Friday Fun – What’s your starting point?

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: 

If you don’t daydream and kind of plan things out in your imagination, you never get there. So you have to start somewhere.

Robert Duvall

We’ve talked about goals for the coming year and the importance of breaking them down into steps and discrete actions – what is the starting point of your writing goal this year?

***

wendy-shotWendy Thomas  – I’ve polished up my manuscript and my query and I’m working my way through the Guide to Literary Agents 2017. My starting point is to send out at least 5 queries a week until I’ve either gotten a nibble or run out of agents’ names (at which point I will revise and start all over again.)

lisajjacksonLisa J. Jackson: I have a goal to submit short fiction this year. My starting point is to find markets for my short stories, and actually I’m thinking I might find more markets for my non-fiction than fiction as I keep getting ideas for those markets in my e-mail! We’ll see. But this year, I definitely want to submit and publish fiction, and having a market gets me started on a path.

At the end of the Long Trail, 9/8/2016.

Deborah Lee Luskin: Great question! I don’t have an answer. I’m in the middle of several projects, both teaching and writing in addition to my regular commentaries and blogs. I’ve got a good rhythm going. It feels as if I’m already in second, ready to shift into third.

Lee Laughlin CU 7-13

Lee Laughlin – I’ll tell you next week. LOL. It’s been a slow start to the year due to illness and travel. My goal for this weekend is to work through my annual goal planner (Susannah Conway’s Unraveling the Year) and figure out what my next steps are.

10 thoughts on “Friday Fun – What’s your starting point?

  1. My starting point is to finish this novel I started two years ago! Ive started getting out of bed around four every morning and write! Turns out it’s a great time to write, very peaceful, very quiet. And I found out: that first sip of coffee around 4:15 is really good! 🙂

  2. Towards the end of last year I was struggling a bit with my writing plans. I have been working on a manuscript that I really do have to decide where I’m going with it. It is only about 27.000 words and I don’t think that I can do any more with it. If I did continue as a novella, I’m not sure that it would work. So that is going to be parked away and I am going to concentrate on novel number 2 and work towards publication.
    At the moment though, I’m coping with a minor illness that has laid me low so my creative juices are a bit stunted. I have been writing more poetry so I think that will be another avenue for me to pursue.
    So my tentative new, new year steps will be around these projects.I hasten to add that I never make New Year resolutions, these are P.I.P. (Plans In Progress).
    Norma

  3. I’m another one with PIPs rather than goals but I intend to enter at least one competition a month until I get some sort of recognition. Otherwise it is just to continue selling at least one book a week. Julie.

  4. I am working on my book about teaching and trauma. But I am also reapplying to a doctorate program. My plan for my dissertation goes hand in hand with my book. Two birds with one stone; if you will.

  5. I have just finished writing my first novel. Started on the first edit while looking for all the necessary evils to pitch my craft out there. I’m trembling on my feet but crossing my fingers. Who knows…

  6. My second book is coming out Oct 1st of this year. It will be the first in a series with a small publisher. My goal is to create a promotional plan, (something I dread) but I’m forcing myself to learn and push forward.

  7. Pingback: You Need a Deadline – New Reedsy Contest Directory | Live to Write – Write to Live

Leave a Reply

