KeepCup – a great way to warm cold fingers

 

As you know I live in New Hampshire and as you *might* know, we just got hit with a big snow storm. It wasn’t as bad as was predicted (30 inches predicted, we got around 16), but we still need to shovel out from under the snow and it’s cold again.

As would have it, right before the storm hit I did some errands and one item I picked up was this reusable glass KeepCup from a local organic food/salad/yummy restaurant.

KeepCups originated in Australia. I thought it looked cool and the fact that it was glass and reusable appealed to me. I try to stay away from all mugs made in China as more often than not they use paints and glazes that contain lead.

The cup I got was the small size. It’s a round little tub without handles (but it does have a protective band that prevents you from burning your hand when you pick it up.

Here’s what I discovered. Because there are no handles you have to essentially cup the cup, which means that it warms your hands when you drink.

As one who during winter months sits in front of a heater and who has been known to wear Bob Cratchit fingerless gloves, I find that when I type for a long time my fingers can get ice-cold (seriously , I’ll put them on my husband’s neck and he’ll reply “how are you even alive?”) It turns out that this little cup is a God-send.

I fill it and pick it up often just to warm my hands.

The downside? It’s not insulated and the coffee (or tea) doesn’t stay hot for a long time, but with the small size I got, it’s hardly an issue (plus it limits the amount of coffee I drink, 2 or 3 small cups is enough and then I switch to herbal teas.

The upside? My hands get warm while I get caffeinated – that’s called a win-win.

I don’t expect anyone to run out and buy this cup, BUT if you are a writer and you suffer from cold fingers when you type for an extended amount of time or if you have arthritis in your fingers, you could do worse than look into these KeepCups.

*

I am not affiliated with Keep Cup in anyway. Just sharing good information when I find it.

***

Wendy Thomas is an award winning journalist, columnist, and blogger who believes that taking challenges in life will always lead to goodness. She is the mother of 6 funny and creative kids and it is her goal to teach them through stories and lessons.

Wendy’s current project involves writing about her family’s experiences with chickens (yes, chickens). (www.simplethrift.wordpress.com) She writes about her chickens for GRIT, Backyard Poultry, Chicken Community, and Mother Earth News.

5 thoughts on “KeepCup – a great way to warm cold fingers

  1. We got about 18 inches here in Northeastern PA. I live in a small town and there are still some backroads that haven’t been plowed, so I’m hunkered in with my coffee as well. Stay safe everyone!

  2. Yes KeepCup!!! I’ve got two (actually just ordered the second one!), and they are so great! You can actually customise them on their website, too, and in different materials if you’re clumsy like me and need one that isn’t made of glass – mix and match colours are the best 🙂
    Also totally jealous of the cold weather over there – Melbourne’s a sauna at the moment 😦

Leave a Reply

