Summer Bucket List

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: We’re just about halfway through the summer. How are you doing on your summer bucket list? 

JME5670V2smCROPJamie Wallace: *hangs head in shame* Not so great. I’ve been unusually busy for the summertime. While I’m delighted to have a full work schedule, I am bumming out a little about the summertime fun I haven’t yet had. I wanted to spend more time at the beach with my daughter (she’s been getting plenty of time by the shore with friends, but not with me), go on a whale watch, get more daily walks in, spend a few afternoons just reading, take some more day trips into Boston and up the coast … oh, so many plans!

I still have hope, but I also realize that it’s going to take some proactive effort on my part. I’m going to have to put my foot down and cordon off some time – with an alligator-filled moat if need be. When you’re a freelance writer working from home, it’s just too easy to say, “yes” and to do “just one more thing,” which then leads to one more “one more thing,” and suddenly the whole day is gone. Clearly, this is an area where I could use some work.

I think I’ll look into that whale watch this weekend. Maybe I can get it in before the month is out.

Deborah headshotI’m at the opposite end of the spectrum from Jamie and have had lots of play, but am woefully behind on two writing projects. That said, I’ve been busy at work, especially lectures and planning future classes; it’s just that I’ve been busier at play with family visits from grandnieces (In Love In Vermont) and other relatives, visits from my three adult daughters, visits from Old Friends, hikes in the White Mountains, and the most beautiful and productive vegetable garden ever. The party continues this week, with my thirtieth wedding anniversary and my dad’s ninety-first birthday. Then I buckle down to clear my desk before taking off for a twenty-five day through-hike of Vermont’s Long Trail. I’m hoping that this will be a Reset for me, and that I’ll return ready to tackle the long form again. Summer rocks!

Lisa_2015Lisa J. Jackson: I didn’t/don’t have a bucket list per se, just the goal to have fun. And to that end, I’m succeeding quite well. I’ve been hiking, cycling, and swimming. I’ve been to the beach, had a long stay in a nice hotel, have had wonderful seafood. Have been to a few country concerts – after not having been to concerts in several years. I’ve found a new place to live and look forward to the move. I have a week-long vacation with my brother (and his family) in a couple of weeks. Have spent quality time with my parents – fun stuff with Mom, helping both folks clean out the years of collected clutter in their house. I’ve done quite a lot and still more to do! And I’ve been blessed with a lot of great client work. Glorious season all around!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Summer Bucket List

  1. Bucket list for me this Summer was to finish my first novel. I’d originally planned for June but now I see that isn’t going to happen. Because it’s July now. HA! Thankfully, I feel it’s getting better each time I edit, and revise and have a new, more realistic release date in mind for October. This can work well for me as it is a paranormal thriller. So Happy Halloween!

  2. I am doing okay but not really good. I had to finish three books and I did only two. Well, Winter must be good then, in holidays I’ll have to complete more. Oh Gosh! But overall great post.

  3. Hello My name is Andrea and I seen that you’re a writer and its my dream to become a writer and I was wondering if you can help me out or know someone that can help me out . Its been hard for me to find help and I’m only 19 so I’m not sure where to begin at to making my writer dream come true and I understand if you don’t have the time to help me I just need some professional help to help me get started !

Leave a Reply

