A Week for the Books

Wicked Cozy AuthorsI suspect this will be a week I remember for a long time, and a blog post feels like a good memory book. I hesitate about blowing my own horn, but we know one another. We touch base every couple of weeks. I hope you’ll indulge me.

Today my picture was in the Boston Globe. Twice. And not because I did something terrible. Instead, it was because I hang out with some fabulous mystery writers, and we blog together at the Wicked Cozy Authors. A reporter wanted to write a story about cozy mysteries, and someone pointed her in our direction. It is a story about the genre, and about our friendship. I can’t even pretend it isn’t a thrill.

As if this wasn’t enough for my writing week, Malice Domestic is this weekend. This is a huge fan conference that celebrates the traditional mystery. It takes place in Bethesda, Maryland. Now, I’ve been going to Malice for years. When I first went, I was barely admitting that I wanted to write a mystery aloud. In 2005 Sherry Harris sat at the same table as I did. She was moving to Massachusetts that fall, and I suggested she join Sisters in Crime New England. Cut to today, where we are both Wicked Cozies, and her third book was just released.

My first book, Just Killing Time, has been nominated for a Best First Novel Agatha. I’ve gotten to know my fellow nominees, and they are all terrific. On Saturday, either Ellen Byron, Art Taylor, Cindy Brown, Tessa Arlen or I will win the teapot. But honestly, this is a tough slate, and it is really an honor to be nominated. I know people always say that, but it is true. There were a lot of books to choose from, and I love that my debut made the short list.

Now, not all weeks in my writing life are this epic. In fact, most aren’t. All the more reason for celebrating this week. Then getting back to work on Book #3.

*****************

J.A. Hennrikus writes short stories. Julianne Holmes writes the Clock Shop Mystery series for Berkley Prime Crime. Just Killing Time is on sale now, Clock and Dagger will be released in August.

 

10 thoughts on “A Week for the Books

Leave a Reply

