Baby, you don’t have to be perfect.

Happy Monday, writers. Good weekend? I hope so.

I had another post planned for this morning, but then I came across this clip from the Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon featuring the plucky pop singer Meghan Trainor taking an onstage dixie after performing her sexy new single, Me, Too.

I’m sharing this because it kind of melted my heart a little, and because it’s a sweet and funny reminder that, baby, you don’t have to be perfect to be loved. (Note the standing ovation Trainor receives from the audience at the end of the clip.)

My daughter and I have been fans of Trainor since her first hit single, All About that Bass. While I enjoy her sound (pop mixed with R&B and some throwback 50’s doowap vibes), what I love even more about Trainor is how she lets her real and imperfect self shine through without making it part of her schtick. This girl works hard to be as good as she is. She may not be the stereotypical pop star, but that doesn’t stop her from putting it all out there.

Did you know that she started out as a behind-the-scenes songwriter? The song that became her first massive hit (All About that Bass) was offered up to several well-established artists, but they all turned it down. Trainor decided to record it herself, and – voilá! – she was on her way.

Every artist comes up against self-doubt and has embarrassing moments that make us wish we could hit rewind and get a do-over. But you can’t let the fear of falling on your face keep you from stepping out on stage. Be brave. Be fierce. Give it your all. And if you slip or stumble, get up, brush yourself off, and get right back to work. Though there’s always the odd jackass who will point and laugh, most people will help you up and cheer you on.

The truth is, I’m rarely inspired by perfection. I’m inspired by imperfect people who know they’ve got flaws but who go out and do their thing anyway.

Rock on, Meghan. Rock on.


.

PS – Tip of the hat to Mr. Fallon for handling this in the most awesome way possible.
.
Jamie Lee Wallace Hi. I’m Jamie. I am a content writer and branding consultant, columnist, sometime feature writer, prolific blogger, and aspiring fiction writer. I’m a mom, a student of equestrian arts, and a nature lover. I believe in small kindnesses, daily chocolate, and happy endings. Join me each Saturday for the Weekend Edition – a long-form post on writing and the writing life – and/or introduce yourself on FacebookTwitter, Instagram, or Pinterest. I don’t bite … usually.
.

22 thoughts on “Baby, you don’t have to be perfect.

    • I thought so. Class act. Nothing like the ability to laugh at yourself to endear you to others. 😉

  1. Thanks for another great post and for pointing me to something I would have otherwise missed. This is making lemonade out of lemons indeed!

  2. I think it should be noted that she danced her butt of and she probably fell for getting too into it. That’s another thing. If you throw yourself into what you love you probably will fall, but you have it your all and that will be remembered too. She’s got a new fan in me today!

    • Excellent point, Lissy. Timidity may keep you “safe,” but it won’t take you where you want to go. Better to dance your butt off, fall down, and get back up. 🙂
      Glad you’re a new fan!

  3. Coooool and fun and great rhythm – I agree both handled it with both humour and class 🙂 I enjoyed this a lot, yours is a class act in finding a completely different way to convey your message this time round!

  4. I love Meghan, exactly because she’s a great artist and doesn’t look like another fake, real-life Barbie. I read in the papers a few days back how she single-handedly retracted a photoshopped video of herself from youtube and replaced it with the “raw” version. Now that makes someone awesome!

    Well, that and joining a tripped singer on the floor, haha! Kudos to Jimmy for that!

    • Exactly. She’s a great example of someone who is both authentic and doesn’t take herself too seriously – both qualities I admire greatly. And Jimmy Fallon – could be be any cuter or sweeter? I mean, honestly, I don’t think there was a better way to handle that.

      I hadn’t heard the story about the photoshopped video – I’ll have to look that up. Tks!

    • You’re right. “Perfect” implies that there’s only one way to do or be … and that’s just not the case. There are countless ways to be and countless ways to do any and everything.

      TKS!

  5. I needed that! It’s always good to be reminded that we are all human! What an encouragement! Thanks for sharing!!

    • Awww … that’s the best. Happy to have helped raise your mood. 🙂
      Tks for being here.

  6. Pingback: You Won’t Believe What Meghan Trainor and Jimmy Fallon Did- Must Watch Entire Video | PaycheckParadise.tk

Leave a Reply

