Saturday Edition – What We’re Writing and Reading

Welcome to this Saturday Edition of What We’re Writing and Reading.

We’re taking a little detour on the weekends now to share some of what we’re up to with our writing (when we’re not here) and what we’re into with our reading (around the web). We’ll also pull back the curtain a little to give you a behind-the-scenes look at what went into a piece.

We hope you enjoy this little diversion and encourage you to share your own posts and picks in the comments.

Happy writing! Happy reading! 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

Lisa J Jackson writerLisa J. Jackson: It’s been a super-busy week for me with editing work, networking events, and business meetings, so I haven’t had much time to do any reading or writing. I did read the submissions from my critique group partners, and I obviously have to read the documents I’m editing, but I don’t think those count. <grin> I’ve also been reading airline schedules as I strive to plan an August getaway. I should be back to a normal schedule next week and have books and blogs to share with you, since I have a lot to catch up on!

photo: M. Shafer

photo: M. Shafer

Deborah Lee Luskin: The week began with the VPR broadcast of Some Came By Ship, a commentary on Passover and immigration (written the week before). Midweek saw the publication of Slow Democracy in The Commons, Windham County’s independent newspaper. I’ve done a fair bit of work-for-hire this quarter, so I also spent some time Thursday sending out invoices, which feels almost as good as depositing the checks that will come in! I also sent in promo material for Bookstock, a literary festival I’ve been invited to speak at in Woodstock, Vermont on Saturday, July 27, 2013, and I worked on a course description for a Revisioning Workshop that I plan to offer to prose writers beginning in May. And, I worked on my novel! If this all sounds frantic, it’s because I’m trying to clear my desk before driving to Kentucky to attend the Humana Festival of New American Plays in Louisville – and visit my daughter the playwright.

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: It’s been another crazy week. I can’t believe that this weekend is Easter and Monday is the first day of APRIL!! Where is 2013 going?!? Like Lisa, I’ve had little to no time to do any writing except the stuff I get paid for (most of which you wouldn’t be all that interested in – ebooks and other marcom materials for my lovely B2B clients). I did, however, get another column up in my local paper, and I published what turned out to be a mini manifesto of a blog post on my marketing blog:

small town smUnexpected Small Town Regrets is my latest column for my local paper. I got a little more personal in this one than I have in past columns. I wasn’t all that sure about opening up the way I did, or even just turning the spotlight more on my inner thoughts rather than keeping it focused on a more generic experience. In the end, I followed my heart and sent the piece off to my editor. I still feel a little naked with it out in the world, especially in a way that is so close to home; but it’s also somehow comforting to let my guard down a bit.

our gang lemonade smOn my own blog, I posted Easy Marketing for Small Businesses: 5 tips that will help you today. The inspiration for this piece is some conversations I’ve been having with local business owners. Though I often work with mid- to large-sized B2B companies, many in technology and most with global offices, I love working with small and micro business owners and creative entrepreneurs. (In fact, I’m working on some products and programs designed specifically for these people.)  I love helping these small business owners see all the possibilities of today’s marketing tools and techniques, but before I can get to that conversation I usually have to get past some marketing misconceptions.

Finally, here are a few of my favorite, writing-related posts from other bloggers around the web:

11 thoughts on “Saturday Edition – What We’re Writing and Reading

  1. Was that moon that dunnit! Crazy week for me too…but I did manage to re-read and reorganize my file folder that contains all of the Nano novel I started in November. Re-reading it gave me some new ideas for adding and deleting and so I will go back into the computer file to get started on that soon! Still trying to finish the “Omnivore’s Dilemma” by Michael Pollan in between chaos.

    • It WAS A crazy moon, wasn’t it? My cats have been nutso all week!

      So glad you’re still working on your Nano novel. That’s excellent. Good for you for finding the nooks and crannies in the chaos and putting them to good use! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Saturday Edition – What We’re Writing and Reading | Aquí también, "nosotros los pueblos"

  3. My lovely holiday with friends has emptied my head enough to carry on with the book I abandoned writing 3 months ago. Aren’t holidays wonderful? Hope you’re all enjoying the slight change in tempo too!

  4. Thank you for being there–“creating” time to share with us. I’m looking at my stack of books, and yes, wondering not “what”, but “when”.

    • Ahhh … “when” is always the more difficult question to answer, isn’t it?
      Thanks for coming by and spending part of your Saturday with us. We’re delighted to be able to share some of our other goings on with you.

      Happy reading & writing!

    • I’m determined this year not to buy any more books for my TBR pile since I HAVE such a large collection of unread books right now. My exception is getting gift cards – if I get gift cards, I can buy books. 🙂 Space is a premium for me, so continually buying new books and not reading them just needs to stop. We’ll see where I am at the end of this year with my pile! “When” just has to happen sometime. 🙂

Leave a comment