Writing muses

I’ve always collected things just as I collect memories, so I happen to have many different muses around my office (so many that at times it looks more like a play yard than an office.) Among my current top 3 are:

My Writing Witch – I’ve had this little doll for years and somewhere along the way she lost her broom, but she’s stood by me in good times and bad.

20170228_105543

An inspirational magazine cover sent to me by a kindred spirit. It motivates me to be strong and persevere.

20170228_105644

My beloved office mate – Pippin, who has never once disagreed with the direction my writing has taken. Such a good boy.

20170228_084250

Look around your writing space. What’s there that inspires and motivates you?

***

Wendy Thomas is an award winning journalist, columnist, and blogger who believes that taking challenges in life will always lead to goodness. She is the mother of 6 funny and creative kids and it is her goal to teach them through stories and lessons.

Wendy’s current project involves writing about her family’s experiences with chickens (yes, chickens). (www.simplethrift.wordpress.com) She writes about her chickens for GRIT, Backyard Poultry, Chicken Community, and Mother Earth News.

8 thoughts on “Writing muses

  1. I tend to write where ever I can but the top of my laptop is covered in Nano stickers. The years I participated, won, created something beautiful or something heinous. LOL. Reminds me I’ve finished novels before and published them. Also reminds me I’ve finished novels before and thrown them out and no one died. LOL.

  2. I have a small stuffed rabbit–bunny. I found him by the side of road in mid-winter in Pennsylvania. I took him back to my room…I was working on my degree at the time. I washed him off, cleaned him up, buffed him and dried him, and we’ve been friends ever since. That was twenty years ago. I love the little fellow.

    This is a neat blog idea!

  3. I haven’t got a muse- perhaps that’s what I’m missing? I’m inspired to write by things that anger me and ideas that come from different sources -the news, people I meet, competitions, places I visit. There’s no room on my dining table for toys and ornaments. It’s too full of letters and papers! ( But there is a bunch of daffodils)You can’t get much inspiration from two place mats and a cruet set.

  4. Very interesting. Actually I have to look around and see for any objects as such. My grand father is my inspiration, who dedicated his whole life for service. He was many things. Being an Ayurvedic physician he also wrote many medical books. He was also the editor of a Buddhist news paper. I do not classify myself as a proper writer like him or any other, but I write on my bog, and write the best way I know. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

