Milestones, Birthdays, and Other Reasons to Celebrate

As I celebrate another birth-year I’m thinking back at all that has changed in the past 365 days for me – good, bad, and other.

Let's Celebrate!In realizing personal growth, improved fitness and health, and the addition of more race bibs on my walls and books on my shelves, it dawned on me that birthdays are quite similar to business milestones.

Any date we choose as the date to pause, reflect, appreciate, and celebrate is a birthday, in a sense, isn’t it?

December 31 – a big party day to celebrate the end of a year; being grateful for it ending over if it wasn’t great and being excited for new possibilities in the next 366 (leap year) days.

January 1 – most notably to celebrate the start of a new  year – a blank slate, a way to start fresh. However you want to think of it. (September 1 feels more like a fresh start to a new year for me.)

July 4 – celebrating America’s birthday; reflecting on the history, how far (or not) we’ve come; where we can be in the future.

Think of all the activities in your life that have dates that involve reflections, evaluation, celebration… Annual physicals.  Twice-a-year dental exams.  School exams (weekly, quarterly, finals). Graduations.  Anniversaries.  Races.  Games.  Births.  Deaths.  Holidays.  Vacations.  Bucket list items.  First day of spring.  First day of summer.

In our businesses, we have goals we want to achieve and dates we want to achieve them by. They are dates where we evaluate our progress, celebrate successes, make changes, and pick a new date for the next evaluation. Those deadlines are random dates on the time continuum.

Each (and every) day is a milestone of some sort, isn’t it? A new day brings new possibilities. Yesterday is done. Whatever happened, happened. Today is new and full of possibilities.

Today, I get to take a few moments to reflect on all I’ve done in those years, celebrate with family and friends, and dream about what I’ll do in the upcoming years. I started the day listening to cardinals chatter (they weren’t singing, and I don’t know what to call their beautiful sound!) while I sipped my first cup of coffee and wrote this post. I’ve done a lot in the past year – some things I imagined, some things I didn’t. I’m where I want to be in some regards, and not in others.

It’s a Wednesday – not a day of the week that gets much respect other than for it marking the half-way point of a common work week, but still a new day with a lot of potential.

And it’s time to get to work — deadlines to meet, don’t you know? I’m raising my cup (of coffee) to you as I wish you another fabulous, productive day in the spectrum of your life.

Lisa_2015Lisa J. Jackson is an independent writer and editor who enjoys working with businesses of all sizes. She loves researching topics, interviewing experts, and helping companies tell their stories. You can connect with her on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn.

7 thoughts on “Milestones, Birthdays, and Other Reasons to Celebrate

  1. Happy birthday! Have a great day and week. Loved the blog – so full of ‘life’. Make the most of all milestones. As you get older there is a sign almost of triumph about some milestones. A friend who is now 101 was so delighted she made 100 that she simply woke up each day and lived it fully to the best of her ability -(gave thanks that she was still ‘breathing’ ) – she looked always for the beautiful every day and to her amazement is now 101. Not sure what that says about milestones but enjoy your day.!

Leave a Reply

