Friday Fun – Which of the Four Seasons Is Your Most Creative?

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: Do you find yourself more creative in one season more than another? Do you see any creative difference between spring, summer, winter, or fall when it comes to your writing?

Lisa_2015Lisa J. Jackson: I don’t think I’m more creative at one time of year versus another, but perhaps the type of fiction writing I do varies each season. For instance, it’s easier to write light, fun, and cheery stories during the warm months and write my darker fiction and psychological thriller stories during the winter months when it’s cold and bitter and dark for so long every day. Of course all my fiction writing is in partnership with my muse, so if she has a seasonal preference, that turns out to be mine too!

Self portrait at Storm King, October 2014. www.deborahleeluskin.com

Self portrait at Storm King, October 2014.
http://www.deborahleeluskin.com

Deborah Lee Luskin: Like Lisa, I think the ways in which I’m creative vary from season to season, but not the fact of being creative itself. At this point, it’s mostly a matter of sitting down at my desk, staying on the job.

.

.

.

.

photo of Julianne HolmesJulie Hennrikus/Julianne Holmes:  This is a great question. Like my friends, I think I am creative all year long. But I buckle down more in the winter. Summer is summer.  Fall is always busy with school, seasons starting, etc. Spring is a week long in New England. So winter is my “time”. I knit more (part of my creative process), I bake, and I write. I guess that makes me a winter gal, which is good, since I have a book due late spring!

 

17 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Which of the Four Seasons Is Your Most Creative?

  1. Well, when I think over it I see that all the seasons go with creativity in me. But winter has its own magic. Few days before I was sitting near the hedge watching over the scene and then there was an outburst of ideas. I got three ideas to apply in my books. I started writing and ended up confused which one to start first. Finally, I wrote them down separately on paper and one by one am working on them. Happy Winter!

  2. I can’t say I can. I can however see the difference between lack of sleep, stressed, agitated or restless and those days when I feel okay. I am more creative during hard and dark times. The more painful, the better I write.

  3. I really can’t put a finger on it considering I am not the best of being creative. However when I do become creative its at night, early crack of dawn, can’t sleep type of way and that is when my pen begin to take a course of its own!

  4. I love this time of the year, Christmas. I have such a long break between school semesters and I love to bake and read. I feel as though I become ten more times creative when I am baking and that is why I love this season!

  5. Autumn is my best time for sustained writing. I live in the rural South where we claw through a long, hot summer that concludes with the brutal dog days of August—I’m talking mosquitoes, wasps, gnats, ticks, mean-ass yellow jackets that fly out of the ground and sting with no mercy, silent spiders with strange red markings, horseflies from hell, and every other pissed-off bug that stings, bites, scratches, or gnaws and harbors a deep grudge against humanity.

    So I repair to the inner-sanctum—my little desk in the bed room. But I don’t create as well in air-conditioning. I get work done, but interestingly enough summer is usually my best time for editing.

    When I feel that first, cool September breeze, my writing life jumps into high gear. I move out onto the screen porch. Cody, our black lab, snores on the door rug. Harmless ladybugs collect on the porch screen. Small birds feed on insects after a light rain. Yellow leaves pile up against the fence. Autumn is a quiet time. I write and write and write.

    • I’m from the deep South too. Something about the thick humidity and afternoon thunderstorms in the summer make me see summer as a inspirational time—it might not be my best writing, but that sweltering atmosphere really helps my creative juices flow.

  6. I write best when grey skies keep me from feeling I should be outside. When the wind is whistling around the shutters and the rain pours. In Rome, this means late autumn, winter and early spring are my most creative periods. May to October is for my children, for playing on green lawns and gardening, for trips to the lake, sketching, painting, reading and water sports. I agree with an earlier comment – the summer is when I edit, if I am lucky enough to find the time. In writing this comment, I realise I have much to be thankful for.

  7. I am recognised as weird in may family as I get SAD during the summer. Autumn and Winter are my best times for writing, because of the vibes from the moderately bad weather we have in our part of the world (no doubt if I was to suffer a flood, landslides, ice storm, snowed in for two weeks, had power cuts etc, I would soon change my mind!)

  8. Nah – has to be winter – it’s blowing up a Hooley out there; lashing down with rain, trees are bending, I mean we’re talking a windswept storm of Biblical proportions here. So then you’re tucked up in this warm place with a keyboard and the perfect excuse not to go anywhere. The phone rings, – ‘Oh I’d really like to but have you seen what it’s like out…’ All you can do is write, or turn on the TV and watch the new but it isn’t advisable; what with that storm outside you’ll only get depressed.

  9. Pingback: Friday Fun – Which of the Four Seasons Is Your Most Creative? | Imperfect Writer: My Journey to Finding Myself

  10. While not a season per se, Henry James really, I think, has the definite word on this in his Preface to Portrait of a Lady:
    I had rooms on Riva Schiavoni, at the top of a house near the passage leading off to San Zaccaria; the waterside life, the wondrous lagoon spread before me, and the ceaseless human chatter of Venice came in at my windows, to which I seem to myself to have been constantly driven, in the fruitless fidget of composition, as if to see whether, out in the blue channel, the ship of some right suggestion, of some better phrase, of the next happy twist of my subject, the next true touch for my canvas, mightn’t come into sight. But I recall vividly enough that the response most elicited, in general, to these restless appeals was the rather grim admonition that romantic and historic sites, such as the land of Italy abounds in, offer the artist a questionable aid to concentration when they themselves are not to be the subject of it.
    https://ebooks.adelaide.edu.au/j/james/henry/j2p/preface1.html

  11. I’m new here and hope it’s ok for me to add my 2-cents worth. As I said I’m new here, and I am guessing you all are professional writers, I am not. I am hoping that by hanging around all of you it will rub off.
    You ask if it was seasonal, well, for me , I am not as busy in the winter . But, actually, it depends on what ‘my people’ have to say Sometimes the story leads the way and I have very little control over it.
    Am I odd?

  12. If I think about it, I’m clearly a woman of the winters. I’m more comfortable, happier, and definitely have more bursts of almost manic creativity in the winters. Bundled up in a sea of blankets and shawls, I’m scribbling away all the time. I don’t like hot weather in general, and given the viscousness of Delhi summers, I write less often in those months. The poems that I do write in the summers are angrier and more objective as compared to my mostly romantic winter work.

  13. I think this is important question and information to know in your real life. By evaluating and analyzing all day works in those four seasons, i came to see that in summer things goes wrong. the performance decrease with time. With good performance in morning and evening but with low performance at noon. The better you know ,the better you optimize your work.

Leave a Reply

