Resources for Readers

As a writer, I’m also a huge reader. Over the last 10 years, I’ve transitioned from someone who reads all my books in paper form to someone who uses multiple formats to get all my reading done. I love listening to books on CD and I always have a book on my Kindle app on my phone. Now I’m never, ever caught without a book to read!bookssmall

I use my local library all the time, mostly for CDs to listen to. If they don’t have the book I want, I can usually get it through inter-library loan.

One resource I didn’t use until recently is the online library resources I have access to with my library card. I’ve tried to use it multiple times in the past but there has always been some difficulty with using a Mac computer and getting access to the online library.

Well, either it’s gotten a lot easier or I’ve gotten a lot smarter—okay, it’s definitely gotten a lot easier—but I now have access to a whole new world of library resources.

You can get started by downloading the Overdrive app to your smart phone or going to the Overdrive website on your computer. Once there, you choose your local library and enter your library card number to get access to the state library resources. In my case, I have access to the NH State Library.

The NH State Library works very similarly to your local library. You can check out books that are available and you can put a hold on books that are already checked out.

Here are some of the resources available to you:

Audiobooks: my favorite way to read a book these days! You can download a book using the Overdrive app and listen on your phone or you can listen on your computer while you clean the kitchen!

Periodicals: I downloaded the Nook app to my phone and then checked out the latest Writer’s Digest Magazine. Once I’m done I can delete the magazine, but I don’t have to. Periodicals, once downloaded, are not returned. You can read them and keep them for as long as you like.

E-books: You can check out books and return them just as in the brick and mortar library, or they are returned automatically when your time is up. No more late fees!

Videos: The NH State Library apparently only has one video available, but if you have access to another state library, you might have a bigger selection.

Before I go, I’ll just mention one other reading resource you need to know about, if you don’t already. Through the website BookBub, you can sign up to receive a daily email with free and low-cost books from best-selling authors, among others. You can get the newest books here; you just have to scroll through the daily email. Not every author on this list is someone you’ve heard of, but I’ve been pleasantly surprised with the quality of the (free) books I’ve read using this website. I just download the books to my kindle app.

I love having my own personal library I can carry with me everywhere. It’s a book lovers dream come true, especially a frugal book lover!

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: I’m a writer, blogger, and master life coach, among other things. I’m an avid reader as well as an almost daily writer.

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Resources for Readers

  1. Pingback: Resources for Readers – Sweaters & Raindrops

  2. Thanks for the resources! I’m really enjoying audiobooks as well because I do a lot of driving for work. Audiobooks are a godsend. I’ll try out the overdrive app and bookbub they both sound pretty cool.

    Thanks
    Benjamin

  3. Pingback: Resources for Readers via Diane MacKinnon | The Writing Train: Join the locomotion

  4. Those are some great resources for reading.

    I’ve always had a hard time with audio books. I speed read and having to slow down to the pace that someone can read allowed always seems to drive me crazy.

    eReaders though… I live by those. There are always several books pulled up on my phone, which travels everywhere with me. I’m perfectly happy getting a chapter out of the way while I’m waiting in line at the grocery store or anywhere else I’m forced to wait for even a short amount of time.

Leave a Reply

