Overhelmed and Not Finding Answers? Maybe a Change of Venue Can Help

This post is prompted by this image I came across on Facebook the other day:

AnswerMayNotBeAtBeach

As I’m actually at a beach this week, it seemed timely.

But it’s also relevant to how there are times when work is so piled up or a project is so challenging that we’re stymied with how to proceed.

And when I get stuck, or stymied, my frustration level tends to rise and nothing good comes from getting upset – I know my mind seems to stop trying to solve the quandary instead of resolving it, at least.

A change of scenery generally does the trick. Sometimes it’s as simple as walking out to the end of the driveway and back. Simply stepping out the door, taking a few deep breaths, realizing the issue isn’t all that complicated to solve, and a few steps (literally) away from where the tension was mounting can kick ideas free.

Anything that gets oxygen circulating and endorphins kicking up their heels, is a good thing.

Of course we can’t always hop on a plane and go to a nice beach to ‘escape reality’ for a while, but the concept is one to keep in mind.

For me, the beach is a great getaway – virtually or in person. Your perfect place may be the mountains, the lake, a foreign country, your garden, a park — whatever it is, if you find yourself stuck or struggling and need a break, get to that place if you can.

A different perspective can shake answers free — and fresh air never hurts any one, right?

Being at a New England beach in December is a bit on the chilly side, but I can’t think of anything better (for me) than walking on the beach any time of the year to get me back to being grounded. November was crazy-busy for me (in a good way), and although I’m working while ‘away’, knowing the beach is right outside my door is comforting in a way my home is not.

So, the beach may not have the answers, but it certainly doesn’t hurt to check!

Where is your getaway location?

Lisa_2015Lisa J. Jackson is an independent writer and editor who enjoys working with manufacturing, software, and technology businesses of all sizes. She loves researching topics, interviewing experts, and helping companies tell their stories. You can connect with her on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn.

9 thoughts on “Overhelmed and Not Finding Answers? Maybe a Change of Venue Can Help

  1. I believe that change of location, atmosphere and climate do wonders for the mind, body and soul. Being stagnated kills creativity, positive energy and general sense of well being. My getaway location? Anywhere warm and nothing is a must and everything is possible with laid back atmosphere and time stands still.

    • Larry, I read your post and I’m glad there’s scientific evidence! writers getting away sounds a bit like a romantic view of what writing and writers require for inspiration, at worse a self-serving myth. We have no Starbucks here in Italy, I’ll feel less guilty next time I feel the urge to take a train somewhere to hide out in a b&b for a day or two to recharge on ideas and characters

  2. I don’t think it’s a change of location per se. Rather, it’s more of just following through on the Eureka Principle. Stuck? Can’t resolve something? Just walk away. It’ll surface on its own later. It could be a four mile run up and down hills. It could be twenty years of time. Me, when I’ve got no more to say, I just walk away. That’s it.

Leave a Reply

