Friday Fun – Staying Motivated When the Weather Has You Dragging

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: Be it long stretches of hot or cold weather, sometimes it’s hard to keep your writing mojo on track. What do you do to keep your writing on track?

LL HeadshotLee Laughlin: I am not built for the heat and humidity. I live in the Northeast for a reason! Typically we only have a handful of miserable hazy, hot and humid days and I am a planner by nature, so, I follow the forecast and plan my week accordingly. If I know it’s going to be miserable, I make plans to be someplace where I can stay cool, be it a waterpark with the kids or an air conditioned library.  I love winter and I love snow, to me it’s an excuse to stay locked away in my writing cocoon!

Lisa_2015Lisa J. Jackson: Like Lee, I’m not very productive when dealing with high levels of humidity. I need cool and comfortable to keep my brain from feeling like mush. And iced coffee. So a cafe is a great place for me to keep my writing muse inspired and active during the hot and humid summer days.

JME5670V2smCROPJamie Wallace: I see a trend developing here … I also abhor hot and humid weather. For this reason (although I feel guilty about the environmental impact), I do run my central air as soon as the temps and dew point reach a certain point. As a full-time freelancer working from home, comfort is critical. If I’m feeling sweaty or sticky, my concentration goes right out the window. In the winter, cold is less of an issue. As a born New Englander, I can handle pretty chilly temps, and I’m also not above donning a pair of fingerless gloves. I also warm myself from the inside out with endless mugs of tea. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Staying Motivated When the Weather Has You Dragging

  1. Interesting question!

    Summer is very hard on my writing life, especially late summer–August–dog days. Two things, more or less keep me going: writing early in the morning before it gets too hot and reading. Oh, and coffee! three things! 🙂

  2. Although I’ve moved around a lot, I pretty much grew up in the Midwest. From about late May to sometimes as late as October, the humidity ranges from 60%-100%. I’m fairly used to it, but there are days (more like weeks) where it can be brutal. As for the winter, we get lake-effect snow. It’s frosty and oh-so wonderful! I usually bundle up in a few layers and fuzzy slippers, and down at least three mugs of coffee.

  3. The North Bay (north of San Francisco) is perfect for me: dry heat but cool nights with the marine layer sneaking in at night and in the am 😊

  4. It is an interesting question. It seems to make sense to me now when I open my email this morning. It was so quiet, as if everyone was still sleeping. When afternoon came, email started to dripping in. Looks as if people still try to share and to give . When I was in Spain for 10 days (came back 3 days ago), I didn’t feel like walking or shopping in the afternoon. Shops are closed from 3 to 5 p.m. Local people don’t come out on the street until 8 or 9 p.m. Now that I am home, 20 miles from the beach, Friday is like a regular weekday to me.

  5. This was an interesting question. Because I do not have to write..ie for a living or to reach a deadline etc my writing is probably much less trapped by weather etc. I loved the responses – you all seem so passionate and dedicated. I must have a goal – whatever the weather but absolute agree when it is humid and (sweaty) I feel like doing nothing. (unfortunately that kind of weather in some years is becoming more and more the ‘norm’ for 1/2 the year). Lying in the backyard pool (nothing fancy) with a notebook and pencil (not pen in case I drop it) often produces lots of thoughts and creativity . Sometimes a bit hard to transcribe onto the computer later (if the pages are wet). Cheers! Thanks for questions and blog.

  6. I live in the Pacific Northwest and I love the weather here. However, this summer has been particularly sweltering and miserable. I detest the heat. Which is funny, considering my mother is Hawaiian. I personally blame my father and his Finnish heritage.

    Anyway, regardless of the weather, I still enjoy writing, though sometimes that writing takes on a more… harassed feeling for those involved in the scenes I’m writing.

    If I have to suffer, so do they.

  7. When I saw that question I thought of dark and rainy days when my demeanor is more likely dark and negative. I try to keep my posts positive. During those days I will play upbeat music softly in the background or reblog other people’s positive posts.

Leave a Reply

