Writer’s Weekend Resources – Reading and Writing Links

Yesterday, my daughter and I spent the afternoon wandering through an open-air Halloween market in Salem, MA. There are few places where All Hallows’ Eve is more revered and celebrated than in this city where the original witch trials took place. The place was bustling with tourists from all over the country, locals who were game enough to put up with the crowds, and vendors and craftspeople who were delighted that the gorgeous weather and spooky festivities had drawn such numbers.

While there were plenty of photo opps, I somehow managed to come home with only a few snapshots of costumed dogs. Yep, leave it to me. I’m in a city filled with historic sites, professionally costumed characters, and dozens of street performers, and the only pictures I take are of cute canines in ridiculous get ups.

Anyway … I thought they might inspire some story ideas (or, at least a smile), so here are a few of the shots from our doggy day. Enjoy, and happy almost-Halloween!

_jamie sig

 

 

This is Chester, a handsome, eight year0old standard poodle who apparently wears a hot pink mohawk all year 'round.

This is Chester, a handsome, eight year-old standard poodle who apparently wears a hot pink mohawk all year ’round.

And here is Chester playing with my daughter, Meghan. They hit it off right away, and I think Chester might have opted to come home with us if we'd offered.

And here is Chester playing with my daughter, Meghan. They hit it off right away, and I think Chester might have opted to come home with us if we’d offered.

This is Miss Bella. She and her sister (who was dressed as Madonna during her like-a-virgin days) were quite the sensation as they strolled the market with friends helping to raise awareness about the unfair practice of breed-specific legislation such as the pitbull ban that was recently overturned in Montreal, saving the lives of hundreds if not thousands of innocent dogs.

This is Miss Bella. She and her sister (who was dressed as Madonna during her like-a-virgin days) were quite the sensation as they strolled the market with friends helping to raise awareness about the unfair practice of breed-specific legislation such as the pit bull ban that was recently overturned in Montreal, saving the lives of hundreds if not thousands of innocent dogs.

Finally, I didn't catch this little fella's name, but he was the epitome of a tired pup. Poor little guy tried to curl up in my lap when I sat down to get a photo, and his "mum" had to carry him back to the car.

Finally, I didn’t catch this little fella’s name, but he was the epitome of a tired pup. Poor little guy tried to curl up in my lap when I sat down to get a photo, and his “mum” had to carry him back to the car.


My Favorite Blog Reads for the Week:

CRAFT

PUBLISHING & MARKETING

INSPIRATION

THE WRITING LIFE

 ··• )o( •··

Finally, a quote for the week:

pin-never-be-ashamed

Here’s to loving what you love, even if it seems silly … like dogs in costumes. 😉
.
Jamie Lee Wallace Hi. I’m Jamie. I am a content writer and branding consultant, columnist, sometime feature writer, prolific blogger, and aspiring fiction writer. I’m a mom, a student of equestrian arts, and a nature lover. I believe in small kindnesses, daily chocolate, and happy endings. Introduce yourself on FacebookTwitter, Instagram, or Pinterest. I don’t bite … usually.

This post originally appeared on the Live to Write – Write to Live blog.
.

10 thoughts on “Writer’s Weekend Resources – Reading and Writing Links

  1. I LOVE Salem. I’v been there several times over the years, but it’s been awhile since the last time. Such a fun, charming place (despite its tragic past). Looks like you and your daughter had a great time!

    • We love Salem, too, Tina. Planning a return trip for tomorrow – when most of the weekend tourists will be gone, and we’ll be able to wander the shops in relative peace. I have some personal history there because both my parents used to work at a place called the Naumkeag Trust Bank. It’s long derelict (and the building is currently for lease/sale), but I spent many weekends there when I was a kid, and my sister and I often saw the inimitable Laurie Cabot (official witch of Salem) striding down the bricked street with her capes billowing and her long, gnarled staff reaching out in front of her. Impressive.

      If you’re ever coming up this way again, give me a shout! 🙂

    • Chester was pretty darn cute. All the dogs were. I have such a soft spot for animals – they bring me such joy just by being themselves. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Friday Fun – Writerly Halloween Costumes | Live to Write – Write to Live

Leave a Reply

