Friday Fun – 2 Month Check-up – How’s it going?

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION:  

Ride on! Rough-shod if need be, smooth-shod if that will do, but ride on! Ride on over all obstacles, and win the race!

Charles Dickens

It’s the end of February – that’s right the second month of the year is coming to a close. Time to take a look at the writing goals you set in January.

How’s it going? Rough? Smooth? Are you where you had planned to be? If not, what adjustments do you need to take?

**

wendy-shot Wendy E.N. Thomas – I have to admit, it’s been rough. Between the insanity that is going on politically in the United States and what is going on in my body (requires surgery) I have not been able to focus much on my writing, when I sit down there always seems to be another wildfire that pops up needing attention. HOWEVER, because I know the best way to get out from being overwhelmed is to prioritize and then do the things on your list one-at-a-time, I am *finally* getting back to my writing.

It’s right there on my list as one of my top priorities. Every. Day.

It’s not that things are any less crazy, it’s that I’m taking control of how I react and while I am still allocating sufficient time to react (and protest), I’m also now scheduling in prioritized-time to write. So yeah, I’m back on track, baby.

LL Headshot

Lee Laughlin – My biggest obstacle was forgiving myself for not making the deadlines I set in 2016 (blog post on this coming soon). I have done that and now I’m in the middle of an online editing class.  Between that and a burst of craziness at work, my dance card is full.  At least I FEEL better about writing. That is a huge step.

5 thoughts on “Friday Fun – 2 Month Check-up – How’s it going?

  1. Writing has almost taken second place to getting fit. I joined a new exercise class and will try to change my diet. Meanwhile I have written a pantomime and given a talk on my life and works.No more novels but I might try another poem for a competition.

  2. Thanks for the post – always good to hear from other writers!
    I was feeling on track until about a week ago. I’m still in graduate school and right now working on my thesis has taken priority. I hope to get back into the swing of things soon! If only I could have another repeat of November during NaNoWriMo – that was great motivation!

  3. I’ve been able to keep posting on my blog every two weeks as I had committed to but I am also trying to write pieces to submit to publications. They only want original work and consider a piece published if it posted on my blog. So I am having to do a lot more writing and I am not quite where I want to be. I did get my first rejection email which is sort of a rite of passage and also meant I did an actual submission so I am proud of that! It’s just been more challenging to write daily with my job and other life events. I will continue however, I know I want to write!! Thanks for checking in!

Leave a Reply

