Friday Fun What’s the writing project you keep avoiding?

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION:   We all have at least one. What’s that one writing project that you keep avoiding?

 

wendy-shot Wendy E.N. Thomas – for me, it’s a fiction story I had started years ago during a NaNoWriMo effort. Each night I’d read what I had written out loud to the kids and to this day they still talk about that story. There was something a little magical about it.

For whatever reason, I’ve convinced myself that I stink at fiction and that my skills are forever tied to non-fiction. Non-fiction speaks to me and it feels so much safer than fiction.

But perhaps it’s time to revisit that story of mine because even if it falls flat – that would be far better than always asking “what if?”

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: Right now, I’m with Wendy. I have been working on nonfiction so much that fiction seems very exotic to me these days. I still have lots of ideas for fiction pieces, and sometimes I jot them down, but I haven’t written any fiction in the past year. There’s a story a wrote a first draft of for NaNo a few years ago that I’d love to get back to, but I’m not sure when.

Deborah Lee LuskinDeborah Lee Luskin: I’m not sure if I’m avoiding the two books that accompany me on every walk, while I’m cooking dinner, and even into the shower. They’re like good friends who live far away. I’m looking forward to when they’ll come and visit. When I called it avoidance, the separation made me anxious; lately, I’ve come to respect the richness of our time apart – and I’m looking forward to the intensity when we do make time for one another.

6 thoughts on “Friday Fun What’s the writing project you keep avoiding?

  1. I have this novel that I’ve finished a first draft of and gone through multiple revisions but every time I beta it, people disagree about what it still needs. So now I am completely avoiding it. LOL. I just don’t know where to rewrite it to next. LOL

  2. Sigh! It would be wonderful to say I am avoiding a fiction novel, or a non-fiction piece on the next water rights negotiation between the United States and Canada. I am avoiding revising my resume. Morphing past skills and work experience into a enticing creation for the job market feels like slaying that Japanese monster from the 50’s – Godzilla I think.

  3. For me it’s just writing…. Other than my blog which I just finally started back up about a month ago. But I haven’t touched a manuscript in, wow, MONTHS…maybe even a year. I’ve just been discouraged by time – I don’t have the time I want so I convince myself I can’t do it at all. I’m hoping after I get back into the blog some more, I can convince myself to at least pick up a manuscript 1-2x a week and not worry about not being able to consistently work on it daily like I want to.

Leave a Reply

