Friday Fun – Current Long-Term Writing Projects

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: What are your current long-term writing projects?

JME5670V2smCROPJamie Wallace: My first thought upon reading this question was that I don’t yet have a long-term writing project. But then I thought about the long-running Weekend Edition series (from which I am currently taking a sabbatical)  and my equally long-running column series for my local paper. I realized that, although I am not currently working on a novel, I am nevertheless working consistently to produce these smaller pieces of what may eventually become long-form/long-term writing projects. Maybe this is actually a good way to trick myself into working on a Big Scary Project. Instead of thinking about the venture in terms of the finished product, just focus on each component part as an individual, standalone element … and then worry about putting it all together later. 😉

Deborah Lee Luskin

Deborah Lee Luskin: I’ve got two long-term writing projects at the moment: a novel and a work of non-fiction. I’m actively thinking about them both and researching the non-fiction piece – which includes my hike of The Long Trail later this summer.

But Jamie’s thoughts above have helped me realize what a long-term commitment my blogging and short essays are: every other Tuesday here at NHWN since January 2011, and every Wednesday at www.deborahleeluskin.com since December 2014. In addition, I’ve recorded over two-hundred commentaries for Vermont Public Radio, and countless newspaper editorials – all of which to say is that I’ve made writing and publishing what I have to say into a long-term writing project above and beyond the writing I do as a pen-for-hire, educator and public speaker. It’s a good life!

Lisa_2015Lisa J. Jackson: This question got me thinking! Glad Jamie and Deborah answered first, it triggered other ideas I hadn’t realized. I have a couple of long-term business client projects, but don’t consider those in the mix. I’m in discussions with a friend to start a fun blog that can follow us along on our adventures; journaling is a long-term writing project that I enjoy and want to do more of; and I do consider my short story and novel writing as long-term projects that need to be dusted off and attended to! I look forward to fiction writing this summer and more reading. The idea to start my own magazine or publishing house is tickling my muse more and more – have an idea for both, just need to find the time to make them happen!

wendy-shotWendy Thomas – When it comes to long-term projects I have many, in fact I might have too many. I have several book manuscripts that are ready to go. I’m currently working on my  mother’s hospice story because it is so fresh and the emotions are still there.  And of course, I also plan to continue writing in my blogs and writing for various publications.

I also consider my teaching to be a long-term project and will show up each semester as long as they will have me. And I have several challenges planned that I am going to write about (one is walking the length of New Hampshire.)

Lastly, let us not forget the kids. Six kids who, even though the world sees them as young adults, will always be my babies who will need to be told stories.

 

15 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Current Long-Term Writing Projects

  1. I just recently pulled out the rough draft of a novel I wrote during NaNoWriMo last November, to revise and get it in shape. I’m hoping to get a second draft done by fall, and then send it out for some initial feedback. After blogging exclusively for six months, it feels good to get back to a fiction project!

      • My latest novel, The Valley of love, published in Italy is set almost entirely in the U.S. My project is to look for a publishing company in the U.S. But I have many difficulties to contact them.

  2. That seems to be the grandfather of questions for me. I have two long term novels that are semi close to being finished, and one that is about half. I am a 63 year old, married grandmother, who has 4 grandchildren living with her, two of which I have had since birth. They are 3 and 4 years old. The other two are nearly grown. I work full time as a hairdresser, which I have done for 44 years. Now I am blogging, learning new social media avenues, doing research and trying to write on my book. I am able to write 2 1/2 words a day, so by my estimations, I’ll be about 120 years old when I finish! 🙂 But, I’m having fun.

  3. Current Loooooong term project is a novel. I started this thing years ago. I keep at it here and there and when and if! I’ve got 13,000 words invested in it.

    Now, I’ve just finished putting the finishing touches on a short story and realized: “Dang, this story belongs in the novel!” Hmmmmm.

    The novel moves from one locale to another. Not long ago I concluded (I think it was about two in the morning.) the novel is, perhaps, two novels– two related novels. Again, hmmmmm.

    So thank you for the post. Yep, it’s a Long Term Project. That “title” alone resolves many issues!

    • It’s challenging when projects morph while they are in progress. I’ve heard that story many times – short stories becoming novels, novels becoming series, nonfiction articles becoming fiction books. We just never know exactly where our stories will take us, do we?

      Good luck on your adventure!

  4. About thirty years ago I started working on a Science Fiction novel that I gave the working title, “Southern Defense.” Sadly, that’s all I have – the title as I can’t get passed the first paragraph.

Leave a Reply

