Shareworthy Reading and Writing Links Feb 28

 

A snapshot from last Sunday's hike - a faerie-worthy spring stream amidst moss-covered trees and stones. Magical!

A snapshot from last Sunday’s hike – a faerie-worthy spring stream amidst moss-covered trees and stones. Magical!

Good morning, dear writers!

Another week has gone by, and we’re nearly at the end of February; but we get one extra day in the month because it’s a leap year this year. I love the idea that every four years we have to adjust our modern day calendar in order to realign our human measurement of time with the astronomical “clock” that measures the Earth’s rotation around the sun. There is something humbling about having to reorder our time reality around the much more “real” time of Nature and the Universe.

This week’s links include a few that might help you “leap” ahead in your writing. I hope you get the chance to explore the ones that catch your eye, and I would love to hear in the comments about any other links, books, etc. that you have found shareworthy this week.

Until next time, happy writing & happy reading!

_jamie sig

 

 


 Books I’m Reading:

book writers journeyI am not yet done with this book, but I just couldn’t wait to share it. I’m on a bit of a “craft kick” lately – immersing myself in books on the writing and story craft with a focus on story structure and mythical archetypes. Joseph Campbell is, of course, the grandfather of the modern interpretations of ancient “rules of story” and the “hero’s journey,” but – though I have much respect for him and his work – his book, The Hero with a Thousand Faces, is not an easy or (to be blunt) enjoyable read. Happily, somewhere along the way, I came across Christopher Vogler’s book, The Writer’s Journey. While equally as weighty as Campbell’s tome, The Writer’s Journey is more accessible. Vogler’s experience as a Hollywood story consultant working with studios like Disney, Fox, and Paramount puts a contemporary spin on how Vogler explains and illustrates the universal concepts presented in Campbell’s more classical text.

If you are interested in how stories work, this book is a must for your writer’s library. Before buying it, I borrowed a copy from the library; but it took me only a few minutes perusing the pages to realize that I had to have my own copy. I’m marking up the pages (in pencil, of course!) as I read and have no doubt that this will be a reference that I return to again and again.

book writers journey artIn addition to the vast wealth of knowledge and insight to be found in this book, I must also comment on the aesthetic beauty of the presentation. Each chapter is preceded by a tarot card-like illustration that appeals to my magical/mystical side. I couldn’t recommend it more highly.


My Favorite Blog Reads for the Week:

Sundry Links and Articles:

Although I don’t usually listen to music while I write because I’m too easily distracted (and, truth be told, want to get up and dance and/or sing), I have recently become addicted to a new Pandora station based on the indie artist Lindsey Stirling.

Lindsey is a classically trained violinist who developed her musical skills into a creation that is all her own – a dancing dubstep powerhouse who tells epic stories via her music and the accompanying videos and worldwide performances. Here’s a little taste:

Impressive, right? And I adore her sense of story and fantasy. (There are loads of other beautifully produced videos on her website.)

I created a Pandora station based on Lindsey and am really enjoying the energy of the music that I’m discovering as a result. Most of it is instrumental (so, no pesky lyrics to compete with the words in my head), and though I am often dancing in my seat (no lie), I find that the cinematic feel of the music inspires me to keep my butt in the chair and my fingers flying over the keyboard.

If dubstep doesn’t turn out to be your thing, you may want to explore some of the other musical accompaniment for writers in this post: Listening to Music While You Write – Yes or No? (Plus Listening Resources).

Enjoy!

Finally, a quote for the week:

pin l stirling

Here’s to leaping into your writing life in your own unique way. Until next time – happy writing & happy reading! 
.
Jamie Lee Wallace Hi. I’m Jamie. I am a content marketer and branding consultant, columnist, sometime feature writer, prolific blogger, and aspiring fiction writer. I’m a mom, a student of equestrian and aerial arts (not at the same time), and a nature lover. I believe in small kindnesses, daily chocolate, and happy endings. Introduce yourself on Facebooktwitter, Instagram, or Pinterest. I don’t bite … usually.
.

20 thoughts on “Shareworthy Reading and Writing Links Feb 28

    • Isn’t she wonderful?!? She actually just published a memoir & I may have to pick it up. The story of how she created her artistic life is quite inspiring. 🙂

  1. Lindsey Stirling is a treasure! As a fan, I’m so glad you found her. I’m also a seat-dancer when I write and my kids think it’s hilarious. Music can have a profound affect when writing, and I’ll even seek out certain songs to set a mood for a scene. Thank you for sharing such valuable resources!

    • Yep. My daughter was laughing at me just this morning. 😉
      I agree that music can have a profound effect. I know many writers who create special playlists for certain projects and/or certain types of scenes (romantic, suspenseful, sad, heroic, etc.). I may have to start experimenting a little more with mixing it up – silence, white noise, and actual music.

      Happy to meet another Stirling fan. Have you, by chance, read her memoir yet? I’m intrigued.

      • No, I haven’t but I would love to. I’d imagine she’s had an interesting journey. I know that she was voted off America’s Got Talent but that exposure was all she needed to take off. We were almost deprived of an amazingly unique talent! It makes me wonder what else we might be missing out on…

  2. Your posts are inspiring. This one lightened my Sunday evening planning for the week’s work routine. I love the magical picture, and clicked on the video. I rarely take the time, it’s just because you’re suggesting it 🙂 what fantastic music and creativity – many thanks!

    • Thank you so much.
      Isn’t Lindsey wonderful? And her story is absolutely inspiring – turned down by the industry, so she went out on her own. Now the Big Boys are begging to sign her, but she says, “No thanks.” 🙂

      Thanks for being here, Bea.

    • Isn’t she fabulous?!? I’m so impressed at how she can play and dance at the same time. And her creative chops with not only the music and choreography, but also the storylines and visuals – amazing. I’d love to see her live.

  3. Serendipitous 😊 I stumbled across Lyndsey Stirling just this week and fell in love with her spontaneity. I have a little stash of unusual poeces that I play when I’m writing, which incidentally, is why you haven’t seen me around much lately. Thank you for a wonderful blog Jamie. You inspire me 😊

    • Hello, Penny! It’s was so nice to pop over to this post and see your face. 🙂

      Lindsey is such fun, isn’t she? I can’t help but smile watching her perform, and the music definitely gets my toes tapping!

      So glad to hear that you’re writing – that’s wonderful. I hope it’s going well for you. Enjoy and forward ho!

    • Oooh! New tablet. I’m curious – what inspired you to get one, and what do you use it for?

      • Mostly for quick emails and Instagram posts. I also keep notes of ideas for the books …new poems etc and down load them onto the PC later. I bought a Samsung not an ipad as it can talk to my phone too 🙂

  4. Pingback: Shareworthy Reading and Writing Links Mar 6 | Live to Write – Write to Live

Leave a Reply

