Books from the NH Primary Campaign Trail

The New Hampshire primary is over. Our summer, fall and winter of chasing down Presidential candidates is over and now it’s time to sit back and take a closer look at what just happened.

While my daughters were happy to get selfies with each of the Presidential candidates who campaigned through New Hampshire, as a writer I had a slightly different goal. Hey it won’t get me on Good Morning America like the selfies did for my girls, but it will give me many, many nights of reading pleasure. Come along with me and I’ll show you a slightly different aspect of living in the First in the Nation Primary state.

Ben Carson – we saw him twice. Once with Tony Orlando at his anniversary party and once at a town hall where he signed this book. I took about 100 photos of him and I swear his eyes were closed in every single one. I understand he’s a nice guy, but my God, that man could put a rock to sleep.

ben carson

 

 

20160223_162359

Chelsea Clinton –  she came to New Hampshire late in the primary season to stump for her mom.

chelsea

20160223_162341

Donald Trump – we ended up seeing him a total of 3 times. This book was signed at the Politics and Eggs event.

trump

20160223_162042

Hillary Clinton – in total we saw her 4 times and every time she was gracious and funny and just delightful. This book comes with a printed signature on the cover page and then she added a personal one. It’s kind of like seeing a double rainbow.

HRC

20160223_162124

Madeleine Albright -we saw her when she came to town in support of Hillary. My God she is an impressive woman. I wasn’t able to get her to sign my book, but it didn’t really matter. I was in the same room as Madeleine Albright (but if the absolute truth must be known, I did grab her lozenge wrapper and I have it mounted on a card – that’s officially one of my favorite souvenirs from the primary. )

albright

 

(Proof I was in the same room as her, I’m wearing the green scarf)

madeleine albright

Along with candidates, we always get an entire cast of political characters visiting our state during the primary.

Kristen Soltis Anderson – one of the first people who recognized the power of Social Media in this campaign.

selfie

20160223_162421

Gloria Steinem – meeting Gloria and having a chance to talk to her was absolutely amazing – definitely a highpoint.

gloria

20160223_162011

During Primary weekend, it’s a madhouse in NH. Film crews are sent here to boardcast live. It’s a media lover’s dream. Rachel Maddow – we watched her tape her show and then she talked with us.

drift

20160223_162147

And lastly, although Brady Carlson wasn’t campaigning or supporting a candidate,  I’ve known him for years and ran into him at a local book store while I was on my way to another political event. This is just too great to leave out.

dead

20160223_162232

So there you go, these are all of the books that came into my library as a direct result of the 2016 NH Primary coming to town. Absolutely wouldn’t trade living in this state for anything.

***

Wendy Thomas is an award winning journalist, columnist, and blogger who believes that taking challenges in life will always lead to goodness. She is the mother of 6 funny and creative kids and it is her goal to teach them through stories and lessons.

Wendy’s current project involves writing about her family’s experiences with chickens (yes, chickens). (www.simplethrift.wordpress.com) She writes about her chickens for GRIT, Backyard Poultry, Chicken Community, and Mother Earth News.

3 thoughts on “Books from the NH Primary Campaign Trail

  1. Thanks for the reminder about Madeleine Albright’s memoir which I’d wanted to buy and forgot about. Her supporting Hillary Clinton is only logical, as the latter seems to be the only candidate on both sides who has the faintest clue about international affairs and diplomacy. Was Ms Albright wearing one of her brooches? Fascinating trademark 🙂

Leave a Reply

