Writer’s Weekend Resources

What fears lurk in your writer's mind?

What fears lurk in your writer’s mind?

On Friday, we shared some of our writerly fears, and some of you shared some of yours back (thanks!). If you missed that post, I encourage you to check it out and maybe add your own not-so-secret fears/worries to the list. As Ursula K. Le Guin made clear in her Earthsea series, there is power in naming a thing. By naming it, you gain control over it. It no longer has the ability to make you afraid.

So, in honor of Halloween, perhaps today is the day to face your fears and teach them who’s boss. Dan Blank had a great post about this very topic earlier this week. In fact, he provides four very tactical tips on how to overcome fear and get out of a writing slump.

And, might I also suggest tapping into your dark side to fuel your writing? Sometimes, the best defense is a strong offense … like when I used to growl to keep the monsters in the basement at bay.

Overcoming your fears isn’t a quick-fix, silver-bullet kind of thing; but it’s also not an impossible goal. You can do it.

_jamie sig

 

 


 Books I’m Reading:

book-menagerieThis week, I finished listening to Menagerie by Rachel Vincent. When I went to leave my star-based rating on Goodreads, I struggled, vacillating between three stars and four, and cursing that the ranking system doesn’t allow for + half-star options. My problem was that while the writing wasn’t what you might call “literary” (whatever that means – loaded term, I know), the story concept and plot were respectively fascinating and engaging. My “proper” writer cringed slightly when, for example, there was more telling than showing or when the pacing and tension temporarily got a little sludgy halfway through. BUT, my swept-away reader thoroughly enjoyed surrendering to the story (even – don’t tell! – shirking work a bit here and there and staying up late into the night because I just had to know what happened next).

At the end of the day, I’m just going to say that I enjoyed this one. It kept me engaged and dealt with some interesting ideas and the very relevant themes of fear, racism, and exclusion. Here’s the blurb from Goodreads:

When Delilah Marlow visits a famous traveling carnival, Metzger’s Menagerie, she is an ordinary woman in a not-quite-ordinary world. But under the macabre circus black-top, she discovers a fierce, sharp-clawed creature lurking just beneath her human veneer. Captured and put on exhibition, Delilah in her black swan burlesque costume is stripped of her worldly possessions, including her own name, as she’s forced to “perform” in town after town.

But there is breathtaking beauty behind the seamy and grotesque reality of the carnival. Gallagher, her handler, is as kind as he is cryptic and strong. The other “attractions”—mermaids, minotaurs, gryphons and kelpies—are strange, yes, but they share a bond forged by the brutal realities of captivity. And as Delilah struggles for her freedom, and for her fellow menagerie, she’ll discover a strength and a purpose she never knew existed.

If you read it, I’d love to know what you think!

··• )o( •··

My Favorite Blog Reads for the Week:

CRAFT

PUBLISHING & MARKETING

INSPIRATION

THE WRITING LIFE

Finally, a quote for the week:

pin-fear-little-death

Here’s to overcoming your fears, one at a time, and living the life you’re meant to live – writing the stories you’re meant to write. 
.
Jamie Lee Wallace Hi. I’m Jamie. I am a content writer and branding consultant, columnist, sometime feature writer, prolific blogger, and aspiring fiction writer. I’m a mom, a student of equestrian arts, and a nature lover. I believe in small kindnesses, daily chocolate, and happy endings. Introduce yourself on FacebookTwitter, Instagram, or Pinterest. I don’t bite … usually.

This post originally appeared on the Live to Write – Write to Live blog.
.

16 thoughts on “Writer’s Weekend Resources

  1. The quote about fear being the mind killer has been a bit of a personal mantra. I read it many years ago & loved it but wasn’t in a good mind space to act on it. Now, years down the track, I’m able to work with it. Fear is definitely a mind killer. It paralyses. It destroys everything in it’s wake. It’s only by confronting it & looking at it squarely & defying it, does it lose it’s power. It can only affect you if you give it validity. Thanks for sharing it.

    • The quote is a long-time favorite of mine, too, Rosie. It has an almost musical cadence that does, indeed, give it the air of a mantra, which – I suppose – in the context of Herbert’s novels, it is.

      I’m always battling my fears. It’s not an easy task, but it’s one that you can work on a little bit each day – slowly chipping away at fear’s power until you are free from it. Good luck in your battle! 🙂

  2. Very glad to read this today. Fear – even if it’s a vague, diffuse feeling – can really paralyse the brain. We felt the (relatively weak) effects of a couple of earthquakes two evenings ago here, and it stopped me going about my normal business since. This morning’s new tremor finally had the opposite effect…. I decided to write about the quakes and posted just now 🙂 Naming fears does help!

    • I’m very glad to hear you’re ok, Bea. I can only imagine what kinds of fears must become part of your daily rounds when the threat of something as massive as an earthquake is looming over your thoughts. I will try to make time later to visit your blog. Would love to read what you wrote.
      Will be thinking of you. Stay safe!

  3. I wasn’t ready for that snake! Will be checking out the writing fears post. This whole blogging thing is not for the faint hearted. Half the time I ask myself what Im doing and why …but then I just keep writing. ?!?? 😂

  4. Pingback: Tears for Fears (Scared Sh*itless at 3am) + an urban legend | M A R S Y M A L L O W S

  5. I love this ( and from one of my favorite writers!) ” As Ursula K. Le Guin made clear in her Earthsea series, there is power in naming a thing. By naming it, you gain control over it. It no longer has the ability to make you afraid”. Great guide for life.
    Hope your Holler-Ring is spooktacular!

Leave a Reply

