Pilot FriXion Pens

Today I’m taking a break from my series on Angela James and her workshop Before You Hit Send, coming to New Hampshire Saturday May 21, 2016 at the Crowne Plaza Nashua. There is still time to register and you can learn more about the workshop and Angela James in my previous posts. Later this month, I’ll have one more post where Angela shares what she wishes every author knew about the editing process, you don’t want to miss it!

Today? Today I want to talk about pens.

I’ve talked about pens before and you can be sure I still use many of the pens I talked about in my post, and even pencils from time to time,  but I have a new pen find that I just had to share.

May I present the Pilot FriXion pen.

FriXion Gel - markers- highlighters

 

Swooooon. I am in love with these pens.

The Pilot FriXions come in a variety of different types including gel pens, markers and highlighters, They come in several point sizes from the ultra fine .3mm to the more moderate .7mm but the kicker? They are erasable. No, like REALLY erasable.

They use a combination of a specially formulated ink and friction (get it, FriXion??) from a rubber tip on the end of the pen to erase the ink. Leaving nothing behind, not even crumbs. Warning, it takes awhile, but you do eventually stop brushing away imaginary crumbs. The packaging warns that the ink is sensitive to heat, so if you leave your notes in a hot car, you might experience a moment of panic when you come back to a blank page, but fear not, just put the paper in the freezer for a few minutes and BOOM! Your words are back. It goes without saying that FriXions shouldn’t be used for any work you need to keep long term, or for contracts or financial documents.

To be fair the gel pens erase more fully than the markers or the highlighters. I have also found some of the gel pens to be a little scratchy and they do leave an indentation. They also go through ink faster than you average pen.

Image shows samples of gel pens, markers and highlighters and some of the text erased.

I primarily use the FriXions for drafting and marking up my paper planner (yes I’m using a paper planner, but that’s a topic for separate post). Just this week they came in extremely handy. Before I plan the week, I consult the cast of characters that share my life (i.e. my husband and kids). I sat down Sunday in possession of the knowledge of who was doing what when and laid out my week. Late in the day, Dear Son, decided to change which night he wanted to go to karate. In a life as tightly scheduled as mine, that causes a ripple effect. FriXions to the rescue! I have planner peace for one more week.

picture shows my planner close up. On left highlighted text says travel on right highlighted text is erased.Have you tried Pilot FriXion pens or markers? What is your current favorite writing implement?


Lee Laughlin is a writer, marketer, social media consumer and producer, wife, and mom, frequently all of those things at once. She blogs at Livefearlesslee.com. She writes for the Concord Monitor and her words have also appeared in a broad range of publications from community newspapers to the Boston Globe. She is currently working on her first novel, a work of contemporary, romantic fiction.

14 thoughts on “Pilot FriXion Pens

  1. They are so beautiful! I’ll make a note for the next time I have to stock up, they sound wonderful!
    This is a dangerous post for a stationery addict! It’s a good thing I’m at work right now, it’s easier not to order anything 😛

  2. I just got my first pack from Sam’s Club and I LURVE them so far! When I’m using my paper planner or art journaling I always obsess over neatness. Like, it really bothers me if I have to line through something. I’ve been known to tear a page out of my art journal or glue watercolor paper or some other paper on top of it to start again. These pens have saved me from tearing out at least three pages this week.

    And I didn’t know the had MARKERS, too. *runs off to Amazon*

  3. Thank you for this info. I have individual pens but must find out now about getting the whole spectrum of colours. Excellent for doing crosswords and puzzles and like the blogger above saves on torn out pages whether you are colouring or drawing. Cheers!

  4. I love the idea that you can “lose” the writing in heat and it “magically appears” after being in the freezer. I think my nieces and nephews would love this! And I am also an OCD type when it comes to filling in my home calendar, I too hate striking through my writing when I have to change an appointment or activity. This will save my sanity. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

