Friday Fun – Summer books

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: We’re well into summer with its warm breezes and cold beers. Things are a little more relaxed. Time to take our collective pulse and find out what warm weather books we’ve been reading.

Wendy Thomas – part of my job is to review books for a publication, so I read a lot. (The fact that you can rarely find me without a book – I even take them when I go to the movies, because you never know –  means that I go through many books.  Here are some of my most recent –

  • The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer – you read about that one yesterday in my post.
  • The Summer before the War by Helen Simonson – fantastic for those of us going through Downton Abbey withdrawal
  • The Nest  by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney – broken families and blue blood
  • The Fireman  by Joe Hill – classic King horror
  • You Are a Badass by Jen Sincero – How to Stop Doubting Your Greatness and Start Living an Awesome Life – a good kick in the pants.
  • How to Fail at Almost Everything and Still Win Big by Scott Adams (the Dilbert guy) – funny and motivational

On my list to read are Atonement  (recently saw the movie and now I want to read the book) and New York in a Dozen Dishes.

Lisa_2015Lisa J. Jackson: I haven’t read much for personal enjoyment this summer. All I’ve managed, that I can recall (have given a lot of books away as I pack to move), are Jessica Andersen’s Lord of the Wolfyn, Rob Smales’ Echoes of Darkness (compilation of short stories), and Jim Benson’s and Tonianne DeMaria Barry’s Personal Kanban (reading still in process).

I usually read in the evenings and weekends, but not this summer!

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: I’ve been reading a lot of nonfiction this summer, but my son and I just finished listening to The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan and immediately started on the second book in the series, The Throne of Fire. I’ve always loved mythology of every culture, so it’s been really fun to read (listen to) stories about the Egyptian gods and goddesses. I also recently bought The Hobbit on CD for us to listen to on a long car trip coming up in August. I bought it rather than get it from the library because it’s one I read many times as a child and I know we will listen to it many times over the next few years.

Deborah headshotDeborah Lee Luskin: I am currently and completely engrossed in Jeffery Lent’s A Slant of Light. Before that, The Orchardist by Amanda Coplin. For me, the warm weather doesn’t really change what I read, just where: I have an Adirondack Chair in the shade outside my studio where I like to decompress in the late afternoon, when my brain’s fried from writing and it’s too hot to do anything else.

20 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Summer books

  1. Here’s a few of the books that have kept me in good company this summer.

    • THE CITY OF DREAMING BOOKS by Walter Moers –absolutely perfect summer reading!

    • THE MASUDA AFFAIR by I.J. Parker

    • FIRES OF THE GODS by I. J. Parker – I love all of I. J. Parker’s Akitada mystery novels. Parker’s novels are rich in cultural detail of 11th-century Japan and Akitada—detective, family man, father, husband—is one of the most engaging literary characters I’ve ever met.

    • THE FILE ON H. by Ismail Kadore. I was upset only by the fact the novel ended so soon.

    • THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP by Nina George I have to say, I liked the novel. It started out so beautifully. The writing is outstanding, BUT it didn’t grab me the way I thought it might. The way THE BOOK THEIF by Markus Zusak did.

    • THE GARDEN OF EVEING MISTS by Tan Twan Eng—beautifully written. I’m halfway through this one at the moment, and the word that comes to mind: mesmerizing.

    Thanks for the great post. I love Friday Fun!

  2. This summer I’ve read these great books:

    The Ice Twins, by S.K. Tremayne, a psychological thriller.

    City of Mirrors, by Justin Cronin, the third and final book in his apocalyptic trilogy.

    Smoke, by Dan Vyleta, an alternate history novel.

    I’m working on reviews of the latter two for my blog; you can check out The Ice Twins there, as well. Thanks for the post-I love talking books!

    • I’ve made a note to go check out your reviews – always looking for new reads, even though I have so many books on my To Read list now that I doubt I’ll ever finish them in one lifetime! 😉

  3. Thanks for the recommendations! I’m interested in checking out “you are a badass.” Also I just finished a few books that I’m happy to recommend:

    The Beauty of Imperfections by Brene Brown (for the anxiety ridden perfectionist)
    The Soul of Money by Lynne Twist (money and our attitude towards it, leans towards minimalism), and
    Play by Stuart Brown (about how play shapes our brain and encourages creativity).

    All the best,

    Lindsay

  4. I’ve been reading some new Abigail Reynolds JAFF: The Darcy Brothers, Mr. Darcy’s Journey and Alone with Mr. Darcy. Also reading some YA to get ready for this school year: The Last Dragon Chronicles by Chris d’Lacey, The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare and Darkness Rising series by Kelley Armstrong. Any good YA suggestions?

    • A biography is a third-person account of someone’s life. An autobiography is a first-person account. So, a biography is one person writing about someone else’s life (a journalist writing about a celebrity), and an autobiography is someone writing about his or her own life. And then there’s memoir, which I think is someone writing about an aspect of his or her own life, but not necessarily later in life or in a way that tries to capture the whole arc of that life … but, rather, to capture a particular experience or place in time.

Leave a Reply

