet.

Though I enjoyed learning more about Day, I felt that – compared to other memoirs I’ve read and loved (Bossypants by Tina Fey and Yes, Please by Amy Poehler), Day’s book, You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost), was a little more self-focused. That may sound weird and obvious (it is a memoir, after all), but there was something more inclusive about the way Fey and Poehler wrote their stories.

Even so, I liked some of what Day wrote about the difficulty of the writing process,

I had no confidence in myself. I was a fraud. Who was I to pick up a pen and expect anything good to come out of it? I expected perfection as soon as the pencil hit the paper, and – since that’s impossible – I couldn’t get myself to start. Then, I felt guilty about not starting, which made me want to start even less.

And, then about the perspective that helped her to move forward with more consistency,

Something inside me snapped. I woke up at 3:54 AM with a full-on panic attack and a huge epiphany: I was going to die someday. I was going to end. And I know you can say that to yourself a million times … but you can’t understand something unless you feel it, deep in your bones. For some reason that night, I felt it. A vivid terror gripped me. I was mortal and I was going to die … if I didn’t do something with my life right now, the totality of Felicia Day would add up to nothing.

Nothing like a little mortality to light a fire under your butt, right?

book furiously happyFuriously Happy – A Funny Book About Horrible Things is Jenny Lawson’s second memoir. I thoroughly enjoyed her first book, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, so picking this one up was a no brainer.

Lawson (aka The Bloggess) lives with depression, anxiety, and a host of other disorders. She has been blogging since before blogging was cool and, in addition to writing her books, she spends her time bantering with her 450,000 Twitter followers and starting movements like The Traveling Red Dress.

In short, she’s pretty damn awesome.

Furiously Happy is a brave book, a silly book, a laugh-out-loud book, an insightful and touching book, an irreverent book. Lawson jumps back and forth between Steven Wright-like observations about the world and deeply vulnerable and empathetic confessions about what it’s like to live with depression. Lawson manages this incredibly difficult balancing act with a grace that is both surprising and delightful.

There are plenty of passages in this book that I would not let my eleven year-old daughter listen to, but when she gets a little older, I will encourage her to read the entire book. Twice. Lawson gives readers a unique and unexpected perspective that is at once terrifying and comforting. And, perhaps most importantly, she does it in a way that lets you know you’re not alone – we’re all in this together. Highly recommended.

.

And let’s not forget the blogs. Here are a few of my favorite writerly posts from this week:

 .

Finally, a quote for the week:

pin compassion buddha

Be well. Take care of yourself. 
.
Jamie Lee Wallace Hi. I’m Jamie. I am a content marketer and branding consultant, columnist, sometime feature writer, prolific blogger, and aspiring fiction writer. I’m a mom, a student of equestrian and aerial arts (not at the same time), and a nature lover. I believe in small kindnesses, daily chocolate, and happy endings. Introduce yourself on Facebooktwitter, Instagram, or Pinterest. I don’t bite … usually.
.

50 thoughts on “Weekend Edition- Not What I Meant to Write Plus Memoir Musings

  1. Stuff happens. Awhile ago I ended up with some tendinitis that was so bad I couldn’t type for a couple of weeks and have had to limit my time at the keyboard. I am terminally behind on everything. Other than that life is good.
    Take care of yourself.

    • Oh, I wish I was cured of my habit of beating myself up. I’m afraid it’s a longer road to travel than a few coaching calls, and I’m miles away from being a poster child for self care. BUT … I did make some small strides, and being inspired to write about it once in a while reminds me to check in and make sure I’m not doing too much back sliding. 😉
      Thanks!

  2. Sometimes the posts we didn’t “mean” to write end up being the most powerful and though-provoking. Thank you for sharing, and for providing such wonderful recommendations! Have a lovely weekend.

    • I’ve also found that to be true. 🙂
      This is certainly just the tip of the iceberg, but it’s one worth exploring.

      Glad you liked the recommendations and hope you get to enjoy some of them!
      Thanks for being here.

    • Exactly. It’s often said that there are no failures, just unexpected outcomes. And, if we are smart, we can learn from every experience – even the ones that we perceive as having gone badly.

      Loved the Shakespeare quote in your post – very appropriate.

      Thanks!

  3. I am apparently not so hard on myself–anymore. Since becoming retired I am writing voluminously and enjoying down time when it comes along and stopping when my body insists. Less wear and tear and more productivity work out well.The downside is that it took me so many decades to get this idea–work, work, work around the clock at home and in my paid career. Then a heart attack at 51. I finally got it…a little. Now: unbridled joy in writing, in life. Yes, we DO face an expiration date and I;’ms staying alive and active and content as long as I can. Thanks for the good post and best regards!

    • The older I get, the more I realize that the whole work-work-work thing isn’t really … umm … working. Being a Type-A from Yankee New England, I’m somewhat predisposed to a life approach that’s all about getting things done and over-performing; but when I stop and really pay attention to what makes a real difference in my life, it’s not the working all the time or the “gold stars.”

      I am sorry that you had to go through the scary and painful experience of a heart attack, but it sounds like maybe it was – in the big picture – a positive influence on your life. “Unbridled joy in writing” is a pretty good prize. 😉

      Thanks for being here and for sharing. Here’s to less wear and tear – more unbridled joy.

      • Yes, I get that Type A “nonsense” (in the worst sense) so well…and hope for the best good fortune for you as you re-calibrate your own unique balance. Heart disease is in my family and for me a culmination of not only genetics but stressors (and smoking..as a destressor…egads!). We all have moments when things swing from one point to another opposite one; this was one of several for me. Then we get to redesign ourselves/ lives to provide for maximum fulfillment. If we are fortunate to be able to do so, it is a giant step in the right direction. Thanks for replying. Look forward to reading more of you pieces.

      • I love the idea of being able to “redesign ourselves.” Too often we assume that we are who we are – that we’re “done” (as in, fully baked), when in fact we are always able to adapt and even evolve. It can be hard when everything (and everyone) in the world seems to be pushing you to remain the person you are, but each of us has the ability to reinvent ourselves and our lives – it just takes a little courage (which is often administered via a life-changing event). I’m glad your trauma turned into such a positive change for you!

  4. I just told someone in writer’s group Thursday night that I’m never satisfied with anything I do. If we could only learn to extend the same grace to ourselves that we extend to others.

    • I know. I wish I could remember the name of the woman who likened negative self-talk to yelling at and shaming a child. She suggested that people imagine their inner writer/artist as a child who has made you something and is offering it to you with excitement, pride, and a little trepidation. And then, you tell this child – this inner artist who is part of you – how awful it is, how stupid they are for trying, how hopeless their dreams are. Ouch. It really put the behavior in perspective for me. I don’t always succeed, but I tryu now to respond to my own creative efforts the way I respond to my daughter’s – with encouragement, support, and deep appreciation. It’s not easy to gift ourselves with this kind of response, but it feels amazing when it works.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  5. I don’t know how to set priorities when something is telling me I should be doing something else when I am doing this like I should be cutting out a scarf for sewing. However I beat my head in for not writing more. It could be a little OCD. I can’t balance the playing music, sewing,and writing. Some day I’ll be able to set a time for each.

    • It is difficult (sometimes feels impossible) to make time for ALL the creative things we want to do in our lives. I am happiest when I’m not trying to shoe horn activities into a preset schedule, or even keeping tally of how much I did this one vs. that one. (Although, being totally Type-A and a lover of spreadsheets, that kind of planning and measurement is my default behavior.) I am happiest when I have a day or even a small space of time with no agenda at all – no intended outcome – no expectations. I love it when I am able to pull away all the shoulds and all the checkboxes and all the worrying about whether what I’m doing will “amount to anything,” and instead just enjoy the process – the in-the-moment experience of the doing. That’s the best. 🙂

      Thanks for being here.

  6. Oh, thank you, thank you, thank you! I do this all the time – berate myself for being lazy, unproductive, unsuccessful, unbalanced, instead of just saying: ‘I’m human, and sometimes I just can’t do anymore and that’s OK.’ That’s just what I needed to hear today! Have a lovely weekend and bless you!

    • Hello, Marina! It’s been a while. 🙂
      You’re so very welcome.
      Seems like most of us fall into this tricky trap, and it’s not a fun place to be … especially if you think you’re the only one sitting there in the pit … all by yourself. Clearly, that’s not the case. We all tend to give ourselves a hard time, but the more I learn about it, the more I realize that punishing ourselves for things we haven’t done (or things we haven’t done as well as we’d hoped) is not the answer. You can’t help a flower to bloom by yelling at it and telling it how stunted and ugly it is. Same applies to our inner artists, who need encouragement, play, and permission to find their own way in their own time.

      I’m willing to bet that you are anything but lazy and unproductive, and I hope you can cut yourself some slack and just enjoy the process.

      Hope you have a lovely weekend, too. Thank you for coming by!

    • I highly recommend naps. 😉
      Seriously. Naps are awesome. When I’m feeling overwhelmed, a twenty-minute nap can be just the thing to reduce my frustration to a very tiny voice that I can easily ignore.

      Good luck with your project, and thanks for taking the time to be here.

    • Ahhh … NaNoWriMo. It is a beast of contractions. Having done it before, each year I face the decision of whether or not to participate. This year, I decided against it, but I’m still cheering on my fellow writers who have taken the plunge.

      The thing with NaNoWriMo is that I don’t think you have to hit 50K words to win. Sometimes, the best part of participating is about the people you meet, the ideas you explore, and the things you learn about your own working process. Though I crossed the finish line my first time out in 2009, that was the least of my accomplishments. It was more important to me that I learned a bit about what kind of writer I am – NOT a pantster.

      Enjoy the experience and remember to keep your mind open to all the other riches that may be part of your journey, not just the words piling up. 😉

      Good luck & thanks for taking a minute out to share here.

      • I am also doing Nano and predictably got sick the week before it started, meaning I didn’t finish the one piece of research I needed to do this year and that I was behind to start Nano. But I was so proud of myself for being so kind to myself about it. Then this morning I realized, reading your post, I might have been kind to myself while I was sick but I was totally beating myself up now for being kind to myself then. LOL.
        “I’m thinking less about order and organization and more about learning how to cut myself some slack.” My favorite quote from this blog.

      • Confession: I was doing much the same thing this morning. As I faced the pile of behind-the-eight-ball projects that my self-care of last week created, my inner task master rapped me on the knuckles and gave me a told-you-so speech. I almost fell for it. 😉

        Hope you have a great week!!

  7. I can’t believe ……well amazing writers like you too experiencing this bizarre situation to write your blog….. I hope that you feeling better now…. I’m not having age to greet you, but as a fan I’m saying congratulations for your next post..that should be possessed by your gratitude.. All the best…..

    • Thank you for your kind words.
      ALL writers experience these situations and challenges. The fear, doubt, and indecision that you encounter in your writing are the same as the fear, doubt, and indecision encountered by the writers whose books live on the New York Times bestseller list. That part of the writing process doesn’t go away, no matter how “amazing” or successful you are. I read quotes all the time from revered writers who admit freely that they are always worried about the next thing and never feel like they’ve got things figured out. That’s the nature of art … and why it’s called “art” and not “science” – there’s no single formula that you can use to make something work. It’s a journey every time.

      Good luck with your journey, and thanks for being here.

  8. I’m just take a modest painkiller due to suffering caused by ferocious head nodding…….OK that’s done….Firstly I too hope you are ‘on the mend’ from bugs. Secondly don’t worry about writing schedules, targets, ‘must do lists’, they can cause creative indigestion. Over the years I picked up a couple of phrases/ sayings which I keep ready: (A) Just keep on keeping on (B) Once in a dark place and when asked by an older & wiser one how I was doing I said with grim humour ‘surviving’ and he replied ‘Survival is good’ (C) Your writing is your world. You can live it as you wish (can’t recall who told me that). Finally thanks for a most entertaining, post it’s given me inspiration and a few more books to add to my book list.
    Best wishes
    Roger

    • “Creative indigestion” … I LOVE that!! 🙂
      And thank you for the other bits of wisdom as well. They remind me that it’s the doing that’s important, not the outcome. It doesn’t matter so much what happens with the work, as long as you keep on keeping on, right? If you can survive – if you can keep doing what you love … THAT’s the prize. That’s what will serve you in the long run and help you create the live you love.

      Lots to think about. Thanks so much for sharing & I hope you enjoy the books!

  9. Sorry to hear the bug tripped you up. I’ve learned the only way not to beat myself up is to make 2 lists – what ‘must’ I do and what does my ambitious self want to accomplish. Then I compare, contrast and whittle as I contemplate the time and energy the items on the lists require. Finally I am able to make a ‘what’s reasonable’ list. Many times I don’t even meet all the items on the reasonable list, but this process greatly reduces my sense of ‘failure to accomplish’c

    • What a great way to prioritize your day. I’m curious – which list do your self care items end up on? One of the challenges I often face is my default decision to put everyone else’s stuff ahead of my own. Client work, family stuff, my daughter’s activities, my boyfriend, favors for a neighbor … pretty much everything gets in line ahead of “my” things (like reading, writing, even taking a nap). Do you ever find yourself in that predicament?

      I am definitely going to start playing around with your idea of the “must do” vs. the “stretch” goals for the day. I really like that idea & can see how it would create some headspace in your day. Excellent!
      Thanks for sharing. So nice to “see” you! 🙂

      • That does seem to be the natural tendency – putting our self-needs last. Even when they are on the ‘must do’ list, they often get postponed. Just keep putting at least one self-care item on that list – even starting with something like ‘shower’ or ‘clip nails’ or ‘write 10 minutes’ elevates you to the same priority as other ‘must do’s’. Eventually your self-priority for more meaningful time doesn’t seem so ‘selfish’ and will make it to the ‘must do’ list.

        We tend to discount the time/energy for traffic, ‘quick’ stops at grocery stores, laundry etc. I put it all on the list because it gives you a better sense of why your days are taken up by ‘must do’s’ and feel stressful. I find by listing these time sucks, I don’t fight them as much and sometimes even see them as valuable to ‘the whole’.

        Bottom line – we’re talking about staying in the moment for what that moment is rather than focusing on everything that’s yet to come. Somehow the lists resulting in ‘reasonable’ helped me reduce my daily stress and appreciate the mundane time sucks.

      • All great observations and insights. Thanks (again). 🙂
        I’ve found that even just doing the tiny self care things on the list (and making sure they happen) can make a big difference in my mindset and mood. Also, I calendar EVERYTHING so that I’m forced to be realistic about all the things I’m trying to cram into my day AND how long they will actually take. I still screw up and underestimate now and then, but when I have to block it out in my calendar, I find that I’m much less likely to overlook a time suck completely. 😉

        … I’m not touching the guilt thing with a ten-foot stick … at least not today. That’s another whole can of very wiggly worms!

  10. Duuuuuuude I totally got this and I completely cracked up because I felt the same … How could I say I loved doing something so much, that it gave me “the juice” I needed when half of the time I needed to battle life to scrape up the time to make it happen. Writer’s life indeed…writer with kids. This was a good post, even if it wasn’t what you planned. Plus! Plus! Thanks for introducing Lawson, I hadn’t heard about her, going to check out the book 🙂

    • LOL – and you cracked me up.
      The writer’s life is a crazy hodge-podge, isn’t it? Never what we expected.

      I’m so happy to be able to “introduce” you to Lawson, and I hope you enjoy her books. I have rarely come across a writer who is so accessible and authentic while being so damn hilarious. Love her! Enjoy!

      PS – Nice to “see” you. It’s been a while 🙂

  11. What timely advice for me! I am working on my Masters degree and my major project is a travel narrative. Having set out on the trip I’m writing about I felt full of confidence. It was a little travelled part of the world and not much has been written about it. I would break that drought. But on my return the doubts have set in. Who was I to be writing a book? What do I know? To overcome the inertia that seized me, I decided to do my own NaNoWriMo. And for the first four days I was beautifully on track. But our bathroom suddenly needed some renovations and that has taken up my time. So I missed a couple of days. No problem, I’d make it up. Then I came down with a vomiting bug and that has wiped me out. I feel bad that I’m going to spend much of the day resting not writing (after I’ve done the chores I must do. There are 5 people living in this house). To quote Pema Chodron: “The most difficult times for many of us are the ones we give ourselves “.

    • So sorry you’re down and out with such a nasty bug. Those are the worst! (I hope you’re on the mend super soon!)

      I love Pema Chodron, and that quote is a great one – deceivingly simple, but so full of insight and “ohhhh!” after you let it sink in.

      You are certainly (in addition to the bug you got) battling two devious demons – the self-doubt and the guilt. Both are tricky to manage, but I think the Chodron quote you chose can help with both. It reminds me to step back and remember that my experience is something I create through my reaction to what’s happening around me. If I can change my reaction, I change my experience. You have every right to write your book. In fact, you are the only person who can write Your Book. 😉 And, as for falling behind, I am learning (slowly, but surely) that expectations are often our biggest weakness. When we expect that things will go a certain way, we are setting ourselves up for failure (and disappointment) before we even begin. It’s a tough lesson to learn, but when we can approach a task without expectations, we leave ourselves open to “wins” that feel like gifts.

      Good luck & feel better. Thanks for sharing!

  12. Understand and relate to this post, Jamie! Loving that you share posts you’ve read that relate to this topic. This past year has been insane for me – a major move, a non-curable cancer diagnosis for my spouse, my youngest needing assistance prepping and being sent off to college. Between having my regular writing routine interrupted, adjustment to relocation, caregiving, and being forced into a part time job because of medical expenses as well as grappling with having an empty next…well, there have been many, many weeks of NON-writing going on. This has led me to feel guilty, question my ability to be a “real” writer, especially when I read stories about writers who’ve somehow weathered through life challenges and yet still managed to write their books. Negative thinking, pure and simple. Because I can’t write the way I think I should be writing (sitting down calmly in my office for 2-3 hours – minimum – of uninterrupted zen-like writing), I berate myself. I think, “You’re jaded. You can’t do this under these conditions.”
    What I NEED to say to myself goes something like this: ” I WILL write my novels. I AM a writer, even when I can only do it in short spurts because of responsibilities or because of sheer mental and physical exhaustion. It WILL happen – in its own good time. Just because you don’t have total control over WHEN doesn’t equate NEVER. Period.”
    Yeah, we do need to practice self-support. Thanks for the reminder and for sharing your own struggle with this.

    • Wow, Laura. You do have a lot on your plate – logistically, but more importantly – emotionally. I’m sorry you’re having to go through all of this. Self-care is even more important in a situation like yours where you need to be caring for others. It’s like that old saying about putting your own oxygen mask on first. (A quote we like to repeat, but not necessarily follow.)

      When I am going through a particularly challenging or distracting time, I try to remind myself that writers are writers even when they are not writing. So much of our work is done before we ever put down a single word – it’s in how we experience everything, how we observe and process, it’s in the way we make mental connections between what’s happening to us and what’s happening in our stories. So, even when I’m unable to put pen to paper or fingers to keyboard, I know I’m still writing – it’s all part of the larger process.

      And you’re so right – “not right now” is not the same as “never.” Definitely not. 😉

  13. Ah, Jamie. I saw this quote the other day:
    If you listen to your body whisper, you will not need to listen to it scream.
    So, so true. I think, like our 10 minute writing and yoga sessions, regular 10 minute rest sessions throughout the day are like gifts.
    As for the way we treat ourselves…yep. Imagine if our child or our best friend came to us saying they didn’t feel well and we responded to them in the way we respond to ourselves? We wouldn’t have many friends 😊
    I hope you’re rested and feeling better this week xo

  14. Reblogged this on Emily Arden, author and commented:
    This is a brilliant post from Jamie Lee Wallace. Some of this is so similar to my own reflections recently. Even if we have days or even weeks when we don’t achieve the things we planned, we need to not beat ourselves up about it… We do more than we realise…
    I particularly liked this quote:
    “b) I was “getting off my ass” each and every day as I juggled parenting, freelancing, housekeeping, writing, and myriad other responsibilities and tasks. I was definitely not sitting around eating bon-bons and watching reality TV all day, so why was I beating myself up?”

  15. Pingback: Take a Writing Class with Steve Martin | Live to Write – Write to Live

Leave a Reply

