Friday Fun – Favorite Summer Food

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: Summer is upon us. The weather has already felt summer like at times, and Memorial Day was the unofficial start to summer, but it isn’t ‘officially’ summer this year until Monday, June 20. We’re curious about your favorite summer food or meal since fresh fruits and vegetables are plentiful this time of year.

Lisa_2015Lisa J. Jackson: Hands down, my favorite summer food is corn on the cob. I can spend almost every day in August having it for lunch and dinner. I can make a meal out of it by itself, or have it along with fresh tomatoes. Yummmm. Veggies themselves don’t make a meal, but sometimes I can’t help it!

Fresh blueberries and strawberries are delightful at the start of the summer. Blended together into ice cold smoothies or eating them by the handful totally satisfies!

LL HeadshotLee Laughlin: Ditto on the corn on the cob! I love grilled foods. We grill year round, but there is just something about food grilled in the summer that tastes better. BLTs are my favorite in August, especially if I can get fresh bread!

At least once a summer I indulge in good fried clams (I like the bellies), and a fresh steamed lobster (on the coast somewhere) and a vanilla/chocolate soft serve twist with chocolate jimmies.  Rats! Now I’m hungry.

Deborah Lee Luskin: Creeeeeeeeemmmmies! Plain vanilla, sprinkles optional.

 

 

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: Strawberries all by themselves, or a fruit salad. I love gathering all the fruit of the season and making a big salad out of it. I eat it with every meal until it’s gone. And strawberries! Right now the ones coming from California are amazing, and soon I’ll be able to pick my own!

wendy-shotWendy Thomas: Although I like all the fruits and salads (and corn) of summer, I have to say that the one summer food I always look forward to is ribs. Seriously. Greasy, BBQ-sauce-covered ribs are something I only eat a few times a year and well cooked ones from a grill on a summer afternoon along with a cold beer make me very, very happy.

12 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Favorite Summer Food

  1. Mango would have to be my favourite fruit, although I love chocolate all year round. I live in Australia, so Summer coincides with Christmas and our supermarkets discount boxes of Lindt chocolate before Christmas and I always buy up. It needs to be eaten quickly given our intense Summer heat.

  2. Summer Fruit Pudding is mine, fresh berries stewed lightly and layered with either sponge or slices of brioche loaf, then left (with weight on top) to set in fridge.

  3. It’s winter here but you wouldn’t know it from the sunny days we’ve had. I love a mango salad in summer with some sneaky prawns (scrimp) in there and a delicious chilly dressing.

  4. Its winter where I am too.. but you wouldn’t know it.(the days have been really sunny and quite hot) I read the comment above and heartily agree. I also like mango by themselves in summer……sliced on ice-cream. Winter has some good stuff as well I like porridge in the morning with sliced pear, and beautiful lady finger bananas. Talk of food is making me hungry. When my husband comes back after walking/running the dog we will have morning tea. Macadamia nuts and 1/2 a muesli bar each. (hope its healthy sure can be tasty. Cheers!

  5. I always think about fresh corn on the cob, picked from a near by farm. We had to shuck it ourselves and pull all the leaves and strings off. I was always so amazed at how the rows seemed to line up just right most of the time.

    Sweet corn right off the stalk was nice, not cooked or anything still something you’d want to sink your teeth into.

    The hard part is the waiting for it to cook – watching the pot simmer into a boil and knowing soon y0u’d have that golden goodness on your lips and tongue.

    When it was finally ready you’d burn your fingers trying to hold on to it just to roll it in the butter. A slab or two of butter soon turned into a pool that you could reapply the corn to later if you wanted.

    But that first bite, damn was that good. So juicy and fresh and tasked like heaven.

    I’d always go end to end, nibble here nibble there until the entire row (or three) was gone and then like a typewriter I’d seen in cartoons I’d roll the corn and start on the next.

    After my fingers, face and shirt would likely be covered in corn and butter residue, but it was worth it. Never got tired of corn on the cob, always want it every summer.

Leave a Reply

