When You Feel Like Quitting… Consider This

You work hard toward your writing and business goals.

You spend time on the big picture and getting daily tasks done.

You make strides, you celebrate milestones, and you continue working and building your dream.

But there are hiccups and stumbles along the way.

And sometimes, whether it’s a bad day, a tough client, a technology snafu, or some other “last straw,” you might think about quitting and walking away.

Success isn’t always a breeze — if it was easy, everyone would succeed at whatever they tried. Success takes works.

If (or when) you find yourself thinking about quitting and moving onto something different, think about why you started.

Go back to the spark. What was it that started you on your current path? Take some time to remember how it felt, how inspired and fired up you were. Remembering that first spark might help you refocus and keep moving forward today.

Robin Sharma said, “When you feel most like giving up is when you most need to keep going on.” I think it’s usually at this moment, the moment right before saying “I quit”, when you make the most critical decision.

I experienced this unadulterated moment years ago and I can put myself back in that moment in an instant.  I was climbing Mount Washington in NH, making good time, enjoying the beautiful day, the exercise, the challenge.

Then I got above treeline and fog moved in. I couldn’t see anything. I lost track of the markers on the stone and I only knew I was still climbing because of the incline, but I had no sense of how far I was from the summit or the tree line. Totally lost and blind. After a couple of discouraging and frustrating hours, I reached the point where I was absolutely done. I didn’t want to think, I didn’t want to move, I was just done trying. I’d been pushed beyond my limits and wanted to curl up and hide until life was easy again.

I sat down on a boulder and said, “I quit.”

And it turned out the universe was teaching me a lesson.

No sooner had I uttered those 2 words of defeat, the fog lifted and blue sky appeared. But not only that, I was seated beside the tracks for the Cog railway (which leads directly to the summit). But not only THAT, I was literally sitting a few feet below the summit house.

I had achieved my goal after all. I was at the summit of the mountain. I did it all under my own power, and yet, because I felt lost, because I had lost my focus, because I didn’t push just a little bit further, because I couldn’t see what was right in front of me, I quit.

I had a goal. I prepared and planned. I executed on the goal. I took one step at a time toward my goal.

But then challenges popped up, and I got tired, then frustrated, then angry. Instead of stopping to refocus, remember what started me up the mountain to start with, take a breath, and come up with a new plan of attack, I went with the easiest choice – quit.

Now, whenever I feel the word “quit” moving into my thoughts, I go back to that moment on the mountain and I have to say, I have never regretted taking one more step toward my goal – writing, business, personal, or otherwise – being so close to quitting is when you need to push just a little further, a little harder, and with a little more determination.

Edison_quote

Wishing you the greatest success with your writing and your business dreams!

Have you ever regretted taking one more step, pushing just a little harder toward your business goals?

Lisa_2015Lisa J. Jackson is an independent writer and editor who enjoys working with manufacturing, software, and technology businesses of all sizes. She loves researching topics, interviewing experts, and helping companies tell their stories. You can connect with her on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedI

26 thoughts on “When You Feel Like Quitting… Consider This

  1. This post reminds me of a poem I had to memorize for an Easter program when small. I was messing up on the lines. I heard myself say out loud, I’m not going to quit and immediately I could remember the rest of the lines. The poem is entitled:
    “Don’t Quit”
    When things go wrong, as they sometimes will,
    When the road you’re trudging seems all uphill,
    When the funds are low and the debts are high,
    And you want to smile, but you have to sigh,
    When care is pressing you down a bit-
    Rest if you must, but don’t you quit.
    Life is queer with its twists and turns,
    As every one of us sometimes learns,
    And many a fellow turns about
    When he might have won had he stuck it out.
    Don’t give up though the pace seems slow –
    You may succeed with another blow.
    Often the goal is nearer than
    It seems to a faint and faltering man;
    Often the struggler has given up
    When he might have captured the victor’s cup;
    And he learned too late when the night came down,
    How close he was to the golden crown.
    Success is failure turned inside out –
    The silver tint in the clouds of doubt,
    And you never can tell how close you are,
    It might be near when it seems afar;
    So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit –
    It’s when things seem worst that you must not quit. (Anonymous)

  2. I do like this in your post – even though you didn’t give up, you did sit down for a moment. Sometimes that’s important. When it all seems too much and you want to quit, just sit for a moment and take a good look around. Things often get clear in that moment and gives you the strength to keep moving on.

  3. Thanks for the encouragement. I’ve been wanting to quit on so many things – my writing and life – this past week. I’m taking this week off just so I can rethink my goals and REST before I move on.

  4. This was such a great post! Sooooooooo timely. The universe sent me a message when I ran into your blog post. So needed to hear something like this from someone other than myself. I can usually keep myself going but things have been slipping through the cracks. What a great quote. Thanks for the pep talk.

  5. A lot of people don’t care or realize quitting is something you can succeed in and it takes a lot of motivation and inspiration towards them to let them know they can do it and how good it will feel after feeling accomplished. I know when I was in highschool ,I felt like giving up and not being able to finish what I started.But,everyone kept telling me that I wasn’t gonna graduate or putting negative things in my mind ! So , after my freshman year I decided to change myself and work harder and through the rest of my highschool years of stress, pain and what not ,I finally got to walk across the stage on my special night and made everyone wrong for doubting me all this time and it felt good knowing I finished something big in my life and never knew I would end up where I was that day 🙂

  6. I really needed this today! I have recently begun pursuing my writing and I am not receiving the support that I hoped for. I have truly thought about giving up today. Your blog was just what I needed today. Thank you!

  7. “I think it’s usually at this moment, the moment right before saying “I quit”, when you make the most critical decision”.

    “Then I got above treeline and fog moved in. I couldn’t see anything. I lost track of the markers on the stone and I only knew I was still climbing because of the incline, but I had no sense of how far I was from the summit or the tree line. Totally lost and blind”.

    My favorite lines………I enjoyed reading. Thanks for sharing.

  8. I have to say, yes, I have regretted pushing harder and taking one more step for my career in mental health and addiction tx. services. Although I developed a whole treatment program and loved provideing srvices for clients, the fit was wrogn and the boss was more worng and I finally had to let go and bow out. Quite diScouraging. But then I retired, a bit early, yet that was a good move so I could writer very day and engage in other creative work more readily.

  9. Pingback: When You Feel Like Quitting… Consider This | Ledarutveckling

  10. You are very inspiring. This post made me realize how many times I started projects and didn’t follow through. A lot of times, I have ideas in my head that I will think about for days and either don’t write it down and forget or just never do whatever it is that I want to get done. You have inspired me and I will remember this post when I have new endeavors and keep it in mind when something or someone gets in the way of success. THANK YOU!

  11. Pingback: When You Feel Like Quitting… Consider This | forthem

  12. Pingback: When You Feel Like Quitting… Consider This | blogpostcenter

Leave a Reply

