A little bit of bribery often does a writer good

 

I’ve been writing up the walk I took this summer with my son, but it’s going slow. I found out that each day took about 3-4 posts to complete. What I was doing was writing the post, editing it and then getting it up on my blog.

Then I’d go have lunch.

Seriously. A single post expanded to the time I allowed it to have – which was all morning.

In reality, that’s not so bad, I mean it was a way to get the work out – slowly but surely.

But the problem is I have other projects that I want to start, other stories that I want to write.

So I’ve begun bribing myself.

I take myself to the beautiful library the next town over (that has a quiet room) and I sit my butt in the chair until I write up a full day from my walk. This morning I finished Day 9 (of 16.) It takes about 3.5 hours to write up each day, but in that time I get almost a week’s worth of posts. And it will soon free up my time to write other pieces.

You would not believe how my mind tries to get out of sitting in that chair.

  • My back hurts.
  • I need to get up and stretch.
  • I wonder if I locked the car.
  • Maybe I can stop early and then tack on what I need to do to tomorrow’s writing session.

Here’s where the bribery comes in. *If* I can finish a full day’s write-up (about 4,000 words total) *then* I can have lunch in a nice restaurant. Trust me, when you work out of your home and lunch usually consists of leftovers from the night before, a good lunch is tempting.

Tempting enough for me to finish what I need to do.

While my wallet is getting lighter, my manuscript is getting larger and that sits well with me.

So if you find that you’re stuck, if you feel like you’d rather do *anything* than sit down and write, try a little bribery.

I can personally recommend the Massaman curry just around the corner.

My favorite.

My favorite.

***

Wendy Thomas is an award winning journalist, columnist, and blogger who believes that taking challenges in life will always lead to goodness. She is the mother of 6 funny and creative kids and it is her goal to teach them through stories and lessons.

Wendy’s current project involves writing about her family’s experiences with chickens (yes, chickens). (www.simplethrift.wordpress.com) She writes about her chickens for GRIT, Backyard Poultry, Chicken Community, and Mother Earth News.

8 thoughts on “A little bit of bribery often does a writer good

  1. It always amazes me how many writers admit to having to force themselves to keep a writing schedule, or to finish a project, or just to enjoy writing time. For me, it always has been a joy to write something, add paragraphs to a project, or just have the time (especially now in retirement) to write and to quietly use that time in a chosen place.

    Even around my kids, I scratched out time to enjoy with my pencil and paper. It was therapy and pleasure, then! Now I don’t need the therapy — it’s just joy! 🙂 May you have many happy moments with your writing endeavors!

  2. This is me 100%. Sometimes I feel silly bribing myself with time for gaming or dessert. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one who sometimes needs a little extra motivation.

  3. It works. It really does. 😀
    Bribing oneself is what I like to do. That kind of motivates m. 😉
    While I was in college, I used to keep myself away from music. And could listen to it only after I finish the syllabus I was intended to.
    It might not be mature enough to work this way. But if it works, what else matters. 😉
    I enjoyed this post. 😀

Leave a Reply

