Friday Fun – Full Moon Writing

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: Do you find that the full moon affects your creativity, focus, or some other aspect of your writing practice?

JME5670V2smCROPJamie Wallace: I’m not all that big into astrology, but there are two celestial influences I definitely believe in: the full moon and Mercury retrograde.  As far as the full moon is concerned, I do think that it tends to add a little, shall we say, element of devil-may-care attitude to my creative process. It’s not that I suffer from actual lunacy, but more that I feel like the energy of the full moon helps me see the bigger picture so that I can gain some perspective. For instance, if I’ve been obsessing over a particular project and letting my inner demons whittle away at my confidence, a full moon can help me get out of my head so I can move forward. A full moon is good like that.

Lisa_2015Lisa J. Jackson: I haven’t noticed any difference between the phases of the moon and my creativity, but I also don’t follow the moon phases – other than noticing when it’s a clear night and the moonlight is like a spotlight in my window! I think it’d be bad to know I could be more creative on a full moon – then I might want to put aside that night for a writing frenzy every time it happened! And then blame the moon for lack of creativity at other times. 🙂

 

 

10 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Full Moon Writing

  1. The full moon gives me occasion for writing about sailing under it. Each year part of the success of sailing is marked by how often I get to raise the canvass under the Light that rules the Night. Last night, Thursday, was a ‘near’ success, as I brought Lifeline in just before the Lunar Light crested above the low clouds; a short in the navigation lights forced me off the water. I have three more days this weekend. Here’s hoping. Check my weblog for last month’s installment in the mean time.

  2. I have always enjoyed looking at the full moon. She is the gorgeous Mistress of the night. I’ve written a number of poems about about the moon, so I could definitely say that the full moon influences my writing, but only as a subject rather than an astrological influence.

  3. Like Lisa I haven’t traced the phases of the moon as an indicator of creativity. I keep a journal so maybe it would be an interesting idea to simply mark the phases and then look back to see or better yet, wait till the end of the month and THEN mark the phases and see if they coincide with creative efforts…hmmm. I read a great deal of Chinese Tang Dynasty poetry which is full of moon imagery, but I guess I can’t count that. Oh well. But this is really an interesting idea. Just recently I read a fascinating article in a gardening magazine about how certain crops should be planted only when the moon is full, and some crops should be harvested when their is a full moon.

  4. I enjoy the night sky, and I have been inspired many a time by stars, or clouds, or a meteor shower. My writing and creativity is not affected by the phases of the moon. Certain weather, however, does inspire different genres and moods in my writing.

  5. I describe myself as Full Moon Nocturnal – I’m unlikely to sleep nights when the moon is full, and generally spend the night in writing. I’m not the only person I know who is wakeful when the moon is full, either.

    Recently, I’ve realized I also tend to be more creatively inclined at the new moon. Maybe the same force that affects the tides and my reproductive cycle also affects my creative one?

    And, in case it matters, I’m a Leo. =)

  6. Because my day job is in the medical field, I definitely always know when there is a full moon. Any patient with a tendency towards the strange becomes full-blown crazy when there is a full moon. That being said, I don’t notice any difference in my writing abilities, except that I come home too exhausted from dealing with the crazies to be able to write at all.

Leave a Reply

