Rules Make Things Fun

I’ve been teaching my son to play games lately. He’s 3, so he’s just starting to really be able to play games. He’s not too interested in the rules yet. When I try to explain the rules to him, he just looks at me like I’m crazy, then he makes up his own rules. So we have fun playing the game by his rules.

I’ve noticed that I like to play by the rules. Why? Because it makes the game more fun (for me—my son’s not at my developmental stage yet, so lack of rules does not in any way interfere with the fun he has.)

The more I think about it, the more I see that, when I play by the rules in a game I choose to play, winning is a lot more fun. Even if I make up the rules myself, I enjoy the challenge of following the rules and still winning.

I see this most in my writing life, when I follow rules I’ve made up (or that someone else has made up but I choose to follow) and I enjoy every minute of it.

One of the biggest rules I created for myself last year was my commitment to writing blog posts that are 500 words or less (see Edit, Please!)

It’s my rule, I made it up. No one’s checking to make sure I’ve stuck to my word, but I keep doing it because it’s challenging, and it’s made the game of writing blog posts even more fun than it already was. Also, I think it’s made me a better writer.

Here’s what I learned: Writing shorter is much harder than writing longer. Once I committed to the 500 word limit, I spent a lot more time on each blog post, mostly whittling the words down. I tend to write down all my thoughts and then start trimming until I get to just one point. The good thing is that sometimes, those other thoughts end up being an entire additional blog post.

I think the practice of writing shorter has spilled over into other parts of my writing life. It’s certainly made it easier for me to spot when I’m being passive (as passive voice tends to have more words than active voice) or excessively wordy.

The biggest benefit I’ve seen with this rule is realizing that, no matter where I start, or with how many words, I can corral all my thoughts into a coherent whole by the end of the process. It’s made me much freer to write more creatively, as I now have confidence in my ability to create a sense of order out of the chaos.

Who knew rules could be so freeing?

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon, MD, is a Master Certified Life Coach, a writer, and a family physician. She is currently home with her son and working part-time as a life coach while also working toward her “10,000 hours” of writing to really master the craft and become a published author.

19 thoughts on “Rules Make Things Fun

  1. Thanks for this post, Diane. I, too, struggle with writing short. For me, it comes from this need to make sure I get the point across to my reader every time. I think writing short requires a certain amount of trust in your reader. You have to exercise word economy and then trust that they’ll get your point, even if you don’t elaborate more. The great thing is, they usually do.

    • Hi sabramorris,
      I agree, writing shorter means trusting that your reader will “get” what you are trying to say. I, too, find that readers usually do get it–which is really fun, and inspires me to continue to write with as much economy of words as possible.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  2. Pingback: “Rules Make Things Fun,” from Diane MacKinnon | Sabra Morris Media

  3. I’m not sure how I feel about “rules” when it comes to my writing. I’ve spent the better part of the last two years reading about everybody’s rules. What have I learned? Basics are basics.

    Aside from that, it’s anybody’s game. I’ve decided to make my own rules to make this writing game more fun. If someone doesn’t like my rules, they don’t have to play, but I’m winning!

    It’s all very 3 year old-ish! Oh, the joy and simplicity!

    • Hi Laura,
      Yes, life is full of games with rules that we agree to play by. Even when I was in medical school, I knew I was playing a game with a set of rules–many of which helped me learn, a few of which were just hoops to jump through. Now I’m much more likely to make up my own rules and follow them for the fun of it, especially in my writing life.

      Happy rule-making and happy writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  4. Thank you for highlighting this. I’ve commented on other blogs that I am troubled by aspiring writers who set minimum word goals for themselves. I would much rather set a maximum goal, as you suggest, and write devote more time to re-writing and making it better.

    • Hi indytony,
      Oh boy! I can’t imagine a minimum word count–until I think back to my college days when I was writing term papers! For me, the maximum word count of 500 (for a blog post) is working, so I’m sticking to it!

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Warmly,
      Diane

  5. There’s some really good ideas in here. As a game reviewer, you’d think I would know enough to treat my own writing like a game more often and less like work. Time to switch up attitudes, neh? 😉

    By the way, you’re in for a treat as you continue to teach games to your son. I’ve hosted enough birthday parties at the game store to appreciate the different ways different age groups take to learning new games. Watching children learn to accept rules, and understanding why they accept some rules and ignore others can be a really cool learning experience. Sometimes it can be humbling; some kids have their finger on the pulse of what is ‘fun’, tossing away clever yet not fun to play design, and creating their own game out of a mish-mash of things they enjoy without having to spend much time arguing over those pesky rules. I wish more adults I played games with could recreate their own reality as fast as children can…

    • Hi John-Michael,
      Thanks for your comments and your insights into kids playing games. I’m looking forward to all of it! I love how my son can take the simplest thing and make a game out of it!

      Happy writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

    • Hi bellscave,
      I agree! I’m just getting to a point in my life where I’m okay with breaking rules–and it sure is fun!

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Warmly,
      Diane

  6. This is a great take on rules in writing. I definitely struggle with being concise and have always tended to give myself free reign unless I was working to meet someone else’s word count.

    • Hi hawleywood40,
      Thanks for your comments. Have you tried making a rule for your own writing yet? Let me know!

      Happy writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

      • I tend to let it all hang out in first drafts and then enforce rules like an English teacher with a red pen during the editing phase. So far, that works best for me :).

  7. I really like the idea of restricting ourselves to words. Its obviously challenging yet creative. I love to express my thoughts and often consume a lot of words but if I try to be more precise then that will a be new artwork in my writing.

    • Hi Ayan,
      Exactly! That’s what I thought! I’ve been amazed at how many words I can cut without losing the meaning or the impact of the piece (in my opinion.)

      Let me know how it goes. Happy writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

Leave a comment