Writer’s Weekend Resources

Hello & happy Sunday!

I hope this week’s wrap-up of good reads and favorite blog posts finds you well. I’m happy to report that I was able to find a couple small pockets of time to set work aside and just scribble in one of my idea notebooks. It’s the first time I’d had a chance to do that in a long while, and I was relieved to find that I actually do still have some ideas and (more importantly!) a few were even almost coherent! 😉

If you’ve lately denied yourself the gift of some agenda-free time with your pen and notebook, I hope that you’ll treat yourself to some “noodling” time. It’s such a great way to re-ground yourself and get inspired anew. Seriously. Make it happen.

_jamie sig

 

 


book-timebound Books I’m Reading:

Timebound is the first book in Rysa Walker’s Chronos Files series, which (so far) includes three novels, three novellas, and a spin off comic book series. As usual, I can’t remember how I came across this book (I really need to keep better track of that!), but I wound up listening to it as a Audible audio book.

From Walker’s site:

When Kate Pierce-Keller’s grandmother gives her a strange blue medallion and speaks of time travel, sixteen-year-old Kate assumes the old woman is delusional. But it all becomes horrifyingly real when a murder in the past destroys the foundation of Kate’s present-day life. Suddenly, that medallion is the only thing protecting Kate from blinking out of existence.

Kate learns that the 1893 killing is part of something much more sinister, and her genetic ability to time travel makes Kate the only one who can fix the future. Risking everything, she travels back in time to the Chicago World’s Fair to try to prevent the murder and the chain of events that follows.

Changing the timeline comes with a personal cost—if Kate succeeds, the boy she loves will have no memory of her existence. And regardless of her motives, does Kate have the right to manipulate the fate of the entire world?

This book is classic YA (complete with a love triangle), and not my usual cup of tea (I tend to go right from middle-grade to adult fiction, skipping most YA); but the time traveling piece of the story intrigued me. I also liked the multi-generational aspect of a granddaughter and grandmother working together.

The story held my interest from start to finish, even though the characters and relationships sometimes slipped into stereotype territory. After all, sometimes all you really want is a decent story. You don’t need any earth-shattering revelations.

While I was listening to Walker’s time-traveling novel, I kept seeing ads for NBC’s new series, Timeless, which is also about someone trying to change the past in order to influence the future. And then, while Googling Timeless, I came across this fun and thought-provoking article by Elizabeth Logan about why there are so many new TV shows about time travel. I especially liked her writerly observations including, “It’s easier to write certain plot lines if there aren’t cell phones,” and “In an age when almost every tent-pole film or series is based on a preexisting character with an established fan base, time travel is a clever way to circumvent the franchise system: use people and events we learned about in school.”

What do you think about the current trend of time-traveling shows and movies? What do you think it says about how we’re feeling? What kind of wish fulfillment do these stories offer? Also – if you could time travel to anytime, when would that be and why?


My Favorite Blog Reads for the Week:

CRAFT

PUBLISHING & MARKETING

INSPIRATION

THE WRITING LIFE

Finally, a quote for the week:

pin-balanced-life

Here’s to rainy weekends (which is what we have in my neck of the woods) because they are the perfect time to curl up with a good book and a cup of tea. 
.
Jamie Lee Wallace Hi. I’m Jamie. I am a content writer and branding consultant, columnist, sometime feature writer, prolific blogger, and aspiring fiction writer. I’m a mom, a student of equestrian arts, and a nature lover. I believe in small kindnesses, daily chocolate, and happy endings. Introduce yourself on FacebookTwitter, Instagram, or Pinterest. I don’t bite … usually.

This post originally appeared on the Live to Write – Write to Live blog.
.

3 thoughts on “Writer’s Weekend Resources

  1. I do that all the time, my mind sometimes travels back in time and forward in thinking (imagination) anywhere, away from first world problems, hmm? 🙂 Actually, if space travel comes soon, that experience will be a big step into the future for me.

  2. Jamie,
    I perked up on this comment, ” After all, sometimes all you really want is a decent story. You don’t need any earth-shattering revelations.”
    Now, I think I have a problem; but would cherish your opinion.
    My latest novel combines Biblical theology with a murder mystery. Would you peruse it before it’s published and let me know if you still believe a decent story with heaven-shattering revelations can make a novel even better?
    If so, I can send a PDF.

Leave a Reply

