For one day

 

You may have noticed that I was a little, um passionate last week. Still am. And plan on continuing to be.

I still think that we writers have a lot of work to do. That call-to-action is for all writers, because even if you write fiction, freedom of speech – which translates to all printed material – may be challenged like never before in the next four years. I believe that we’re going to have to go into this uncharted territory with eyes wide open.

But today, I’ve got all of my kids home from college. In just a bit, I’ll start cooking sides and desserts in preparation for our family Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow.

I’ll dig out the fancy dishes and polish the table.

For one day. I’ll do my damndest to stay off of social media. I plan to give my mind and my blood pressure a much needed rest.

And then trust me on this; I’ll be back with my words to continue doing what I can.

Because I have to – this one is too important to sit out.

But for one day, for one day, I will try and dull the remembrance. I’ll join others in America and be grateful for the blessings I have. I will rejoice in my family and friends.

They are what keep me strong.

My sincerest wishes for a calming and joyous holiday to all of our readers and their families. May you eat to your heart’s content. May you relax with those you love. And may you be at peace.

20161121_092500

Site Admin Note: Over the next few days, we’ll be moving nhwn.wordpress.com to nhwriters.org. If you have trouble reaching us, we hope you’ll be patient as the new domain name resolves. Thanks so much from the NHWN Team.

***

Wendy Thomas is an award winning journalist, columnist, and blogger who believes that taking challenges in life will always lead to goodness. She is the mother of 6 funny and creative kids and it is her goal to teach them through stories and lessons.

Wendy’s current project involves writing about her family’s experiences with chickens (yes, chickens). (www.simplethrift.wordpress.com) She writes about her chickens for GRIT, Backyard Poultry, Chicken Community, and Mother Earth News.

2 thoughts on “For one day

  1. half a dozen kids ! you should be interviewed later when I m through with our ICO 2016 Ibadan city Outreach,Fgbmfi holding at Johor centre Ibadan Nigeria.That was my LAN before till I saw a maritally devoted working young mother has been tenders g her first boy barely 2plus! Mor whist on this and the spiritual significance of Thanksgiving.Is thanksgiving the same everywhere? I mean in all continents or countries or by believers of the same faith? How spiritually wholesome or intact or the same with people with different denominations of same Lord Jesus? Writers are also believers just as the ex provost of California Institute of Tech said prayers has helped him in his research- how much ore of writers that have to deal with virtually or possibly all subject matter on earth ,the planets the constitutional presidents that you must accept even though you don’t like his/her face & mandatory love making -poetically tagged Acts of Love by that prolific LinkedIn scientist called Gary Sharpe … Till then Wendy,E N congratulations on your quiver Gbemi Tijani 24/11/16

Leave a Reply

