Wildly Improbable and Wildly Inspiring Goals for 2016

 

Once again, I’m going to start writing my list of goals for 2016 by thinking about how I want to feel about my writing this year. Once I decide how I want to feel, I’ll try to identify the thoughts I need to think in order to feel that way.

Last year, I wanted to feel enthusiastic, motivated, and confident about my writing. I decided I needed to think thoughts like: Slow and steady wins the race, and little and often in order to feel these feelings.

When I look back at the past year, I can see how that thinking helped move me forward. I didn’t accomplish some of my goals for last year (some of them really were Wildly Improbable!) but I did develop a habit of writing more, and more often. I didn’t realize it until I looked back at the entire year and re-read my post from this time last year.

This year, I am determined to move forward in my writing. Determined seems like a good feeling for 2016. Also: joyful and easy. Joyful, as I really do find joy in writing, but I can sometimes berate myself into feeling like sitting at my desk to write is a prison sentence. It’s not; it’s a privilege. Add the joy back and I can remember that fact more easily. Easy, because I have created habits that make writing every day easier and I want to continue that trend.

So what do I need to think in order to feel determined, joyful, and easy about my writing life and my writing goals?

I need to think: I got this, and, Just write for a few minutes, see what happens. I also plan to ask myself this question every morning: What would make it easy for me to get some writing done today?

Here are my writing WIGs for 2016: 

  1. Blog regularly for my blogs and for NHWN.
  2. Write a short story and submit to Level Best Books.
  3. Submit an entry to the 24-hour short story contest as least once this year.
  4. Contribute to my critique group (with my writing and my critiques) thoughtfully and consistently.
  5. Complete a draft of my nonfiction book.
  6. Host 2 writing retreats in 2016.
  7. Go on a writing retreat in 2016 (other than those I host.)
  8. Write 250 words 5 days a week.
  9. Write a love letter once a month.
  10. Create a cartoon for fun.

I’ve left out a few concrete goals, such as “Win NaNo,” to focus on developing a daily writing habit, which will serve me better in the long run. While these goals are not easy, I’m hopeful I can achieve most of them this year. I’m determined!

What are your writing goals for 2016?

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon is a writer, blogger, master life coach, and family physician. I love New Years and new goals! You?

23 thoughts on “Wildly Improbable and Wildly Inspiring Goals for 2016

  1. My writing goals are new to my goal list thos year. To be honest I dont think I have written down goals since high school. So for me writing every week will be my goal.

  2. Thanks a lot for getting me back on track. As a new years resolution, I decided to start (once again….for the third time) a blog. I wrote five entrys, but wasn´t very happy about them. Yesterday, a friend of mine ask me if I wanted poetry, prose or just writing a diary….uff!! I felt awful with his remark and decided to delete everything I had written. I even shut down my blog and gave it this new name: Desde mis ojos (translated would be something like “from my eyes” or “my point of view”) Now, as I read you, I once again feel inspired to start all over again and receive criticism as a tool to grow instead of quitting. Thanks!

  3. PS….as you can see, I am kind of nuts now…! My old blog name was “desde mis ojos” since I wanted to be invisible from people I know…Now, I took my real name and gave it to my new blog😉

  4. Wooh, that is a big list! Thank you for the inspiration. I am thinking of making my own list too and probably the first one is to write more.

  5. This is a great inspirational blog, I needed it!
    I write almost everyday but not in a disciplined fashion. I don’t make myself sit & do it. If I’m unwell I may not write , other days I can write almost continually untill the early hours. I need discipline! I received an organiser in the post today before I saw your post. Maybe I am being told something?

  6. Great blog post and huge list of goals!
    I’m also trying to write at least 250 words a day during the week this year, as it seems like a way to get me writing without procrastination. A few words written quite often can inspire me to keep scribbling away.
    My list would include posting a blog every week, publishing my third novel and completing my fourth, continuing to grow my networking hour on Twitter (#creativebizhour if you want to pop by) and having more structured marketing schedules as i’m easily distracted by tea and biscuits!

  7. Great post and goals for 2016! Your post kind of reminds me of this quote I wrote about in a recent post of mine: “If I waited for perfection, I would never write a word.” – Margaret Atwood. Good luck on your goals!

  8. Great goals! I plan to write on my blog once every week and read through the year too. It’s good to be joined by people with similar taste.

  9. Pingback: Goals and Accomplishments 2016 | Live to Write – Write to Live

Leave a Reply

