Friday Fun – Writerly Halloween Costumes

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: Halloween is only ten days away. Will you be dressing up, and – if so – who will you be this All Hallows’ Eve? For bonus points, if time and money were no object, which favorite character (of your own devising or one you’ve read about) would you like to become for the evening?

JME5670V2smCROPJamie Wallace: I love getting dressed up, but, sadly I haven’t spent any thought or money on a costume for this year. Though my daughter and I have enjoyed two trips to Salem, MA and she has invested a great deal of effort and funds in her own costume, I just haven’t gotten around to it. So, I will doubtless be scrambling on the afternoon of the thirty-first to throw together some kind of hodgepodge creation to wear as I stroll with my daughter, her friends, and myriad parents up and down the main trick-or-treating thoroughfare in town. Luckily, I have a collection of beautiful masks, some miscellaneous items of costume-y clothing, and a number of props to choose from.

As for who I would be if time and money were no object, I’m going to go with the Disney version of Maleficent, complete with animatronic wings. I was impressed by this costume,  and this one, and this one, and … well, you get the idea. Maybe next year.

Lisa_2015Lisa J. Jackson: I haven’t dressed up in years! But I enjoy seeing how creative people can be with costumes. I’ve actually never lived in a place conducive to trick-or-treating, so haven’t seen a lot of costumes over the years as kids go door to door. I’d love to get to Salem, MA, as Jamie has – maybe this is the year for me.

As for who I’d be, no particular person or character comes to mind. The rational side of me says it would be a functional costume – one I could easily sit in and move around in and that fits in the car. Edgar Allen Poe comes to mind, as do some characters from books I love, but those aren’t very conducive to ‘costumes’ as they are people and it’s more personal characteristics than outerwear that makes them stand out.

 

10 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Writerly Halloween Costumes

  1. Halloween is not widely celebrated where I am. Aside from a few stores sporting windows decorations for commercial purposes, no one really bother. But then again, we’re not celebrating thanksgiving either.

    I would like to be Harlequin 😀

    • My daughter is SO into Harley Quinn right now. Can’t wait to get the rest of the costume in from various online sites. What a production! Are you a fan of the classic Harley, or the Suicide Squad version?

  2. Here too Halloween is not that much of a festival but if I would have dressed like someone maybe I would dress like Jo from Little Women. I don’t want to dress to haunt but to express my fav characters in my dress and I somehow am similar to Jo.

  3. This Halloween custom was never a part of our culture until a few years ago. I’m still not comfortable with idea of children ‘hasselling’ folk or the ‘trick’ or ‘treat’ idea. We do however dress up for street parades and carnivals. All during the year. some see the whole idea of spooky as ‘fun’ but personally I prefer the less bizarre – there’s enough horror in the world naturally. I have costumes for Harlequin. Carmen, Madam Butterfly, and others, Like carnival ballerinas. with proper face masks and simple costumes stored in a ‘dress-up’ box.

    • Yes, we have quite the collection of masks, hats, and capes. I love Halloween, which is kind of odd because I can’t stand scary TV shows or movies. I agree – too much that’s terrifying in the real world.

Leave a Reply

