My Art Journal

For the last few years, I’ve been getting more and more into visual arts. I’ve always been a “crafty” person, but for many years I did things that involved following a pattern someone else made: counted cross-stitch, knitting, even paint-by-numbers.

Then I started wanted to draw my own patterns.

zentanglesmall zentangle2small zentangle3smallSo I started tangling Zentangles, which allowed me to create my own simple patterns. Even if I followed other people’s patterns, it would inevitably change into something that was all my own. I really liked that.

This past January, I started a new planner, as I do every year. But this year, I wanted to do more with it. I made it my art journal/planner/(writing) journal, with the help of the book No Excuses Art Journaling: Making Time for Creativity, by Gina Rossi Armfield.  I cannot tell you how much enjoyment I’ve gotten from using my planner in this multidimensional way.

I also think it’s helped my writing.

The more I do with the visual arts, the more I see around me. Seeing more inevitably leads to better writing. I am more precise in my words (at least I think I am.)

Here are a few examples from my planner/art journal, as well as a recent drawing.artjournal2small
artjournal8small
artjournal11small
artjournal7small
artjournal16small
peardrawsmallAfter I finished drawing the pear (although I’m not really done with it yet,) I had one hour before I had to pick up my son from school. During that time, I wrote two blog posts and made some notes about ideas for new posts. Then I picked my son up, drove home, and tried out a new recipe for dinner. It came out great!

When I create art, even in the small way I pursue it (totally for fun!) I believe I am more creative in every way.

How does your (non-writing) creative life contribute to your writing life?

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon, MD: I’m a writer, blogger, master life coach, mother, and family physician. I’ve been playing around with words and pictures for a while now, and I’m having a lot of fun. I don’t yet know where it’s going to take me, but I trust that it will be someplace new and exciting!

13 thoughts on “My Art Journal

  1. Diane, I can totally relate to what you say. I have always been creative, not only with writing but also I like to knit, sew, make toys etc. I love my pot garden and grow exotic plants and I like to bake. Whilst writing is my main focus I find that my other pursuits spur me on and make me feel that progress is being made. Maybe it’s because writing a novel is such a long project? Anyway, I do think creativity feeds on itself, the more you achieve, the more you feel that there is so much more to do!

  2. I totally understand your feelings, except in reverse. I’ve been into visual art my whole life–I even used a program to create my own cross stitch–and then got into writing. I agree withyou. I think participating in both does give your perspective more depth. Your journal entries are cool too, a great use of small spaces!

  3. Beautiful creative ideas. My life too is surrounded by paint by numbers, Adult colouring books, Crochet, knitting etc etc. to bring something beautiful into your writing life is a wonderful idea when achieved this way. Thank you for the blog and your sharing.

  4. This is a terrific idea! I’ve never thought of venturing off and doing my own patterns in a journal. I think I’ll stop by the hobby store and pick up a nice journal and try this. I’m always looking for new ways to work on my creativity aside from photography. Thanks so much for sharing! 😊

  5. I have an arty mother so I’ve always had some art in my life, but I’ve never really thought of one hobby inspiring another. (Thanks for that). In fact, I like both drawing and writing, so I see what you mean.

  6. This is a fantastic idea! I am also very visual and for a long time my drawing and writing went hand in hand, I would love to get back into that habit and this is a lovely little step in the right direction. Your planner also looks to be set up exactly like mine! (Is it a passion planner? They’re my favorite!)

  7. Hi Diane,I too,keep an art journal. And it’s chocked full of what inspires me,disillusions me,and what makes me,..me. I hadn’t done anything as of lately,but I do have all intent and purpose to get back to it. I have been hospitalized for colon cancer,and boy I plan to do that page in my journal up to the nines about it.It helps me keep a colorful out look.

  8. I do like art and have been good in doing tiny patterns when in school very patiently. Now I do draw and colour Mandala art. I do it for relaxation and to distress. As although I am completely recovered from my long term depression I do tend to get anxiety if I get stressed. So the art I am doing is more on the line of therapy and relaxation. Really interesting on what you are doing. Thank you for sharing all that with us 🙂 ❤

  9. Pingback: Goals and Accomplishments 2016 | Live to Write – Write to Live

Leave a Reply

