Hooray for the rare birds

I was recently at a restaurant waiting for my meal to arrive when I pulled out my ever constant friend – my notebook. I had a thought that I didn’t want to escape and so I began to scribble it down using one of my favorite gel pens

A waiter walked by my table. He suddenly stopped and addressed me “You write?”

“Yes,” I told him. “I’m a writer.”

He shook his head, “No, I mean you write in a notebook?”

“Yes,” I confirmed, now a little confused and thinking I was missing something here. “I write in a notebook.”

“You’re a rarity,” he told me apparently amazed at my extraordinary skill of being able to write using a pen.

We both smiled.

That’s where technology has brought us. If you write using pen and paper, if you read using a paper-based book, if you tell time by a wristwatch and not by a phone that beeps on the hour, then you are a rarity. Those aberrations to our hectic life are the quaint behaviors that have now become notable and worthy of social commentary.

Well I say – hooray and hats off to those of us who insist on rocking the boat of what’s expected! How interesting we all make the world as full-fledged members of the rare bird flock.

Write and read on.

nationalgeographic.com

nationalgeographic.com

***

Wendy Thomas is an award winning journalist, columnist, and blogger who believes that taking challenges in life will always lead to goodness. She is the mother of 6 funny and creative kids and it is her goal to teach them through stories and lessons.

Wendy’s current project involves writing about her family’s experiences with chickens (yes, chickens). (www.simplethrift.wordpress.com) She writes about her chickens for GRIT, Backyard Poultry, Chicken Community, and Mother Earth News.

11 thoughts on “Hooray for the rare birds

  1. 100% correct, one day when i was with father hunting for my his friends house i took the help of google map instead of asking anyone who live there. My father said internet has made you lazy and reserved. In fact this is a harsh truth, i use my mobile for doing almost everything. From making notes to chance the tv channel.

  2. I write my notes on notebooks – with a lovely fountain pen – read “good” novels on real paper (thrillers can go on kindle, with the result I end up confusing them and never remembering authors/titles) and also have a very good “real” watch. I also like paper maps… Doesn’t keep me from being an efficient consultant on my desktop, laptop and smartphone. I think the problem is people letting technology take over their whole lives, creativity and leisure included

  3. I too will gratefully be seen as not part of the herd. I wrote a blog about the beauty of pen and notebook and how beautiful thoughts deserve such luxury. Astonished by responses. Some folks had simply never thought of it. Growing up in the different age and not given life affirming alternatives to technology. It’s sad. Thanks for the Blog. encouraging!

  4. I was in the habit of using devices for everything thinking how efficient it was only to have my doctor tell me to go back to writing by hand and reading actual books to ease my insomnia. Good job;)

Leave a Reply

