Writer’s Weekend Edition – Bring on the Love

eb-white-love-stone-heartToday’s post is short and to the point … partly because what I want to say is, at least at first, pretty darn simple; and partly because I’m due to my daughter’s volleyball tournament in exactly thirty-one minutes.

··• )o( •··

Are you ever overwhelmed by feelings of love? I don’t mean feelings of love for your partner, parent, child, friend, or dog (though those are lovely, too). I mean feeling love for the whole of existence, for – as Douglas Adams put it – “life, the universe, and everything.” Have you ever been going along through your day, more or less minding your own business, when suddenly you found yourself close to tears or to laughing out loud because the world is suddenly almost unbearably beautiful?

This doesn’t happen to me all the time (I’m not crazy), but on occasion I am struck with an unexpected opening of my heart that seems to be trying to reassure me that everything is going to be ok. I don’t think of these moments as religious or even, strictly speaking, spiritual. In fact, they give the impression of having a kind of grounded simplicity that is more akin to nature than to any philosophy or other manmade framework. To quote Adams again, there’s a line in one of his books that goes something like, “Oh, well, that’s alright then,” which always makes me smile because it gives me the feeling that we’re all in this together and we will work it out.

There is a lot of craziness in the world. Cruelty, tragedy, and meanness abound. The hype of this insane election has driven us all to the brink and left us peering down into a very impressive abyss. But, in the midst of all this, we can still experience moments of love and wonder and awe. We can still find joy and hope and magic.

Why does any of this matter to you as a writer? It matters because, as a writer, you have the power to transform these moments into art. You have the opportunity to translate these fleeting glimpses of we-don’t-know-what into stories that other people can read, and thus share a tiny bit of your moment of love.

That matters. So, what love are you going to share today?

.
Jamie Lee Wallace Hi. I’m Jamie. I am a content writer and branding consultant, columnist, sometime feature writer, prolific blogger, and aspiring fiction writer. I’m a mom, a student of equestrian arts, and a nature lover. I believe in small kindnesses, daily chocolate, and happy endings. Introduce yourself on FacebookTwitter, Instagram, or Pinterest. I don’t bite … usually.

This post originally appeared on the Live to Write – Write to Live blog.
.

19 thoughts on “Writer’s Weekend Edition – Bring on the Love

  1. Well first off, I loved the post! Really wonderful. I think–no–I know I’ve had those moments you speak of where suddenly you feel happy, sincerely grateful to simply be alive. Of course today I’ve shared tons of love with Cody, my black lab, and with my wife, who returns tomorrow from a week long business trip in Japan, and lastly with a fellow shopper at Publix who laughed and I laughed when we almost banged shopping baskets together.
    Thank you for a great post.

    • “… sincerely grateful to simply be alive” … yes. That’s a big part of it.
      I love how your moments of joy today are with an animal, a loved one, and a stranger – perfect mix! 🙂

      Thanks for being here & sharing.

  2. I always in awe of the world in general. This world is wonderful. Beautiful. Enchanting. Amazing. It is the people (society) who are cruel and mean. I want to share my never ending love and appreciation for mother nature and its magic. I hope we can protect and nurture the gift the way it rightfully deserves.

    • I often feel the same way about Mother Nature. There is SO much to appreciate in the natural world – things we’ll never understand in our lifetimes. I also hope that we will come to our senses as a species and do the right thing to protect and nurture the natural world and all her inhabitants.

  3. Beautiful post. It really resonated with me. I frequently get the overwhelming joyous love for the world, it feels amazing yet carries a sadness that not everyone can feel it.
    Through my writing, blogging and writing groups, I feel like I am able to share some of my love for life. I guess the inner smile is only there when we are ready to welcome it. Thanks again for your words x

    • I know what you mean about the sadness that accompanies (and maybe balances?) the overwhelming joy. There cannot be light without dark, right? There is sometimes a sense of longing that almost verges on grief … something lost. I suppose this is what people mean when they say “bittersweet.”

      Thanks for sharing.

  4. Pingback: Writer’s Weekend Edition – Bring on the Love — Live to Write — Write to Live — Продажа земельного участка, купить участок ИЖС

  5. Sometimes I think I became a writer because, despite all the pain and grief and tragedy, deep down I love the world. In fact, I’m willing to go so far as to say that one cannot be a writer-or any kind of creative person-if one doesn’t. Art celebrates life. Great post!

    • I agree – art celebrates life. It’s an act that shows the artist/writer believes that life is worth capturing and sharing … that investing our time in that effort is a worthwhile pursuit. 🙂

  6. What a lovely post! I think that just being able to feel the joy of life and health and gorgeous skies and clouds is a blessing in itself. It creates a kind of overall energy that wants to express itself somehow. And that’s where wanting to write can come from 🙂

    • Exactly! Sometimes, it feels like there’s something just ready to burst inside of me … and I’m never quite sure how best to let it out. 😉

  7. Good question. I try to bring love into everything I do. Not the overwhelming, over the top hearts and flowers kind, more the tuned in patient kind. Sometimes I sing to food when I cook since I think love makes it taste better (especially my cooking!)

    • Ha! I love that – instead of singing FOR your supper, you sing TO your supper. 😉 I should try it. I’m … ummm … inept in the kitchen, so I’ll take any help I can get.

  8. Reblogged this on Mister Journalism: "Reading, Sharing, Discussing, Learning" and commented:

    Writer’s Weekend Resources
    by Suddenly Jamie (@suddenlyjamie)
    What fears lurk in your writer’s mind?
    What fears lurk in your writer’s mind?

    On Friday, we shared some of our writerly fears, and some of you shared some of yours back (thanks!). If you missed that post, I encourage you to check it out and maybe add your own not-so-secret fears/worries to the list. As Ursula K. Le Guin made clear in her Earthsea series, there is power in naming a thing. By naming it, you gain control over it. It no longer has the ability to make you afraid.

    So, in honor of Halloween, perhaps today is the day to face your fears and teach them who’s boss. Dan Blank had a great post about this very topic earlier this week. In fact, he provides four very tactical tips on how to overcome fear and get out of a writing slump.

    And, might I also suggest tapping into your dark side to fuel your writing? Sometimes, the best defense is a strong offense … like when I used to growl to keep the monsters in the basement at bay.

    Overcoming your fears isn’t a quick-fix, silver-bullet kind of thing; but it’s also not an impossible goal. You can do it.

    _jamie sig

    Books I’m Reading:

Leave a Reply

