Friday Fun – Publishing Poetry

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: We recently asked you what questions you’d like answered in our Friday Fun post. Today, we’re answering the following reader question:

FriFunQuestion6

Lisa_2015Lisa J. Jackson: If you’re interested in having your poetry heard, seeking out open mic nights at book stores, cafes, and such places can be a good start. Asking your local librarians about other poets… searching meetup.com for local poets may also be an option. Coffee shops and poets seem to go together, too.

As far as getting poetry published, Google various terms such as “publishing poetry”. I found Poetry Magazine that way, here is a link to their submissions page. Lots of magazines use poems as fillers. Here’s a list of publications willing to accept online submissions. It’s quite long, so perhaps a good place to start.

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: Hi Renee Nichole! I don’t have anything to add to what Lisa wrote, as I’ve never tried to get any poetry published, but I just wanted to say I love reading poetry, especially when I find it unexpectedly (like in a non-poetry magazine, as Lisa mentioned.) Good luck with finding a place for your poetry. Lisa’s list looks like a great start!

Deborah Lee Luskin, M. Shafer, Photo

Deborah Lee Luskin,
M. Shafer, Photo

Deborah Lee Luskin: Renee, you raise an important distinction: the difference between “being published’ and being “read by someone.” Before sending poems out for publication, I’d suggest finding other poets to work with. I think you’ll learn a lot by doing this, including where other poets submit poetry. Good luck!

7 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Publishing Poetry

  1. Pingback: Let Your Voice Be Heard | editorval

  2. There are a number of websites out there that publish poems. Do a search. I attend a month open mic reading at my local library where I read my poems. Books stores or your local college might have a program like that too. Check out local writer’s groups too. If you really want to get your poems published you might look into the literary magazines. A number of them are out there and while you won’t get paid much (if at all) you can get publish that way. Here is a web site that’s a good resource there: http://www.thereviewreview.net/

    or you do what I did, start a blog and put your stuff up there.

  3. Yes, open mics are fantastic local venues for poetry. At the monthly Redwood Writers Open Mics we strongly encourage poets to share their work. Any poets or writers may participate. It is not necessary to be a member for the open mics.We just ask that you limit your work to five minutes or less. We also host Library Open Mics every other month and Redwood Salons in alternating months. Check the events section under our website: http://redwoodwriters.org/

  4. In response to the question about publishing poetry, although I am aware it’s not always a popular choice, I am in the process of self publishing mine.
    I too have written poetry over many years, although mine are mainly on my experiences with Mental Health illness. I looked at many choices, a few pieces I hope to enter into competitions, the remainder I am self publishing through Create Space. I am intending to only have a few physical books printed, and then turn it into an Ebook through Amazon. There are other options, but this suits me, I didn’t want to go down the submissions to publishers route.
    I hope that this helps.
    Rosie

  5. About getting your poetry read by someone – I’m reminded of the poets Lang Leav and Tyler Knott Gregson, who’ve used social media share their works. Tyler in particular started out that way before publishing a collection of his poems. Maybe you can do something similar, like post on Instagram, Tumblr, Facebook, etc or participate in these poetry challenges in various websites like The Write Practice or National Poetry Writing Month (WordPress hosts one every year). There are some groups on Facebook, or teen writers who have published their poetry over at Wattpad. You can also contribute to online literary magazines or websites. There are so many options for you out there to start with. It’s also a good way to “test the market”, so to speak, if you decide to pursue publishing in the future.

    Hope this helps! 🙂

    Erin

Leave a Reply

