Friday Fun – Get-To-Know-You Questions

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: Please answer the following questions, with as many or as few words as you like:

  • What’s your favorite color?
  • What’s your favorite writing utensil?
  • What’s your favorite kind of journal/writing paper?
  • What’s your favorite writing magazine?
  • What’s your favorite writing prompt?

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon:  

  • My favorite color is blue (See my picture?)
  • My favorite writing utensil is a Faber-Castell PITT Artist Pen, Fine.
  • My favorite kind of journal/writing paper is anything by clairefontaine.
  • My favorite writing magazine is Writer’s Digest. I love grabbing an issue for a plane ride because there’s always some fun writing exercise I can do then and there.
  • My favorite writing prompt is just to close my eyes, take a deep breath, and open my eyes. Whatever my eyes see first, I start writing about. This kind of freewriting is calming and I always end up somewhere interesting, even if I start by describing a lamp!

Deborah headshotDeborah Lee Luskin:

  • Today, my favorite color is purple.
  • My favorite pen is whichever one is at hand.
  • For the past few years, I’ve been using EcoEasy spiral-bound notebooks made from sugarcane, from Staples, but I’ll use the back of an envelope, if necessary.
  • I read The New Yorker, both for style and content, and I pick up writing magazines here and again, but have no brand loyalty.
  • I start my day with N.A.M.S.

JME5670V2smCROPJamie Wallace:  What fun! 🙂

  • Favorite Color: Can’t pick. Changes depending on what I’m looking at. However, based on my Instagram feed, it looks like I favor blues, purples, and greens with the occasional dash of red or orange.
  • Favorite Pen: No question on this one – my go-to pen is the uni-ball Vision Elite, usually in black, though I admit to having their full range of jewel-toned pens in my secret pen cache.
  • Favorite Notebook: I’m with Deborah on this one. I love the eco-friendly sugarcane notebooks from Staples. They are a little pricey, but a) I feel more environmentally responsible using them, and b) I love the super hard covers – they make writing with the notebook in my lap very easy and comfortable. I use the standard 8.5 x 11 size for journaling, and also love the smaller 6.5 x 9.5 size for note taking and just carrying around with me.
  • Favorite Writing Magazine: I used to get Poets & Writers and Writer’s Digest, but I’ve found that I rarely have time to actually read them. I have loads of back copies in my personal archives, but I haven’t resubscribed. I figure I can read them at my local library if I want to. Though I don’t regularly manage to read print magazines, I do read a TON of writing blogs. You can always catch my weekly list of favorite posts on the weekend editions: The Saturday Edition and Sunday Shareworthy.
  • Favorite Writing Prompt: Time and quiet.

Lisa_2015Lisa J. Jackson:

  • What’s your favorite color? green
  • What’s your favorite writing utensil?  pen with purple ink
  • What’s your favorite kind of journal/writing paper? composition notebook
  • What’s your favorite writing magazine? don’t have one
  • What’s your favorite writing prompt? I enjoy photo prompts the most.

wendy-shotWendy Thomas:

What’s your favorite color? Mauvey and dusty pinks, please don’t ever confuse them with “Barbie Pink.”

What’s your favorite writing utensil? I prefer writing at my computer but if writing by hand I use EnerGel Metal 0.7 Tip pens.

What’s your favorite kind of journal/writing paper? Although I also like ClaireFontaine notebooks, sometime the sizes are awkward. As a rule, I can never go wrong with a Rhodia notebook.

What’s your favorite writing magazine? These days I’m really enjoying Writer’s Forum published in the UK. Because it’s an import I pay close to $10 an issue, but even so I’ve found it to be worth the price.

What’s your favorite writing prompt? Life. Pure and simple, life.

 

16 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Get-To-Know-You Questions

  1. Favorite color: honey-gold. The color of evenings in the south.

    Favorite writing utensil: Palomino BLACKWING-602 pencil. I get these from a company named Levenger. They’re great. I sit down with three of them sharpened. I start writing. When the first pencil has worn down, I grab the second sharpened pencil and keep going until all three are worn down. Then it’s time to stop.

    Favorite kind of journal/writing paper: Top Flight Notebooks. 120 pages.

    Favorite Writing Magazine: I guess I have to go with Writer’s Digest, but I don’t subscribe. Maybe I’ll buy four a year from the local BAM.

    Favorite Writing Prompt: Nature. (sounds pompous doesn’t it, but it’s true. When I sit out on the back porch with the trees, birds, insects, grass, all of it, the ideas tend to flow.)

    • “Honey-gold” … sounds like that could be someone’s name. Love it!

      I love your pencil-powered writing process. (My very first journals are all written in pencil … there’s some kind of magic in the act of putting carbon on paper.)

      And, I totally agree on that nature is an excellent writing prompt … or creativity prompt of any kind! 🙂

  2. Favorite color blue
    Writing Utensil Gel Pens
    Paper – doesn’t matter any one that is available.
    Favorite Magazine do not have a favorite
    Writing Prompt – any one works for me.

    Vermont Book Works

    I like your site.

    • I’m all about the college-ruled paper as well. I’ve never been able to get the hang of writing on paper with NO lines, and the wide-ruled are WAY too big for my small penmanship.
      🙂

  3. Love your answers!

    What’s your favorite color? SILVER
    What’s your favorite writing utensil? Bic Pen
    What’s your favorite kind of journal/writing paper? I keep changing! Right now, it’s one that fits in my purse, with a dotted line for ripping out pages.
    What’s your favorite writing magazine? I subscribe to Locus, but I follow so many online blogs!
    What’s your favorite writing prompt? Don’t have one!

  4. What’s your favorite color? It changes right now mostly earth tones.
    What’s your favorite writing utensil? Anything with ink.
    What’s your favorite kid of journal/writing paper? I like pretty notbooks with spirals or marble notebooks.
    What’s your favorite writing magazine? I don’t have one. (I need to find one.)
    What’s your favorite writing prompt? I don’t have one.

  5. Pingback: Friday Fun – Get-To-Know-You Questions — Live to Write – Write to Live | K.S. Hernandez

  6. Blues, greens, purples. Right now I’m writing with a Pilot P-500 Extra Fine gel pen. I love those cheap marble composition books. I subscribe to Writer’s Digest and The Writer, and like them, but will probably let the subscriptions go and read them at the library or online. As for prompts, you can’t go wrong with “I remember/I am looking at…”.

  7. Color? Blue and Black.
    Pen? Anything will do but something black is preferable.
    School notebooks, tiny ones with elastic in the middle in all color of the rainbows.
    Magazine? Not writing ones per se. Readers Digest is an old time fav.
    Prompt? Anything with a twist.

  8. Favorite color – cranberry red
    Favorite writing utensil – Equill, a pen my husband got me. It comes with this little attachment that you hook on to the top of the page and everything you write is scanned into your computer. I don’t get how it works and it’s weird to see your handwriting on the computer but it’s fun.
    Favorite writing paper – anything that accepts ink or lead! (I include skin with the paper, as in the palm of your hand)
    Favorite writing magazine – the Sun, although I’m not sure if it qualifies as a ‘writing’ magazine. There is always inspiration in the pages, as well as writing prompts and resources.
    Favorite writing prompt – sit in public, pick a couple or group where you can’t hear their conversation, and write about the conversation based on what you see in body language alone.
    Fun questions and great answers!

  9. Love the questions and the answers from folks.
    My favourite colour is purple but I also like red.
    Writing : The free-flow of a Parker Fountain Pen. (can be messy but I love the glide of words and sensation.
    Writing Paper: Hard-covered compact Notebook. – preferably with faint lines.
    Favourite Magazine. Scope. Not sure if you have it anywhere but Oz but I am often sad I don’t have time to read all the articles
    Writing Prompts: An open window with a clear view of open sky. I’m sure if I lived with skyscrapers and no wide open sky it would be to sit in a park and observe like Lisa. Great questions thought-provoking. Thanks.

  10. Pingback: Exploring my writing roots at 2 a.m. on a Saturday morning | Write on the World

Leave a Reply

