Goals and Accomplishments 2016

It’s that time of year again, my friends. I’ve been looking back over the writing goals I shared with you in January. I also reviewed the Reality Check post I wrote in February. That reality check was prophetic. This did not turn out to be the year I wrote 100,000 words.

In fact, of the 10 goals I set in January, I’ve accomplished only 3.

That tells me how unrealistic my goals list really was.

I realize I have to cut back on the goals and focus on only 1. Just writing that makes me squirrely. I almost wrote “a few.” I almost wrote “1 or 2.” But really, I need to set 1 goal for my writing life.

More on that in the New Year.

For now, I’ll say that, with reflection, I can see my pattern of over-committing myself. I do it in every area of my life. The problem with that—okay, one of the problems with that—is I end up doing some of the things I’ve committed to, but not necessarily the most important things.

I am afraid to prioritize. I want to do it all.

But I can’t. And I don’t.

So it’s time to change my ways.

And…I did accomplish a lot in 2017. I accomplished a lot of things that weren’t on my list back in January 2016. One of the things I accomplished that I feel most satisfied about is my art journal/planner. I had so much fun with that and I plan to continue to combine my writing with art in the next year.

I could make this review of my goals for the year into a reason to berate myself, but that won’t motivate me to reach new goals. I choose to make this review an opportunity to learn about what works for me and what doesn’t.

Onward, friends!

How did your year go?

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: I’m a writer, blogger, master life coach, and family physician. I’m grateful to this community of writers and readers and wish everyone a joyous holiday season and a wonderful New Year!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Goals and Accomplishments 2016

  1. I do the same thing as well, over-commit myself! And I don’t prioritize my goals because I think this way I will force myself achieving them all! But apparently it’s not the right way because I end up not achieving any or only 1! But you inspired me to do things differently in 2017 and hopefully it works for me. 😊
    Happy Holidays and I wish 2017 to be the year of accomplishments for all 😊
    Thanks for the great post 🌷

  2. I belong to a writers’ group in San Diego and today we each wrote down what we did accomplish in 2016. Sometimes it is amazing how much we succeed in places we hadn’t planned to. It’s a great time of year to take stock of what we survived and how we are stronger for it. Also listed goals for 2017 and there were more comments about being kind and compassionate as there were specific writing plans.

  3. Sometimes life throws in a whole load of things that were not in the original plan but that cannot be ignored! My year has been one of change and a list of nessecities I had no idea I would be faced with but, nevertheless they are achievements of sorts! However, for 2017, I am hoping for a more settled routine and the time to work on writing goals. Good luck with yours and very best wishes for the season!

Leave a Reply

