More examples of removing redundancies

This post is an add-on to the one I wrote in August where I covered ten examples of redundancies and readers supplied a few of their own.

Here are some more redundant phrases, in bold, to keep in mind and keep out of your own writing.

1.  Many product landing pages going for the hard sell have “…and as an added bonus…“. It’s implied that a ‘bonus’ is in addition to the base product/service, so ‘added’ is extraneous.

2.  “She is not available at the present time.” ‘At present’ means ‘at this time,’ so you only need: “She is not available at this time.” Or even better: “She is not available now.”

3.  “The coyote is in close proximity to…” or “He is under close scrutiny.” Drop ‘close’ in both of these since proximity means ‘close in location,’ and scrutiny means ‘close study.’

4.  “My promotion came at a time when I was hoping to cut back on my hours.” Since ‘when’ refers to something coming, ‘at a time’ is unnecessary.

5.  Can you see the redundancy in each point below?

  • Let’s collaborate together on this project.
  • We should meet together to work through the details.
  • The musicians joined together in harmony.
  • The groups will merge together next month.
Can someone or something collaborate, meet, join, or merge in a way other than “together”? No.

6.  “She made a definite decision about his punishment.” If you make a decision that is good, bad, final, or temporary, it is always ‘definite’ at that time. And you can’t make an ‘indefinite’ decision. 

7.  Enter in – is there any way to enter other than ‘in’? No. Just use ‘enter.’

8.  I’ve fallen into this trap when free writing, have you? “The story first began…” There’s only ever one beginning, so ‘first’ can be tossed.

9.  One of my favorites is foreign imports. Imports originate in other countries, so  ‘foreign’ is redundant.

There are so many more, but these are on my current short list and I thought it would be fun to share.

Do any redundant phrases come to your mind right now? Share them below if you like.

Lisa Jackson is an independent editor, writer, New England region journalist, and a year-round chocolate and iced coffee lover. She writes fiction as Lisa Haselton, has an award-winning blog for book reviews and author interviews, and is on the staff of The Writer’s Chatroom which is now a 5-time winner of Writer’s Digest’s 101 Best Websites for Writers, where she gets to chat with best-selling authors, non-fiction writers, publishers, and other writing professionals on a weekly basis.

56 thoughts on “More examples of removing redundancies

  1. I hear coworkers say this daily when asking customers about health conditions: “Are you currently taking any medications?”

  2. This is a helpful post. It reminds me of an excellent book I read called 39 Ways To Improve Your Writing, by Theodore A Rees Cheney. If anyone needs extra help with redundancy his book is a great resource.

  3. Thanks for these examples. I didn’t read your last August piece, so if I give mine now they might be overly repetively redundant examples. So, right off at this moment my brain can’t really think in my mind of some new original wordy word uses. Great stuff, though, and I’ll keep on reading you.

    • I’m the same way – even though I try to be aware of each word I write, redundancies still slip in. In fact, just after this post, my critique partner found a couple in a story I was working on. It’s hard to see it in your own writing!

  4. Dinosaurs first appeared on the earth about a zillion years ago. At this point in time, most common shrubbery used ESP to debate tax reduction and best leaf colors for spring. Half a zillion years later, the dinosaurs disappeared, and, along with them, the debating powers of vegetation.
    It took me 10 minutes to write a sentence in which, I believe, “at this point in time” is not redundant.
    Thanks for the post! Fun!

    • That’s a fun paragraph. The phrase could be left in; it could be removed without any damage to the second sentence (since the second sentence related directly to the first); it could be removed and the first and second sentences could be combined. All depends on the writer, the editor, and the type of article being written whether the phrase would stay or go.

      If you had to trim words, I bet the phrase would leap off the page at you and beg to be removed. 🙂

      thanks for having fun with this post!

  5. I find a lot of these when I edit a first draft. I think it’s important to get the story out when initially writing, and it’s easy to fall into weird language conventions like this that we hear so often.

    • Hi Steph,

      I agree – let the words fall onto the page for the first draft, and then go back and tackle the troublesome ones. Turning off the internal editor is tough at times, though! He just wants to perfect every word before putting it on the page, really slows things down at times.

      Thanks for commenting!

  6. Great post! I must blushingly admit that I have comitted some of those redundancies! I always “over-write” and then have to go back and trim the fat! Thanks for the new tools!

  7. I had a growing hatred for Twitter, who can say anything in such a short space? I’ve learned to love it because it helps you really think about what you are saying! You should twitter this blog! Thanks!

    • Hi Wendy, we do have a Twitter account for this blog – @NHWN – however we don’t regularly practice posting 140 character tips or conversations – yet! 🙂 Thanks for the suggestion.

  8. Lisa, if I couldn’t use redundacies, I couldn’t speak at all! Seriously, one sort-of redundancy I hear all the time in the Deep South is, “Ya’ll come right on in right here, now you hear?” Does this count? (tee-hee!)

    • That type of stuff is great for getting dialect into a piece of fiction. Of course you wouldn’t want to overdo it, but it makes for great character building! There’s no way I can keep redundancies out of my every day speaking. I don’t even want to think about that! 🙂 Thanks for the comment.

  9. Political ones and hard sell ones are great fun. And we’ll give you absolutely free and at no charge… At this moment in time…For a limited period of time…
    More obscure but maybe valid is “No comment” but that’s nitpicking because No Comment is a comment. A lot of sporting commentaries too. “A great backward pass behind him..” Thanks for the amusing post.

  10. Hey Granbee, I got your point that we couldn’t speak at all if we don’t get redundant but this rule apply more to writing; only people who have got good hold in their english would know these rules and thus a normal reader and a normal listener would never give any heed to such minor stuff.I never knew about redundancy until I did SAT 1.

  11. Pingback: Eliminate and get rid of all extra redundancies | The Daily Post at WordPress.com

  12. Eliminating redundancy is good for space considerations, but not always for flow. Our “ear” when it comes to prose as well as speech works partly because we sense a rhythm in language. Often, I find the concise phrasing abrupt and unfriendly. (granted, that’s my own issue 😉 )

    And yes, echoing Wendy’s sentiment — Twitter does help improve clarity and reduce excess.

    • You’re right, Eden. Sometimes it’s best to leave redundancies in. It’s all up to the writer (and the editor or publisher). Removing redundancies is a way to trim word count, but you could also lose something to your story – especially character dialogue if you remove everything all the time. It all depends on the situation.

      thanks for the comment.

  13. Excellent articles,- I know how easy it is to slip into redundancies. One added point, redundancies can be useful when used in dialogue. If you are careful to attach specific types of redundancies to specific characters speech habits, it can be a way to add to the personalities and define them as unique..

  14. Useful articles that remind us of how sloppy we become when writing. I do rather wonder about the popular expression “personal best”. What other sort of “best” is there when speaking about oneself?!

  15. Pingback: Test Post 3 « Walrus Times

  16. Pingback: Redundant writing « daily digression

  17. Pingback: Four Key Cloud Considerations – BizTech Magazine | eegbusiness

  18. Pingback: Investing into the Digital Upturn – Odgers Commercial and Public Sector | eegbusiness

  19. Pingback: Communications Network Transitions and Next Generation 911: What You Need … – The National Law Review | eegbusiness

  20. Pingback: Ken Macintosh MSP: Labour must stop focusing on enemies and say what it … – Herald Scotland | eegbusiness

  21. Pingback: Cytokine Based Therapies and Inhibitors Market Segment Forecasts up to 2020 … – Medgadget.com (blog) | eegbusiness

  22. Pingback: The Future of the Data Center: Reinventing the Network – The Data Center Journal | eegbusiness

  23. Pingback: 19 Guidelines For Using LinkedIn To Boost Your Career. – Business 2 Community | eegbusiness

  24. Pingback: High School Student Activism Makes an Impact – Education Week (subscription) (blog) | eegbusiness

Leave a comment