Winter Stories

I love a good story well told. I’m not a snob about my channel of entry. I read. I go to a lot of plays. I occasionally (very occasionally as I get older) go to the movies. And I watch television.

A few short years ago, admitting to watching television was not something I could admit freely in some circles. But these days? These days television is the place to be. Wonderful original series that need to be told on television (or streaming). Complicated narrative arcs. Terrific production values.

Since there is snow in the offing, I thought I’d share a few of my favorite series that are fun diversions for your consideration. Just in case you can’t leave the house for a few days.

Slings and Arrows. This isn’t a new series, but it is a perennial favorite of mine. Three seasons of six episodes each. It takes place in a Canadian Shakespearean theater company. Smart, funny, and a little too true if you work in the arts. Amazon’s Mozart in the Jungleย has the same “inside” vibe, but for classical music.

The Worricker Trilogy. Usually if I miss something on television, I at least know I missed it. Finding this trilogy, written by David Hare, was a lucky find New Year’s Eve. Bill Nighy is wonderful, the cast is amazing, and the entire series gave me a lot to think about.

Have I mentioned that I love Marvel? If not, I’m outing myself. I’m a Captain America girl. I also enjoy the television series. The short runs Agent Carter, Daredevil, Jessica Jones, are particular favorites.

Longmire is a great series, and the move to Netflix was good for it.

While I enjoy these series as a viewer, I also admire them as a writer. Each episode tells a story, and chips away at a larger story that the season supports. There aren’t wasted episodes. Since I am writing a mystery series, I study how this is done.

At least that’s the excuse I use while I am binge watching.

Any series suggestions for these long winter nights?

******************

As Julianne Holmes, Julie writes the Clock Shop Mystery series. Just Killing Time came out in October. Clock and Dagger will come out in August.

 

7 thoughts on “Winter Stories

  1. Oh, “Slings and Arrows” is one of my favorites! Glad to see it getting some love. I’d love to go back and watch it again, but there’s always some new book or show or movie I haven’t read/seen yet that pulls my attention instead.

  2. I actually didn’t watch any TV until last year, when all these series started appearing in original language (usually English, but also a few others) here in Italy. Fun and indeed good to study for plot and/or organization ideas. “Candice Renoir” (French) is a quirky take on police inspectors and fine for the whole family. Though I have to close my eyes sometimes (hate gore) the plot of “Fargo” we have now is well-interwoven, but I don’t know if it’s the second, third or whatever series ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. My thirteen- year old daughter and I have been looking for something to watch together. I wonder if Slings and Arrows would be a good one. Is it teenager appropriate?

  4. On February 15th (President’s Day), Stephen King’s 5 part (I think) mini-series is coming out on Hulu: 11/22/63. It is J.J. Abrams is the director and James Franco is the main character. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

