Friday Fun – Which Summer Movie Are You Waiting for?

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: ‘Tis officially summer, the season of sun, heat and BIG movies. What summer “BLOCKBUSTER” are you waiting for?

LL HeadshotLee Laughlin: We are a Disney family, and our dog Dory, got her name after jumping or ungracefully falling into a pool to play with the kids mere hours after we got her. She’s a collie. Collies don’t generally like the water, but she seemed ok so long as she got to play too. She took one other dip that summer, but now that she’s six, she’s not so interested in swimming.  My daughter is also a HUGE Ellen Degeneres fan, so our summer movie is Finding Dory. I am also looking forward to Ghostbusters with the all female team.  I was intrigued by Bad Moms, but when I found out that it was written and directed by men, I decided to pass. Hollywood needs to bridge the gender gap and that would have been the PERFECT vehicle to do it.

photo of Julianne HolmesJulie Hennrikus/Julianne Holmes: I am behind on movies, and need to see the new Captain America movie. Will confess that I love summer blockbusters, so I also looking forward to Ghostbusters, and the new Star Trek movie. All movies on hold until my book is in my editor’s hands. But looking forward to catching up!

JME5670V2smCROPJamie Wallace: There are five movies on my wanna-see list – three are already out, one is coming in late summer, and the last one isn’t actually a summer movie because it doesn’t release until November. The chances of me actually seeing these in the theater are slim to none, but I’m not giving up hope yet. There’s something about seeing stories on the big screen that brings just a little extra magic to the affair. Anyway, here – in no particular order – are the five most top-of-mind movies for me:

  1. Alice Through the Looking Glass – The second installment in Tim Burton’s interpretation of Lewis Carroll’s timeless (pun intended, given the theme of the movie) classic.
  2. The Lobster – “If you fail to fall in love with someone during your stay here, you’ll turn into an animal.” Surreal story concept featuring Rachel Weisz and Colin Farrell.
  3. Swiss Army Man – I looked up this preview after seeing Daniel Radcliffe talk about his role on the Late Show with Jimmy Fallon. “Bizarre” doesn’t begin to cover the premise of this movie about a dead man with magical powers who helps rescue a shipwrecked man; but if the trailer is any indication, the story also has a lot of charm, home, and humor.
  4. Pete’s Dragon – This updated version doesn’t seem to have much to do with the original Disney animated classic, but I’m still curious. My daughter will probably refuse to watch it because it looks like the dragon is (at least temporarily) in danger, but we’ll see, Maybe  I’ll be able to convince her that it has a happy ending. (Does it?)
  5. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – I know it’s not a summer movie, but I couldn’t overlook this prequel to the Harry Potter stories. I hope it delivers.

Lisa_2015Lisa J. Jackson: I really want to see fun movies like The Secret Life of Pets, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and Suicide Squad, as well as Independence Day,  X-Men Apocalypse, Star Trek Beyond, Legend of Tarzan, Jason Bourne, and any Marvel-related movies.

I saw The Lobster based on its description and because Colin Farrell was in it and, well, it’s the first movie that I’m still trying to figure out. Surreal is a good word for it. 🙂

wendy-shotWendy Thomas: You know, I’m not really one for movies (with the notable exception of any James Bond movie staring Daniel Craig.) Too often you end up paying an arm and a leg and then you are trapped for a few hours in a popcorn-smelling chair forcing yourself to stay because you paid for it, damn-it. 

I tend to watch movies at home on the television where I can pause  when I need to go to the bathroom or abandon them all together (well that was a clear waste of electricity.)  Movies I’ve recently watched that I’m glad I didn’t pay full price for include: The Martian, Mad Max, Neighbors 2, 10 Cloverfield.  Movies I’m glad I did watch include: Brideshead Revisited and A Walk in the Woods. (I tend to be behind everyone else.)

Movies seem to be very long these days and I find myself getting bored. To be honest with most movies, I’d rather read a book instead. Although I have to say that The Lobster intrigues me and if it shows locally I just might go out and  watch it.

 

6 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Which Summer Movie Are You Waiting for?

  1. I’m probably going to see Finding Dory and the new Independence Day movie eventually.

    What I’m actually excited about is Miss Peregrine’s School For Peculiar Children. Although, September may push it out of summer blockbuster territory…

    I hope you enjoy your movies!

  2. There’s a lot on my list this year – my sister and I for Alice Through The Looking Glass, Finding Dory, my friend got me into Pete’s Dragon, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them…

    Oh! And the new Beauty & the Beast movie (is that next year? I thought it was this year…). That might be what I’m looking forward to the most.

  3. Hello to all,

    As far as movies go, I relate mostly to Lisa J. Jackson and Wendy Thomas.
    Captain America, X-men, Ghostbusters etc. But I’d much rather be reading a good book, especially since I’m behind on my 100 bk reading challenge!

    Regards
    Benjamin

  4. I did see Captain America and Batman and I failed to see the Angry Bird movie. I wanna see Fantastic Beasts and where to find them cause I’m a huge Harry Potter Fan and I am waiting for the announcement for the next part of Harry Potter series; Harry Potter and the Cursed child. I am excited for the Popeye movie as it was my childhood’s fav show. Ghostbusters is on my list too.

Leave a Reply

