James Burns Poet – interview and book

James Burns has been a Facebook friend of mine for years. The story of how we connected is long lost, suffice it to say, I see his posts, he sees mine and we both appreciate each other’s work (and, of course, I love his cats of which he often posts about.) So when he asked me to take a look at one of his poetry books: Prospect Street, I said “Of course, with pleasure.”

Now know here and now, I’m not a poet. Poetry doesn’t really speak to me and I’ve never understood descriptions of people who take a book of poetry to the garden and read it for hours, but having said that I completely enjoyed James’ writing. It’s brisk and hits the target before you even know the arrow’s been released. Here’s an example of his typical rock-your-gut poetry.

 

The sum of all evil

What is the sum

of all evil?

it is the total time spent

by everyone who waits for a better tomorrow

                        ~James Burns

 

Prospect Street by James Burns

Prospect Street by James Burns

See what I mean? James’ poetry is more of a heart-awareness gasp than it is the soft fluttering of a warm summer evening. I like it.

I interviewed James, and as you will see, like his poetry he wastes no time (or words) getting to the point.

What is it about poetry that attracts you?

I have a two year degree in English Literature. I studied creative writing with a focus on poetry as electives for that degree.

 How long have you been writing poetry?

Since 1970.

 Do you have a certain style of poetry that you prefer?

It is free verse.

 Do you do other types of writing?

I am a failed novelist.

 Where do you find your inspiration?

I read great poetry. I write good poetry.

 Do you have a writing routine and if so, what is it like?

I spend about twenty hours a week studying and applying the craft of poetry. Four hours a day, M – F.

 Let’s talk about your books, what have you written?

I have written four chapbooks of poetry.

 How did you go about getting them published?

They are self-published. I use CreateSpace. I talk about the process on my Facebook page: https://m.facebook.com/Majordomo.book/

What marketing do you use to sell your books?

Word of mouth using Facebook.

Are you on social media and if so, how is it used in your writing and/or marketing?

I focus more on the craft of writing the poetry.

And yes, the cats, tell us about your cats.

The next chapbook is actually dedicated to our two cats. There are even a couple poems in that chapbook about them.

What’s next? 

I plan to improve the quality of my poetry. It is my craft.

I highly recommend taking a look at James’ writing to see how someone uses only a few words to deliver a powerful punch.

James has an author page on Amazon which lists his books for purchase:  Amazon.com/author/burnsj

wendy-shotI’m Wendy Thomas and am a freelance writer and Instructional Design Consultant for High-Tech Businesses. Located in Southern New Hampshire, I have over 25 years experience in the High-tech field as a Technical Writer/Instructional Designer. These days I spend my time writing articles, blogging at Simple Thrift, Savvy B2B Marketing, and here at Live to Write, Write to Live. I’m also working on a fowl manuscript.

A features writer, interviewer, and columnist, I’ve has been published in national magazines, newspapers, e-zines, and blogs. My current project is to blog about life living with 6 kids and a flock of chickens.

2 thoughts on “James Burns Poet – interview and book

  1. It blows my mind that James has been writing poetry since before I was born and he still studies it 20 hours a week. As a new writer, I feel so overwhelmed with the incredible amount of information available out there. If he is still studying at this stage of the game, I guess I have time. Thanks to you both!

  2. Jame’s poetry is epigrammatic often with a bite. I find myself nodding to the truth of the analogy then a deep breath as the conclusion rolls in. He tells me he has a lot of these and I look forward to them. I am also a cat fan and love the closely observed poems on cats

Leave a Reply

